ShareFile通過強制用戶重置密碼來響應密碼猜測攻擊

用戶憑證仍然是最理想的資產之一,因此密碼破解現在仍然很常見並不奇怪。事實上,這些攻擊正變得越來越複雜。毫無疑問,網絡犯罪分子的方法和技術正在改進,但如果用戶更關心他們的憑據,他們就不會發生。

統計數據顯示, 6%的受訪者承認他們所有的帳戶共享相同的密碼,而45%的互聯網用戶聲稱只有部分在線帳戶可以使用相同的密碼解鎖。此外,用戶傾向於設置弱密碼,以便在需要時更容易記住它們。這些密碼是網絡犯罪分子的聖杯。正如Verizon 2016數據洩露調查報告所揭示的那樣, 63%的成功數據洩露涉及利用弱密碼(例如qwerty ),默認密碼 (例如密碼 )或被盜密碼 。可能沒有必要說通常需要幾分鐘來破解弱密碼和重用密碼。更糟糕的是,所有其他共享相同密碼的帳戶也可以立即被黑客攻擊。幸運的是,您今天可以採取一種簡單的安全措施來保護您的身份 - 執行密碼重置。

服務提供商採取措施防止針對用戶的網絡攻擊

服務提供商了解安全密碼的重要性,並且知道如果他們繼續使用弱密碼或在多個帳戶中重複使用密碼,他們就無法確保用戶的安全。 Citrix Systems是一家流行的ShareFile內容協作服務公司,是最早將事情掌握在自己手中的服務提供商之一。隨著“互聯網帳戶憑證(用戶名和密碼)被盜”的增加,它向幾乎所有ShareFile用戶發送了一條消息,要求重置密碼以保護密碼。一些ShareFile用戶認為此消息是一個明確的證據,表明Citrix和/或ShareFile經歷了數據洩露,但該公司確保這不是它要求用戶重置密碼的原因。它的主要目標是減輕暴力(密碼猜測)攻擊,這些攻擊主要針對使用弱密碼的人,並且最重要的是,他們傾向於在多個在線帳戶中重複使用它們。 Citrix Systems確認,從現在開始,他們會要求用戶定期重置密碼。

定期重置密碼似乎很麻煩,但如果您仔細選擇新密碼,即不再設置弱密碼,您將大大提高您的虛擬安全性。如果您仍然急於避免密碼重置程序,那麼有一個解決方案。您應該啟用ShareFile提供的多因素身份驗證表單之一,以補充密碼的安全性。例如,如果您在ShareFile上啟用兩步驗證(也稱為雙因素身份驗證 ),系統會要求您輸入驗證碼作為第二層安全性。代碼將通過短信或語音電話發送到您的手機。或者,您可以使用Google或Microsoft身份驗證器生成一次性密碼。通過設置第二個因素,您將大大提高您的ShareFile帳戶的安全性。更重要的是,不會要求您重置密碼以定期保護密碼. 一般來說,使用最強大形式的多因素身份驗證的用戶將不會強制執行密碼重置,該公司承諾。

定期重置密碼是個好主意

雖然Citrix Systems決定採取的安全措施似乎是一個簡單而有效的解決方案,但一些專家聲稱這可能會導致更嚴重的問題,因為需要定期重置密碼並不是美國國家標準與技術研究院頒發的認證最佳實踐(NIST)推薦。在那裡聲明,驗證者只需“密碼重置”,如果有證據證明驗證者妥協。換句話說,這些最佳實踐不支持定期更改密碼。

NIST嚴格禁止強制密碼重置,因為已經觀察到用戶傾向於設置弱密碼,當他們知道在不久的將來他們將不得不更改密碼時,他們可以更容易記住這些密碼。當更改密碼的時間到來時,它們通常只對其舊密碼進行微小更改,例如,添加一個數字(即密碼變為密碼12 )。不幸的是,如果較舊的密碼被洩露,那麼網絡犯罪分子獲得一個新密碼然後破解帳戶可能是一塊蛋糕。黑客也知道所有常見的密碼更改技術,我們可以向您保證,如果您被要求重置密碼以保護密碼,請確保您的新密碼很複雜,因此非常安全。它不能用於保護您擁有的其他在線帳戶!

像專業人士一樣生成新密碼

如果您被要求重置您的ShareFile密碼,則無法回复 - 您必須這樣做。你可能很想設置一個你可以毫不費力地記住的密碼,但如果密碼看起來像是password1 ,你應該立即拋棄這個想法並選擇一個非常安全的密碼。為在線帳戶生成強密碼並不是小菜一碟。是的,您可以嘗試自己提供最好的密碼和登錄組合,但這無疑需要時間,您仍然不知道生成的密碼是否安全。幸運的是,可以幫助您為帳戶選擇最佳密碼的值得信賴的密碼管理器存在。 Cyclonis Password Manager是您可以安裝的可靠密碼管理之一,可自動生成強密碼。您將能夠選擇新密碼的類型,長度,甚至可以告知您的複雜性。此外,這個密碼管理器會將您的密碼保存在一個安全的保險庫中,遠離窺探的眼睛,因此無論它有多複雜,您都不會忘記密碼。您只需要記住一個密碼 - 所謂的主密碼 ,可以訪問密碼管理器。

您為在線帳戶設置的密碼只能確保您的虛擬安全性,如果它足夠複雜,那麼當您決定重置密碼的時間到了,或者服務提供商要求您這樣做時,請確保您的新密碼密碼是安全的。雖然技術上沒有不可穿透的密碼,但通過選擇正確的密碼,您將大大降低成功網絡攻擊的風險。不要讓黑客竊取您的私人信息!

January 28, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
5 + 5是什麼?

ShareFile Responds to Password-Guessing Attacks by Forcing Users to Reset Passwords

Users' credentials remain one of the most desirable assets, so it is not a surprise that password hacks are still common these days. In fact, these attacks are becoming more and more sophisticated. No doubt cybercriminals' methods and techniques are improving, but they would not occur if users cared about their credentials more.

As statistics show, 6% of respondents admitted that all their accounts share the same password, whereas 45% of Internet users claimed that only some of their online accounts can be unlocked with the same password. Additionally, users tend to set weak passwords so that it would be easier to remember them when needed. These passwords are a holy grail for cybercriminals. As the Verizon 2016 Data Breach Investigation Report revealed, 63% of all successful data breaches involved leveraging passwords that were weak (e.g., qwerty), default (e.g., password), or stolen. There is probably no need to say that it usually takes minutes to hack weak and reused passwords. What's worse, all other accounts sharing the same password can be hacked in no time as well. Luckily, there is one simple security measure you can take today to protect your identity tomorrow – perform a password reset.

Service providers take action to prevent cyber attacks targeted at users

Service providers understand the importance of secure passwords and know well that they simply cannot ensure users' safety if they continue to use weak passwords or reuse them across multiple accounts. Citrix Systems, the company behind a popular ShareFile content collaboration service, is one of the first service providers that took matters into their own hands. Following the increase in "Internet-account credential (usernames and passwords) theft," it sent out a message to almost all ShareFile users with a request to reset a password to secure it. Some ShareFile users consider this message a clear proof showing that Citrix and/or ShareFile experienced a data breach, but the company ensures that this is not why it asked users to reset a password. Its main goal is to mitigate brute-force (password-guessing) attacks that are primarily targeted at people who use weak passwords and, on top of that, tend to reuse them across multiple online accounts. Citrix Systems confirmed that from now on they will ask users to reset passwords on a regular basis.

Resetting a password periodically might seem to be a great hassle, but if you choose a new password carefully, i.e. do not set a weak password again, you will considerably improve your virtual security. If you are still eager to avoid a password reset procedure, there is a solution for you. You should enable one of the multi-factor authentication forms ShareFile offers to supplement the security of your password. For example, if you turn on two-step verification (aka two-factor authentication) on ShareFile, you will be asked to enter a verification code as a second layer of security. The code will be sent to your phone via SMS or voice call. Alternatively, you could generate a one-time password using Google or Microsoft authenticators. By setting up a second factor, you will considerably improve your ShareFile account's security. What is more, you will not be asked to reset a password to secure it periodically. Generally speaking, users using the most robust form of multi-factor authentication will not be enforced a password reset, the company promises.

Is it a good idea to reset passwords periodically

While the security measure Citrix Systems has decided to take seems to be a simple yet effective solution, some specialists claim that this may result in more serious problems since requiring a periodic password reset is not what authentication best practices issued by National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) recommend. It is stated there that verifiers should require a password reset only "if there is evidence of compromise of the authenticator." In other words, these best practices do not support a periodic password change.

NIST is strictly against forced password resets because it has been observed that users tend to set weak passwords they could memorize easier when they know that they will have to change a password in the near future. When the time to change a password comes, they often apply only minor changes to their old passwords, for example, add a number (i.e., password becomes password12). Unfortunately, if an older password has been compromised, it may be a piece of cake for cybercriminals to get a new one and then hack an account. Hackers know all common password changing techniques as well, we can assure you that, so if you are ever asked to reset a password to secure it, make sure your new password is complex and thus perfectly secure. It cannot be used to secure other online accounts you have too!

Generate a new password like a pro

If you have been asked to reset your ShareFile password, there is no way back – you will have to do it. You might be tempted to set a password you could memorize without difficulty, but if that password looks something like password1, you should ditch that thought immediately and opt for a really secure password. It is not a piece of cake to generate a strong password for an online account. Yes, you may try to come up with the best password and login combination yourself, but this will no doubt take time, and you will still not know whether your generated password is secure. Luckily, trustworthy password managers that can help you pick the best password for your account exist. Cyclonis Password Manager is one of the trustworthy password managers that you can install to generate a strong password automatically. You will be able to choose the new password's type, length, and you will even be informed about its complexity. Additionally, this password manager will keep your password in a secure vault away from prying eyes, so you will not forget it no matter how complex it is. There is only one password you will have to remember – the so-called master password that provides access to the password manager.

A password you set for your online account could only ensure your virtual security if it is complex enough, so when you decide that the time to reset a password has come, or you are asked to do so by a service provider, make sure your new password is secure. While there are, technically, no impenetrable passwords, you will considerably reduce the risk of a successful cyber attack by choosing the right password. Do not let hackers steal private information from you!

December 27, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 10 + 3 ?