最新研究發現,只有三分之一的數據洩露受害者更改了密碼

持續的憂慮和壓力對身體,心靈和靈魂都沒有好處。話雖這麼說,有些人可能對錯誤的事情過於放鬆。密碼安全性就是其中之一。即使密碼遭到破壞,也不是所有人都急著解決此問題。不用說,如果人們在數據洩露後不更改密碼,其虛擬安全性可能會受到損害,許多不同的惡意方可能會以多種不同的方式損害其虛擬安全性。更糟的是,仍然有很多人在跨平台重用密碼,這使他們面臨更大的風險。希望在您閱讀完本報告後,我們已經說服您每個密碼都必須是唯一的,並且在數據洩露後更改密碼是不可協商的。

並非所有數據洩露的受害者都更改密碼

卡內基梅隆大學和印第安納大學布盧明頓分校的研究人員進行了一項研究 ,有249人參加。他們審查了這些參與者中有多少人在9個不同的網站(yahoo.com,mufitnesspal.com,chegg.com,disqus.com,cashcrate.com,flvs.net,ancestry.com,Imgur.com和deloitte.com)上擁有帳戶。 ),所有這些都在2017年至2018年之間經歷了影響密碼的數據洩露事件。在2018年發生的MyFitnessPal數據洩露事件中,就有1.5億個密碼洩露,而Chegg在過去三年中面臨著三起數據洩露事件 。儘管這些平台提供的服務受到全世界數億人的信任和享用,但是即使是著名的服務提供商也無法始終防止數據洩露。理想情況下,立即發現違規行為,並警告受害者,以便採取適當的安全措施。不幸的是,在某些情況下,漏洞需要幾個月甚至幾年才能被發現。有時,服務提供商儘管知道這些事件,卻沒有及時報告違規情況。

該研究表明,在列出的網站上擁有帳戶的63位參與者中,只有21位進行了更改。這意味著三分之二的參與者根本沒有更改密碼。由於公司歷史上重大數據洩露事件 ,到目前為止,2017年Yahoo數據洩露事件是九個事件中報告最多的事件之一 ,並敦促受害者單獨更改密碼。但是,雖然有49位參與者擁有Yahoo帳戶,但其中只有18位更改了密碼。這令人震驚,但這完美說明了在密碼安全方面人們是多麼粗心。當然,並非所有人都掌握密碼真正是什麼的概念。畢竟,它只是隨機字符串的任意字符串。同樣,人們經常認為對他們來說不會有什麼不好的事情,或者網絡罪犯對他們的賬戶絕對不會感興趣。疏忽,懶惰和缺乏知識通常會導致不良的密碼習慣。

人們無法使用強而有力的組合來替換違反密碼的行為

即使人們在數據洩露後迅速更改密碼,他們也不總是遵循創建強密碼的準則。卡內基梅隆大學和印第安納大學布盧明頓分校的研究檢查了21位參與者已更改的密碼。其中只有9個設法創建了更強大的組合,而12個則將其密碼保持在相同的強度級別,甚至使它們更弱。他們的30個密碼與被破壞且必須更改的密碼非常相似。該研究還表明,密碼重用非常猖.。在研究過程中,總共觀察到了3041個密碼更改,其中70%的更改在密碼增強上沒有差異,甚至使密碼變弱。

有幾種假設的原因,使人們在進行更改時沒有更加註意。首先,他們可能不了解網絡犯罪分子中理想的密碼,因此,他們可能選擇強度相同或較弱的密碼,只是因為他們認為任何人都不會對此感興趣。其次,他們也可能不了解網絡犯罪分子使用新技術來破解,猜測和暴力破解密碼有多麼容易。最後, 密碼疲勞是一件實事,人們通常不知道如何更改密碼或什麼組合被認為是很強的。那是由於缺乏基本知識。

什麼是強密碼?

我們已經在以前的報告中更詳細地回答了這個問題,但是以下是強密碼的基本要求:

  • 密碼必須至少12-14個字符長。密碼越長,密碼越強,但還必須滿足其他要求。如果服務僅允許使用有限數量的字符(例如六個),則應使用最大長度。
  • 組合不得包含特定的單詞,名稱,位置,難忘的日期或看起來似乎隱藏可猜測單詞的字符(例如Pa $$ w0rd )。
  • 密碼必須包含字母(大寫和小寫),數字和特殊字符(如果可能)。
  • 密碼不得重複和循環使用。為所有帳戶創建一個強密碼可能很容易,但是請記住,如果一個帳戶被破壞,其他所有帳戶也可以使用相同的密碼訪問!對相同的密碼(例如, PasswordPassword 123 )進行少量修改也不安全。
  • 不要使用默認密碼。如果您購買了新的軟件或硬件,請始終將默認值更改為一個強大的組合。

強密碼的問題在於它們很難記住,特別是如果您為所有銀行,社交網絡,購物,工作,賬單支付,電子郵件和其他帳戶設置了十個,二十個甚至一百個密碼時。如果您具有能夠輕鬆記住複雜組合的超級大腦,那就很好。但是,如果您像我們大多數人一樣只是凡人,則可能需要管理您創建的所有復雜密碼的幫助。這是可信賴的密碼管理器派上用場的地方。 Cyclonis密碼管理器非常易於使用,它可以為您生成密碼,可以幫助您在數據洩露後更改密碼,可以簡化登錄過程,並可以提供有價值的保護。如果這是實現全面密碼安全性的最後一步,請毫不猶豫地免費試用30天

September 1, 2020

發表評論

Only A Third of Data Breach Victims Change Their Passwords, New Study Finds

Constant worrying and stress do no good for the body, mind, and soul. That being said, some people might be too relaxed about the wrong things. Password security being one of them. Even when passwords are breached, not all people rush to fix the problem. Needless to say, if people do not change passwords after data breaches, their virtual security can be jeopardized, and it can be jeopardized in many different ways by many different malicious parties. To add insult to injury, there are still a lot of people who reuse passwords across platforms, which puts them at even greater risk. Hopefully, by the time you are done reading this report, we will have convinced you that every password must be unique and that changing passwords after data breaches is non-negotiable.

Not all victims of data breaches change passwords

Researchers at the Carnegie Mellon University and Indiana University Bloomington have conducted a study, in which 249 people participated. They reviewed how many of these participants had accounts on 9 different websites (yahoo.com, mufitnesspal.com, chegg.com, disqus.com, cashcrate.com, flvs.net, ancestry.com, Imgur.com, and deloitte.com), all of which experienced password-affecting data breaches between 2017 and 2018. 150 million passwords were leaked during the MyFitnessPal data breach in 2018 alone, and Chegg has faced three data breaches within the last three years. Although the services offered by these platforms are trusted and enjoyed by hundreds of millions of people around the world, even reputable service providers cannot always prevent data breaches. Ideally, breaches are discovered right away, and victims are warned about it so that appropriate security measures could be taken. Unfortunately, in some cases, breaches take months or even years to be discovered. And sometimes, service providers do not report breaches in time despite knowing about the incidents.

The study revealed that out of 63 participants who had accounts on the listed websites, only 21 made changes. That means that two thirds of participants did not change passwords at all. The 2017 Yahoo data breach is, by far, the most heavily reported one out of the nine because of the company’s history with major data breaches, and victims were urged to change passwords individually. However, while 49 participants had Yahoo accounts, only 18 of them changed passwords. This is shocking, but this perfectly illustrates how careless people are when it comes to password security. Sure, not all people grasp the concept of what a password truly is. After all, it is just an arbitrary string of random characters. Also, people often assume that nothing bad will happen to them or that cybercriminals will definitely not be interested in their accounts. Neglect, laziness, and lack of knowledge often lead to poor password habits.

People fail to replace breached passwords with strong combinations

Even when people are quick to change passwords after data breaches, they do not always follow the guidelines for creating strong passwords. Carnegie Mellon University and Indiana University Bloomington researches checked the passwords that 21 participants had changed. Only 9 of them managed to create stronger combinations, while 12 kept their passwords at the same level of strength or even made them weaker. 30 of their passwords were very similar to those that were breached and had to be changed. The study also revealed that password reuse was rampant. In total, 3041 password changes had been observed during the study, and 70% of these changes made no difference in password enhancement or even made the passwords weaker.

There are several hypothetical reasons why people are not more mindful when it comes to making changes. First of all, they might not understand how desirable passwords are amongst cybercriminals, and so they might choose passwords of the same strength or weaker ones just because they do not think that anyone would be interested. Second, they also might not understand how easy it is for cybercriminals to breach, guess, and brute-force passwords with new technology. Finally, password fatigue is a real thing, and people often do not know how to change them or what combinations are considered to be strong. That is due to the lack of basic knowledge.

What is a strong password?

We have answered this question in more detail in previous reports, but here are the basic requirements of a strong password:

  • The password MUST be at least 12-14 characters long. The longer the password is, the stronger it is, but it also has to meet other requirements. If a service allows using only a limited number of characters (e.g., six), you ought to use the maximum length.
  • The combination MUST NOT include specific words, names, locations, memorable dates, or characters that appear to hide guessable words (e.g., Pa$$w0rd).
  • The password MUST contain letters (both upper-case and lower-case), numbers, and special characters if that is possible.
  • The password MUST NOT be repeated and recycled. While it might be easy to create one strong password for all accounts, remember that if one account is breached, all others become accessible with the same password too! Using slight modifications of the same password (e.g., Password and Password 123) is not safe either.
  • DO NOT use default passwords. If you purchase new software or hardware, always change the default to a strong combination.

The problem with strong passwords is that they can be difficult to remember, especially if you have ten, twenty, or perhaps even a hundred of passwords for all of your banking, social networking, shopping, work, bill payment, email, and other accounts. If you have a super brain that is able to remember complex combinations with ease, you are fine. However, if you are a mere mortal like most of us, you might need help managing all of the complex passwords that you create. This is where a trusted password manager comes in handy. Cyclonis Password Manager is very easy to use, it can generate passwords for you, it can help you change passwords after data breaches, it can make logging in easier, and it also can add valuable protection. If this is the last step towards full password security, do not hesitate to give the free 30-day trial a go.

September 1, 2020

Leave a Reply