研究人員將兩次定向勒索軟件攻擊歸因於Lazarus黑客組織

Lazarus VHD Ransomware

好萊塢會讓您相信,穿著連帽衫的青少年黑客可以使整個價值數十億美元的企業巨頭從父母地下室的不適中倒下。但是,在現實世界中,事情並非真的如此。複雜的網絡攻擊是由經驗豐富的犯罪分子實施的,他們擁有大量資源。

針對特定組織的勒索軟件活動是極其複雜的操作,通常涉及幾個單獨的黑客團隊,他們都從事不同的任務。例如,一個團隊將負責提供命令與控制(C&C)基礎結構,第二個團隊將破壞受害人的網絡,第三個團隊將確保感染盡可能多的計算機,第四個將負責實際的勒索軟件有效載荷。卡巴斯基的研究人員在周二的博客文章中更詳細地描述了該系統,但他們也提到了該規則的一些例外情況。

VHD勒索軟件引起了專家的注意

卡巴斯基專家描述的兩次網絡攻擊的有效載荷是VHD勒索軟件–一種相對較新的文件加密惡意軟件,幾個月前就出現了。勒索軟件本身並不是特別複雜。它爬過受感染主機的硬盤,使用AES和RSA組合加密文件,並刪除系統還原點,以使檢索數據變得更加困難。但是,攻擊的一些特徵確實引起了研究人員的注意。

第一個是在三月份啟動的,專家們注意到它涉及一種非常有趣的機制,可以通過受害者的網絡進行傳播。借助自動化工具,黑客使用了特定於受害者的SMB憑據列表,將其暴力破解到其他計算機上,並在成功連接到它們之後,他們複製了VHD勒索軟件有效負載並通過WMI調用對其執行了。

這些不是普通黑客團隊會使用的技術,專家們知道他們可能正在研究更嚴肅的東西。幾個月後,當他們被要求對另一起以VHD勒索軟件為特徵的攻擊做出響應時,他們的感覺也一樣。

這次,最初的進入點是一個易受攻擊的VPN網關,黑客可以通過該網關獲得管理權限並部署後門。犯罪分子破壞了受害者的Active Directory服務器後,便開始將VHD勒索軟件的副本分發給未指定數量的計算機。

當他們仔細研究後門時,研究人員意識到了他們所要處理的問題。

拉撒路連接

當研究人員確定第二次攻擊中使用的後門是他們所謂的MATA惡意軟件框架的一個實例時,一分錢掉了下來。

過去我們曾討論過網絡安全領域中的歸因有多難,但是經過仔細研究,卡巴斯基的專家們非常確定MATA框架是由臭名昭著的Lazarus黑客組織創建並使用的。

Lazarus是一支由複雜的黑客組成的團隊,負責許多大規模的網絡攻擊,包括2014年的Sony洩漏以及OlympicDestroyer抽頭的發布,該抽頭在2018年平昌冬奧會之前癱瘓了關鍵的IT基礎架構。Lazarus被認為與朝鮮政府,它的名字與從經濟動機的攻擊到大型網絡間諜活動的任何事物都有關聯。據卡巴斯基介紹,VHD勒索軟件是他們的最新產品。

勒索軟件可能不是特別複雜,但是在其他任何攻擊中都沒有發現過,研究人員非常確定黑客不會從另一個網絡犯罪團伙那裡租用它。同時,他們非常確定拉撒路是唯一可以使用3月和5月襲擊事件中使用的工具和技術的人員。

拉扎路斯沒有與其他網絡犯罪組織分享利潤,而是決定單獨使用VHD勒索軟件。只有時間會證明這是否是一個好策略,但是考慮到該組織傑出的破壞性網絡攻擊組合,我們不會反對。如果您運營的組織可能是Lazarus攻擊的組織,則必須確保威脅模型中包含使用VHD勒索軟件的勒索軟件攻擊。

July 29, 2020

發表評論

Researchers Attribute Two Targeted Ransomware Attacks to the Lazarus Hacking Group

Lazarus VHD Ransomware

Hollywood would have you believe that hoodie-wearing teenage hackers can bring down entire corporate giants worth billions of dollars from the discomfort of their parents' basement. In the real world, however, things don't really work that way. Sophisticated cyberattacks are carried out by experienced criminals who have a lot of resources at their disposal.

Ransomware campaigns targeting specific organizations are extremely complicated operations that often involve several separate hacking crews that all work on different tasks. One team, for example, would be responsible for providing the Command & Control (C&C) infrastructure, a second one would compromise the victim's network, a third would ensure that as many computers as possible are infected, and a fourth one would be responsible for the actual ransomware payload. Researchers from Kaspersky described the system in greater detail in a blog post on Tuesday, but they also mentioned a couple of exceptions to the rule.

The VHD ransomware catches the experts' attention

The payload of the two cyberattacks Kaspersky's experts described was the VHD ransomware – a relatively new file-encrypting malware that appeared few months ago. The ransomware itself isn't especially sophisticated. It crawls through the hard drives of infected hosts, encrypting files with a combination of AES and RSA, and deleting system restore points in order to make retrieving the data more difficult. Several characteristics of the attacks did catch the researchers' attention, though.

The first one was launched in March, and the experts noticed that it involved a very interesting mechanism for spreading through the victim's network. With the help of an automated tool, the hackers used a list of victim-specific SMB credentials to brute-force their way to other computers, and after successfully connecting to them, they copied a VHD ransomware payload and executed it through WMI calls.

These aren't the techniques a run-of-the-mill hacking crew would use, and the experts knew that they were probably looking at something more serious. They felt the same way a couple of months later when they were called in to respond to another attack featuring the VHD ransomware.

This time, the initial point of entry was a vulnerable VPN gateway through which the hackers gained administrative privileges and deployed a backdoor. Having compromised the victim's Active Directory server, the criminals then proceeded to distribute copies of the VHD ransomware to an unspecified number of computers.

When they took a closer look at the backdoor, the researchers realized what they were dealing with exactly.

The Lazarus connection

The penny dropped when the researchers determined that the backdoor used during the second attack was an instance of what they call the MATA malware framework.

We have talked in the past about how hard attribution is in the cybersecurity world, but having researched it carefully, Kaspersky's experts are pretty much certain that the MATA framework was created and is used by the infamous Lazarus hacking group.

Lazarus is a team of sophisticated hackers responsible for quite a few massive cyberattacks, including the Sony leak from 2014 and the launch of the OlympicDestroyer wiper that paralyzed critical IT infrastructure ahead of the Winter Olympics in Pyeongchang in 2018. Lazarus is believed to be linked to the North Korean government, and its name has been associated with anything from financially-motivated attacks to major cyberespionage campaigns. According to Kaspersky, the VHD ransomware is their latest creation.

The ransomware might not be especially sophisticated, but it hasn't been seen in any other attacks, and the researchers are pretty certain that the hackers aren't renting it from another cybercrime gang. At the same time, they are pretty much sure that Lazarus is the only crew that has access to the tools and techniques used during the attacks in March and May.

Instead of sharing the profits with other cybercrime outfits, Lazarus has decided to go at it alone with the VHD ransomware. Only time will tell if this will be a good strategy, but, considering the group's illustrious portfolio of disruptive cyberattacks, we wouldn't bet against it. If you run an organization that might be targeted by Lazarus, you must make sure that a ransomware attack using the VHD ransomware is in your threat model.

July 29, 2020

Leave a Reply