微软将停止强制更改密码,但这并不意味着你应该停止进行更改

根据最新统计数据,近56%的Windows操作系统用户运行Windows 10,这是最受欢迎的操作系统版本,其次是Windows 7,占33%。毫无疑问,随着时间的推移,这些数字之间的差距将越来越大。如果微软不发布新版本的Windows - 它不应该考虑这些声明 - 我们只会看到正在应用的新更新。下一次更新,称为Windows 10 May 2019更新即将到来,它带来了很多变化。我们最感兴趣的是密码过期策略的更改。到目前为止,Windows 10用户被迫定期更改密码,但微软认为这不再是可持续或有效的。

微软首席顾问Aaron Margosis解释了微软安全指南博客中微软强行更改密码的原因。

定期密码到期是一个古老的,过时的缓解非常低的价值,我们认为我们的基线不能强制执行任何具体的价值。 [...]同时,我们必须重申,我们强烈建议采取其他保护措施,即使这些措施不能在我们的基线中表达。

毫无疑问,在某些时候,微软被迫改变密码,因为该公司认为它可以增加对用户的保护。然而,现在不再相信这种情况。相反,现在人们认为,如果人们经常更改Windows密码,他们更有可能将自己置于安全威胁之下。这并不是什么新鲜事,我们已经通过在此处此处频繁更改密码来涵盖用户可能承担的风险。最重要的是,当人们被迫更改Windows密码时,他们往往是懒惰和粗心,我们的意思是他们不遵守创建强大且不可穿透的密码的规则。

Margosis先生在博文中重申了这一观点,指出当微软被迫改变密码时,用户会选择容易猜测和弱密码。即使他们正在创建强密码,他们也会将其写下来,这可能与创建弱密码一样危险。此外,还知道当人们更改Windows密码时,他们通常会进行小的更改,这从不会增加安全性。

Windows密码发布Windows 10 v1809更新

Windows v1809更新引入了各种更改. 除了对Windows密码过期策略的更改之外,在更新之后,Windows 10将具有启用svchost.exe缓解选项策略以保护svchost.exe服务。在计算机锁定时,Windows 10用户也无法使用语音识别与应用程序通信。此外,操作系统将不再使用特定的BitLocker驱动器加密方法。

Windows 10 May 2019更新将为Windows 10用户提供新的Light主题,增强的“开始”菜单以及更简单的错误消息系统。我们将在进入后审核这些更改,但我们迫不及待地讨论密码过期策略,因为对于大多数人来说,Windows密码是解锁系统的第一个也是唯一的密钥。虽然Microsoft已启用Azure AD提供密码保护自定义禁止密码服务,并且也可以使用多因素身份验证,但台式计算机甚至笔记本电脑的用户并不总是采用其他安全措施,因为他们错误地认为设置了Windows密码足够。这可能是Microsoft不更改严格密码配置的原因,其中包括最小密码长度,历史记录和密码复杂性。

虽然Microsoft为用户提供了各种工具,可以帮助他们创建更强大的Windows密码并提高整体安全性,但重要的是从基础开始,在这种情况下,它是密码。根据NetworkWorld ,Windows密码长度必须至少为6个字符,并包含3种不同类型的字符,包括大写/小写字符,特殊字符,数字和/或unicode字符。不幸的是,即使您遵守规则,也可能会创建一个非常弱的密码,例如, Pa $$ word123是一个满足所有要求的密码,但很容易猜到,因此被认为是弱。

如何创建一个支持的Windows密码

如果您想要受到保护,则需要锁定,并且首先要考虑Windows 10密码。当然,您创建的每个密码都必须很强大,因为您的虚拟安全性与其最薄弱的链接一样强大。您应该对所有设备,操作系统,社交媒体配置文件和所有其他虚拟帐户应用相同的建议。

首先,您要确保密码尽可能长。在今天的世界中,由12-14个字符组成的密码不再被认为是非常冗长的。实际上,有些人在使用密码短语算法密码时会更进一步. 如果您也选择这些方法,请确保您熟悉人们通常犯的错误,并权衡所有的利弊。一旦创建了长而复杂的Windows密码,您可能倾向于将其写在纸上或将其保存在云驱动器上保存的文档文件中。写下密码永远不是一个好主意,毫无疑问,实施密码管理器可以更加安全, 密码管理器可以加密密码并向您展示(例如,如果您忘记了密码),只有在您成功验证自己的情况下。此工具可以保存和保护您创建的每个密码。当然,在Windows密码方面,您将无法在锁定的PC上访问密码管理器,但如果您选择在云端硬盘上加密和保存密码,则可以从任何密码连接到您的帐户设备!

如果您认为当前的Windows密码需要更新,或者尚未添加密码,请按照这些说明进行更改。

如何在Windows 10上创建/更新Windows密码

  1. 单击任务栏上的Windows / Start徽标
  2. 打开“ 控制面板” ,然后转到“ 用户帐户”。
  3. 单击“ 用户帐户” ,然后移至“在PC设置中更改我的帐户”。
  4. 在左侧菜单中,单击“ 登录选项”。
  5. 在“ 密码”部分中,单击“ 添加/更改”按钮(取决于您是创建还是更新)。
  6. 输入新密码 (或输入当前密码 ,然后创建新密码 )。
  7. 如果忘记密码,请添加密码提示以帮助您记住密码,然后单击下一步。
May 23, 2019

发表评论

Microsoft Will Stop Forcing Password Changes, but It Doesn’t Mean You Should Stop Making Changes

According to the latest statistics, nearly 56% of all Windows OS users run Windows 10, which is the most popular version of the operating system, followed by Windows 7 at 33%. Undoubtedly, in time, the gap between these numbers will grow bigger and bigger. If Microsoft doesn’t release a new version of Windows – and it shouldn’t, considering these claims – we will only see new updates being applied. The next update, known as Windows 10 May 2019 Update is right around the corner, and it is bringing in quite a few changes. The one we are most curious about is the change to the password expiration policy. Up until now, Windows 10 users were forced to change passwords periodically, but Microsoft decided that that is no longer sustainable or effective.

Aaron Margosis, the Principal Consultant at Microsoft, explained the reasons why there will be a stop to Microsoft forcing to change passwords in the Microsoft Security Guidance blog.

Periodic password expiration is an ancient and obsolete mitigation of very low value, and we don’t believe it’s worthwhile for our baseline to enforce any specific value. […] At the same time, we must reiterate that we strongly recommend additional protections even though they cannot be expressed in our baselines.

Undoubtedly, at some point, Microsoft forced to change passwords because the company believed it could increase the protection of users. However, that is no longer believed to be the case. On the contrary, it is now believed that if people change Windows passwords frequently, they are more likely to expose themselves to security threats. This is nothing new, and we have already covered the risks that users could be taking by changing passwords frequently HERE and HERE. The bottom line is that when people are forced to change Windows passwords, they tend to be lazy and careless, by which we mean that they do not follow the rules of creating strong and impenetrable passwords.

Mr. Margosis has reiterated this notion in the blogpost by stating that when Microsoft forced to change passwords, users were picking easy-to-guess and weak passwords. Even if they were creating strong passwords, they were writing them down, which might be equally as dangerous as creating a weak password. Furthermore, it is also known that when people changed Windows passwords, they would usually make small changes, which never increases the security.

Windows passwords post Windows 10 v1809 update

The Windows v1809 update is bringing in all kinds of changes. Besides the changes to the Windows password expiration policy, after the update, Windows 10 will have the Enable svchost.exe mitigation options policy to secure svchost.exe services. Windows 10 users will also be unable to use voice recognition to communicate with apps while the computer is locked. Furthermore, the operating system will no longer use a specific BitLocker drive encryption method.

The Windows 10 May 2019 Update will offer Windows 10 users a new Light theme, an enhanced Start menu, and a more straightforward error messaging system. We will review the changes once they come in, but we cannot wait to discuss the password expiration policy because a Windows password, for most, is the first and only key to unlock the system. While Microsoft has enabled Azure AD to offer Password protection and Custom banned passwords services, and multi-factor authentication can be employed as well, users of Desktop computers and even laptops do not always employ additional security measures because they wrongly assume that setting a Windows password is enough. This might be the reason why Microsoft is not changing strict password configurations, which include minimum password length, history, and password complexity.

Although Microsoft provides users with various tools that can help them create stronger Windows passwords and enhance the security overall, it is important to start with the basics, and, in this case, it is the password. According to NetworkWorld, Windows passwords must be at least 6-characters long and include 3 different types of characters, including upper/lower-case characters, special characters, numbers, and/or unicode characters. Unfortunately, even when you adhere to the rules, you might create an extremely weak password because, for example, Pa$$word123 is a password that meets all of the requirements, but it is easy to guess and, therefore, is considered to be weak.

How to create a Windows password that holds up

If you want to be protected, you need to lock up, and your Windows 10 password is the first one to think about. Of course, every single password you create must be strong, because your virtual security is as strong as its weakest link. You should apply the same advice to all of your devices, operating systems, social media profiles, and all other virtual accounts.

First and foremost, you want to make sure that your password is as long as possible. In today’s world, passwords that are made up of 12-14 character are no longer considered to be extremely lengthy. In fact, some people go way up when using passphrases and algorithm passwords. If you choose these methods as well, make sure you are familiar with the mistakes that people commonly make, and weigh all pros and cons. Once your long and complex Windows password is created, you might be inclined to write it down on a piece of paper or keep it in a Document file saved on a cloud drive. Writing down passwords is never a good idea, and it is, without a doubt, much safer to implement a password manager that can encrypt the password and show it to you (if you forget it, for example) only if you authenticate yourself successfully. This tool can save and protect every single password you create. Of course, when it comes to Windows passwords, you will not be able to access your password manager on the locked PC, but if you choose to encrypt and save passwords on a cloud drive, you will be able to connect to your account from any device!

If you think that your current Windows password requires an update, or if you have not added a password yet, follow these instructions to change things for the better.

How to create/update Windows password on Windows 10

  1. Click the Windows/Start logo on the Taskbar.
  2. Open Control Panel and then move to User Accounts.
  3. Click User Accounts and then move to Make changes to my account in PC settings.
  4. In the menu on the left click Sign-in options.
  5. In the Password section click the Add/Change button (depends on whether you are creating or updating).
  6. Enter a New password (or enter the Current password and then create New password).
  7. Add the Password hint to help you remember the password if you forget it and click Next.

May 10, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 4 + 7 ?