什么是GDPR下的个人数据以及如何保护它?

简而言之,通用数据保护法规或GDPR是欧盟(EU)关于欧盟公民或居民的数据保护和个人数据隐私的法律法规。由于你们中的一些人可能已经知道GDPR取代了旧的1995年数据保护指令,并且在2016年被采用后,它将于2018年5月25日实施。这就是为什么你最有可能收到电子邮件,要求确认你希望继续从中获取新闻通讯。您订阅的所有网站。另一方面,如果您拥有一家公司并从您的客户那里收集任何个人数据,您可能已经采取了所有必要的步骤来满足新的要求。在任何情况下,对于那些不完全理解所有大惊小怪的人,我们建议继续阅读这篇博文,我们将详细介绍这一规定是什么以及一旦强制实施将会改变什么。此外,在本文中,我们将解释GDPR下的个人数据以及如何保护这些信息。

什么是GDPR个人数据保护法规?

“这些规则的目的是通过个人数据将用户控制权交还给用户,并在整个欧盟范围内引入数字时代所需的高水平的统一数据保护,”欧洲议会新闻办公室随后发表评论说。 GDPR被采纳。如前所述,该法规是由欧洲议会和欧盟理事会于2016年创建的。如果这些组织收集或处理欧盟公民的个人数据,该法律适用于欧盟的所有公司,甚至是欧盟以外的公司。

GDPR认为什么是个人数据?

回答GDPR个人数据并不容易,因为在很多情况下,它取决于收集信息的环境以及与之一起获得的其他数据。根据欧盟议会和理事会成员的说法,一般而言,个人数据可以是与个人私人,职业或公共生活相关的任何信息。例如,它可以是您的姓名,照片,电子邮件地址,医疗信息,社交媒体上的帖子,工作或家庭住址,甚至是您的IP地址等。更确切地说,数据可以帮助识别一个人或者至少允许某人公平地澄清您的身份。例如,如果其他人在指定地点居住或工作,则特定地址不会识别其提供者。然而,如果除了地址之外,收集这些数据的公司还会学习个人的姓名,电话号码,甚至是他的政治观点或性格特征(头发,眼睛的颜色,体重等)等细节,这样就可以识别出来。人。因此,为了安全起见,公司最好确保他们保护所收集的所有信息,以防某些信息在特定情况下看起来像个人信息。

GDPR与旧的数据保护指令有什么区别?

一旦新法规得到执行,个人将能够访问各公司收集的所有数据,包括个人所在的公司。收到此类请求的组织现在将有30天而不是40天的时间来组装并向个人提供公司收集的个人数据列表。除了敏感信息列表之外,您还有权知道收集这些数据的目的,使用方式,共享对象,等等。此外,GDPR将消除此类请求的成本,但如果它们反复出现,则表示公司可以收取合理的费用。在1995年的数据保护指令中,访问您的数据的成本约为14美元. 这意味着,根据新规定,个人不仅可以更快地访问他们的数据,而且还可以免费访问。

如何保护个人数据以及应采取哪些措施?

新法规的要求之一是收集个人数据的组织必须通过“适当的技术和组织措施”来确保隐私。换句话说,GDPR允许公司选择他们的方法,尽管它建议使用目前可用的最佳方法,例如加密和假名(一种处理个人数据的方式,因此无法再分配给他)。安全专家建议使用标记化,特别是对于需要保护敏感数据的公司,例如客户的银行详细信息,出生日期等。在由第三方处理或存储之前,敏感数据被随机生成的令牌替换是一个过程。这种方法得到了高度评价,并且已经在许多银行和其他金融机构中使用。

此外,重要的是要知道GDPR声明控制收集数据的公司在法律上有义务在没有任何延迟的情况下向监管机构提醒任何数据泄露,除非这样做可能危及个人的权利和自由。尽管如此,如果暴露的个人数据未加密,则应在组织意识到后的72小时内提供违规声明。最后,为了确保组织遵守所述规定,据称未能调整和遵守新规定的公司可能面临高达全球年度总收入的4%或约2000万欧元的巨额罚款。

May 20, 2019

发表评论

What Is Personal Data Under GDPR And How To Protect It?

The General Data Protection Regulation or GDPR, in short, is a European Union (EU) law regulation concerning the data protection and personal data privacy of EU citizens or residents. As some of you may already know the GDPR replaces the old 1995 Data Protection Directive and after being adopted in 2016, it becomes enforceable on 25 May 2018. This is why you are most likely receiving emails asking to confirm you wish to continue getting newsletters from all the websites you ever subscribed for. On the other hand, if you own a company and collect any personal data from your clients you have probably already taken all necessary steps to meet the new requirements. In any case, for those who do not fully understand what all the fuss is about we recommend keeping reading this blog post as further in it, we will tell more about what this regulation is and what it will change once it gets enforced. Also, in this text, we will explain what personal data under GDPR is and how such information can be protected.

What is GDPR personal data protection regulation?

“The aim of the rules is to return control to users over their personal data and introduce a high and uniform level of data protection across the EU that is needed for the digital age,” the comment was said by the European Parliament press office right after the GDPR was adopted. As mentioned earlier, this regulation was created back in 2016 by the European Parliament and Council of the EU. The law applies to all companies in the EU and even outside of it if such organizations collect or process personal data of EU citizens.

What GDPR considers to be personal data?

It is not so easy to answer what GDPR personal data is because in many cases it depends in which context the information was collected and what other data was obtained together with it. According to the EU parliament and council members, in general, personal data could be any information related to a person’s private, professional, or public life. For example, it can be your name, photos, email address, medical information, posts on social media, work or home address, or even your IP address, and so on. To be more precise, it is data that could help identify a person or at least allow someone to clarify your identity fairly. For instance, a particular address would not let identifying its provider if other people live or work at the given location. Nevertheless, if besides the address the company gathering such data also learns the individual’s name, telephone number, or even details like his political views or character traits (hair, eye color, weight, etc.), it could make it possible to identify the person. Therefore, just to be safe, it is best for companies to ensure they protect all information they gather, in case some of it could appear to be personal under specific circumstances.

What are the differences between GDPR and the old Data Protection Directive?

Once the new regulation is enforced, individuals will be able to access all of their data gathered by various companies, including the firm the individual works for. The organization who receives such a request will now have 30 instead of 40 days to assemble and provide the individual with a list of personal data collected by the company. Besides the list of sensitive information, you also have the right to know for what purpose such data was collected, how it is used, with whom it is shared, and so on. Moreover, the GDPR will eliminate the cost for such requests, although if they occur repeatedly, it is said the firm could charge a reasonable fee. While in the 1995 Data Protection Directive the access to your data cost about $14. This means with the new regulation individuals will be able not only access their data faster but also free of charge.

How personal data will be protected and what measures should be taken?

One of the new regulation’s requirements says the organizations who collect personal data have to ensure privacy with “appropriate technical and organizational measures.” In other words, the GDPR allows companies choose their methods, although it recommends using the best possible means available at the moment, such as encryption and pseudonyms (a way of processing an individual’s data so it could no longer be assigned to him). Security experts recommend using tokenization as well, especially for companies that need to protect sensitive data like their clients’ banking details, birth dates, and so on. It is a process when sensitive data gets replaced with randomly generated tokens before being processed or stored by third parties. This method is highly evaluated and is already being used in a lot of banks and other financial institutions.

Furthermore, it is important to know the GDPR states the companies controlling collected data are legally obliged to alert the supervisory authority about any data breaches without any delay except in situations when doing so could endanger the rights and freedoms of the individuals. Nonetheless, if the exposed personal data was not encrypted, the statement of a breach should be provided within 72 hours after the organization becomes aware of it. Lastly, to ensure the organizations comply with the described regulations, it is said the companies that fail to adjust and keep up with the new regulations might face heavy fines of up to four percent of total worldwide annual revenue or about 20 million euros.

June 25, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 4 + 5 ?