最新研究发现,将近70%的垃圾邮件来自俄罗斯,乌克兰,德国和美国

我们所有人都曾经遭受过垃圾邮件。在某些情况下,它可以通过我们在移动设备上收到的短信到达我们。在其他情况下,误导性消息背后的策划者可以使用伪造或劫持的个人资料,直接消息传递甚至聊天室,通过社交网络平台进行操作。当然,最常见的是,垃圾邮件是通过电子邮件发送的。这是最方便的垃圾邮件发送方式,因为攻击者所需要做的就是向一个电子邮件地址发送一条误导性消息。将人绳之以法的可能性很小,这就是为什么攻击者需要立即将垃圾邮件发送到多个地址。尽管我们都面临垃圾邮件的问题,但很少有人停止思考垃圾邮件的确切来源。根据CSIRO的Data61研究人员的报告 ,近70%的垃圾邮件来自俄罗斯,乌克兰,德国和美国。

垃圾邮件背后的参与者是谁?

恶意活动报告十年:互联网恶意活动黑名单的回顾分析是CSIRO的Data61以及麦格理大学,悉尼大学和诺基亚贝尔实验室的合作伙伴发布的报告的标题。据ZDNet称 ,该报告是同类中最大的公开可用数据集。进行了为期10年(从2007年到2017年)研究的专家得出的结论是,与恶意软件分发者不同,垃圾邮件发送者位于几个特定的国家/地区。美国占35%,俄罗斯占22%,英属维尔京群岛占9%,乌克兰占5%,德国占5%。总计达到76%。根据该报告,将如此高的人数与美国或德国等国家联系起来是有道理的,因为它们具有“ 丰富的IT基础设施 ”。公平地讲,此列表中唯一令人惊讶的是英属维尔京群岛岛屿。

CSIRO的Data61研究团队和合作伙伴能够分析5160万个“不良活动报告”和2,691个“垃圾邮件发送者样本”,以查明垃圾邮件的确切来源。当然,我们仍然不知道攻击者的名字,而且我们可能永远也不会了解。实际上,所有恶意活动中只有0.01%与垃圾邮件相关。相比之下,恶意软件负责所有恶意活动的90.9%。话虽如此,垃圾邮件通常用于帮助网络犯罪分子获取有助于恶意软件分发的知识和信息,因此,忽略垃圾邮件发送者将是一个可怕的错误。

垃圾邮件的危害

如果从网络安全角度看,您不熟悉垃圾邮件,则可能不知道它们可用于将毫无戒心的用户暴露于极具欺骗性的虚拟骗局中。垃圾邮件的最常见类型之一是验证请求电子邮件。据称,此类电子邮件是从银行,社交网络平台和任何其他需要密码或其他登录凭据才能登录的在线服务发送的。发送的虚假验证请求垃圾邮件是为了诱骗人们公开登录信息证书. 不幸的是,垃圾邮件发送者可以设置伪造的登录页面和令人信服的消息,以迫使易受骗的用户披露敏感信息而不会引起怀疑。如今,甚至可以绕过两因素身份验证来获取私有登录信息。例如,我们最近报告了一个Gmail网络钓鱼诈骗 ,其中涉及策划者重置受害人的密码,然后发送误导性垃圾邮件,诱使他们提供其他验证码,不幸的是,这使劫持帐户成为可能。

遇到设置为记录私人数据的垃圾邮件的情况并不少见,并且我们有责任识别误导性消息以保护自己。那么,您究竟应该怎么看才能确定收到的消息是否真实无害?首先,您要查看发件人 。你知道吗?如果这样做,该消息有意义吗?例如,如果您从未与之交谈过的同事向您发送了一个指向有趣视频的链接,则您需要问问自己是否有可能劫持了他们的电子邮件帐户。任何与众不同的问题都会引起疑问。如果您不识别发件人,该消息有意义吗?例如,如果您尚未预订任何航班,但收到一封垃圾邮件,声称您需要确认航班,则应立即确定有人在试图骗你。

如果信息有意义,是否以专业方式撰写?电子邮件的语言可以说明很多问题。虽然您不需要指望姨妈或大学室友写的信息是以正式或专业的方式写的,但如果您收到银行,送货公司或试图向您出售产品的公司的信息,则需要确保它们没有明显的错误。当然,垃圾邮件发送者也可以很聪明,因此,如果一条消息没有意义,就并不意味着它是合法的,仅因为该语言是正确的并且该消息的语气是专业的。话虽如此,垃圾邮件发送者经常会忽略语法错误和拼写错误,因此您需要注意这一点。

最后,您必须当心诱人的交易 。谁不想中奖?谁不想成为第一个测试新Apple产品的人?谁不想免费获得一副RayBan太阳镜 ?骗子经常利用诱人的交易诱使人们点击误导性链接。一旦点击,它们就可以将人们引至虚拟的钓鱼网站。在这种情况下,垃圾邮件发送者可以使用合法/专业的网站来诱骗人们披露其全名,电话号码,家庭住址和其他敏感数据。利用这些数据,策划者可以创建更多个性化的垃圾邮件,并且可以帮助他们进行更复杂,更成功的攻击。垃圾邮件发送者还可以尝试向您出售不需要或实际上免费的东西. 例如,如果您收到一封电子邮件,建议您以很高的折扣购买Cyclonis Password Manager ,则由于Cyclonis Password Manager是免费的,因此应立即报告此垃圾邮件。

结论…

策划者设置了垃圾邮件来记录私人数据,诱使人们访问恶意网站或将其暴露于虚假交易中。我们现在知道,所有垃圾邮件中有超过三分之一来自美国,但是,不幸的是,这并不意味着我们会开始减少此类电子邮件的数量,只是因为我们现在知道它们来自何处。话虽如此,如果您使自己了解垃圾邮件发送者可以用来诱骗易受攻击目标的不同方法,则被欺骗的机会将会减少。球在你手中。

November 8, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
9 + 10是什么?

Nearly 70% of Spam Comes from Russia, Ukraine, Germany and the U.S., New Study Finds

We’ve all been exposed to spam. In some cases, it can reach us via text messages we receive on our mobile devices. In other cases, the schemers behind the misleading messages can operate via social networking platforms using fake or hijacked profiles, direct messaging, or even chat-rooms. Of course, most frequently, spam is sent via email. That is the most convenient form of spamming because all that the attackers need to do is send one misleading message to a bunch of email addresses. The chances of roping people in are slim, which is why the attackers need to send out spam emails to multiple addresses at once. Although we all face spam at one point or another, few of us stop to think where exactly it comes from. According to a report by CSIRO's Data61 researchers, nearly 70% of all spam comes from Russia, Ukraine, Germany, and the United States.

Who are the actors behind spam emails?

A Decade of Mal-Activity Reporting: A Retrospective Analysis of Internet Malicious Activity Blacklists is the title of the report that was published by CSIRO's Data61 along with the partners at the Macquarie University, the University of Sydney, and Nokia Bell Labs. According to ZDNet, this report is the largest publicly available dataset of its kind. The experts who conducted a 10-year-long (from 2007 to 2017) research have concluded that spammers, unlike malware distributors, are located in a few specific countries. 35% are located in the United States, 22% in Russia, 9% in the British Virgin Islands, 5% in Ukraine, and 5% in Germany. That comes up to 76% in total. According to the report, it makes sense for such high numbers to be associated with such countries as the United States of America or Germany because of their “rich IT infrastructure.” The only surprise in this list, to be fair, is the British Virgin Islands.

CSIRO's Data61 research team and partners were able to analyze 51.6 million “mal-activity reports” and 2,691 “samples of spammers” to figure out where exactly the spam emails were flooding from. Of course, we still do not know the names of the attackers, and we might never get to learn that. In reality, only 0.01% of all malicious activities are associated with spamming. In comparison, malware is responsible for 90.9% of all malicious activity. That being said, spam emails are often used to help cybercriminals gain knowledge and information that aids in malware distribution, and so it would be a terrible mistake to ignore spammers.

The dangers of spam emails

If you are not familiar with spam emails from a cyber security standpoint, you might not know that they can be used to expose unsuspecting users to highly deceptive virtual scams. One of the most common types of spam emails is the verification request email. Such an email is, allegedly, sent from a bank, a social networking platform, and any other online service that requires passwords or other login credentials to sign in. The fake verification request spam email is sent in the hopes of tricking people into disclosing login credentials. Unfortunately, spammers can set up fake login pages and convincing messages to push gullible users into disclosing sensitive information without raising suspicion. Nowadays, even two-factor authentication can be bypassed to obtain private login information. For example, we recently reported a Gmail phishing scam that involved schemers resetting victims’ passwords and then sending misleading spam emails to trick them into providing additional verification codes, which, unfortunately, made it possible to hijack accounts.

It is not uncommon to encounter a spam email set up to record private data, and it is up to us to recognize misleading messages to protect ourselves. So, what exactly are you supposed to look at to determine if or not the message you received is authentic and harmless? First, you want to look at the sender. Do you recognize it? If you do, does the message make sense? For example, if a co-worker you’ve never talked to before sends you a link to a supposedly funny video, you need to ask yourself if it is possible that their email account was hijacked. Anything out of the ordinary should raise questions. If you do not recognize the sender, does the message make sense? For example, if you have not booked any flights, but you receive a spam email claiming that you need to confirm a flight, you should figure out right away that someone is trying to scam you.

If the message makes sense, is it written in a professional manner? The language of the email can tell a lot. While you do not need to expect a message written by your aunt or a college roommate to be written in an official or professional manner, if you receive messages from banks, delivery companies, or a company trying to sell you something, you need to make sure that they do not contain obvious mistakes. Of course, spammers can be smart too, and so if a message does not make sense, it does not mean that it is legitimate just because the language is correct and the tone of the message is professional. That being said, spammers often leave out grammatical errors and misspellings, and so you need to look out for that.

Finally, you have to beware of enticing deals. Who wouldn’t want to win a lottery? Who wouldn’t want to be the first one to test a new Apple product? Who wouldn’t want to get a pair of RayBan sunglasses for free? Attractive deals are often used by scammers to trick people into clicking misleading links. Once clicked, they can lead people to fictitious phishing websites. In this scenario, spammers can use a legitimate/professional-looking website to trick people into disclosing their full names, telephone numbers, home addresses, and other sensitive data. Using this data, schemers could create more personalized spam emails, and that could help them perform more sophisticated and successful attacks. Spammers could also try to sell you things that you do not need or that, in fact, are free. For example, if you ever receive an email suggesting that you can purchase Cyclonis Password Manager with a huge discount, you should report this spam email immediately because Cyclonis Password Manager is free.

In conclusion…

Schemers set up spam emails to record private data, trick people into visiting malicious websites, or expose them to fake deals. We now know that over a third of all spam emails come from the United States, but, unfortunately, that does not mean that we will start seeing a decrease in numbers of such emails just because we now know where they are coming from. That being said, if you keep yourself informed about the different kinds of methods that spammers can use to trick gullible targets, your chances of being fooled will decrease. The ball is in your hands.

November 7, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 8 + 7 ?