国土安全部警告说,密码不足会导致勒索软件攻击

DHS Warns about Weak Passwords and Ransowmare Attacks

自勒索软件运营商开始专注于业务和组织而不是个人用户以来已有一段时间了。这是一个相当大的转变,很多人对此感到du目结舌,但是当您考虑它时,您会发现有很多充分的理由。

首先,人们越了解备份的重要性,敲诈勒索的成功就越少。更重要的是,由于高涨的加密货币价格,加密劫持攻击不仅证明更容易实施,而且利润更高。

除了所有这些,骗子还意识到,在企业界,勒索软件攻击可能更具破坏性。对于企业来说,从备份中恢复要比对单个用户而言要复杂得多,成功的攻击实际上会迫使公司暂时关闭自己的门,这可能是灾难性的。攻击者和公司现在都应该充分意识到这一点,但是似乎许多组织仍在继续说服自己这不会发生。

Nefilim勒索软件袭击了新西兰的组织

上周, 新西兰的计算机紧急响应小组 (NZ-CERT)发布了一份警告,警告组织正在进行勒索活动的勒索软件活动。 NZ-CERT的专家注意到一个名为Nefilim的勒索软件家族的活动有所增加,他们正试图警告公司所面临的危险。

Nefilim基于Nemty勒索软件,但是骗子进行了几项重要的修改,使其更适合于攻击组织。根据趋势科技的说法,与Nemty不同,Nefilim并非作为服务提供,而是由组织有针对性的攻击的单个小组运营。根据NZ-CERT的咨询,一旦黑客获得了公司网络的立足点,他们便会使用各种工具横向移动并窃取数据,后来他们威胁说如果受害者不付钱就可以出售。之后,受害者的文件将使用AES和RSA组合加密。

但是,这不是NZ-CERT发布其咨询的原因。之所以这样做,是因为根本不难防御攻击。

DHS和NZ-CERT:修补您的系统并立即加强密码

当攻击针对组织而不是个人用户时,骗子往往会避免使用传统的垃圾邮件。在公司环境中,垃圾邮件过滤器趋于复杂一些,一些组织实施了反网络钓鱼培训计划,以帮助员工更好地理解威胁。

与其他许多勒索软件攻击一样,Nefilim攻击活动也依赖于易受攻击的网络,弱密码和缺乏两因素身份验证的能力。根据该通报,骗子的目标是使用远程桌面协议和虚拟专用网络但未通过适当身份验证保护它们的组织。尚未获得重要安全补丁的网络也在黑客的菜单上,尽管我们谈论的是相对简单的错误,但潜在目标的数量如此之大,以至于美国网络安全与基础设施安全局(CISA),国土安全部的一部分重申了 NZ-CERT的警告。

但是,如果有经验,这些警告仍然不足以让全世界的系统管理员正确设置他们的系统。这与利用不良网络配置的第一个攻击相距甚远,而且可能不会是最后一个。安全专家已经在一段时间内向用户和企业发出有关危险的警报,但这显然并没有产生多大作用。真正不幸的是,在这一点上,没有什么迹象表明这种情况会在不久的将来得到改善。

June 26, 2020

发表评论

Homeland Security Warns That Weak Passwords Can Lead to Ransomware Attacks

DHS Warns about Weak Passwords and Ransowmare Attacks

It's been a while since ransomware operators started focusing more on businesses and organizations rather than individual users. It was a pretty big shift, and quite a few people were somewhat dumbfounded by it, but when you think about it, you'll see that there were a few good reasons for it.

For one, the more people learned about the importance of backups, the less successful the extortion attempts became. What's more, cryptojacking attacks proved not only much easier to pull off but more profitable as well, thanks to the soaring cryptocurrency prices.

In addition to all this, the crooks realized that in the corporate world, a ransomware attack could prove much more disruptive. Restoring from a backup is more complicated for a business than it is for an individual user, and a successful attack can actually force a company to shut its doors temporarily, which could be devastating. Both attackers and companies should be well aware of this by now, but it looks like plenty of organizations continue to convince themselves that it won't happen to them.

The Nefilim ransomware hits organizations in New Zealand

Last week, New Zealand's Computer Emergency Response Team (NZ-CERT) issued an advisory to warn organization about a ransomware campaign that was doing the rounds. NZ-CERT's experts had noticed increased activity from a ransomware family called Nefilim, and they were trying to warn companies about the dangers they're facing.

Nefilim is based on the Nemty ransomware, but the crooks have made several crucial modifications that make it much more suitable for attacking organizations. According to Trend Micro, unlike Nemty, Nefilim isn't offered as a service and is instead operated by a single group that organizes targeted attacks. According to NZ-CERT's advisory, once the hackers gain a foothold on a corporate network, they use a variety of tools to move laterally and steal data, which they later threaten to sell if the victim doesn't pay up. After that, the victim's files are encrypted with a combination of AES and RSA.

This is not why NZ-CERT issued its advisory, though. It did it because preventing the attack is not difficult at all.

DHS and NZ-CERT: Patch up your systems and strengthen your passwords at once

When the attacks are aimed at organizations rather than individual users, the crooks tend to avoid using the traditional spam email. In the corporate environment, the spam filters tend to be a bit more sophisticated, and some organizations conduct anti-phishing training programs that help employees understand the threat better.

The Nefilim campaign, like so many other ransomware attacks, relies on vulnerable networks, weak passwords, and lack of two-factor authentication. According to the advisory, the crooks are targeting organizations that use the Remote Desktop Protocol and Virtual Private Networks without securing them with proper authentication. Networks that haven't received the vital security patches are also on the hackers' menu, and although we're talking about relatively simple mistakes, the number of potential targets is so big, that the US Cybersecurity & Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA), which is part of the Department of Homeland Security, reiterated NZ-CERT's warnings.

If experience is anything to go by, however, these warnings will still not be enough to get sysadmins all around the world to properly set up their systems. This is far from the first attack that takes advantage of poor network configuration, and it probably won't be the last. Security experts have been alerting users and businesses about the dangers for a while now, but this clearly hasn't had much of an effect. The really unfortunate thing is that at this point, there's nothing to suggest that the situation will improve in the near future.

June 26, 2020

Leave a Reply