如果你使用過這個WordPress插件,你必須盡快更改你的Twitter密碼!

A WordPress Plugin Leaks Access Tokens

軟件應用程序,網站和在線平台應該是生機勃勃的東西。如果他們要生存,他們需要更新並適應互聯網每天投擲的不同事物。讓他們休眠,遲早,他們會給你或其他人帶來很多麻煩。一位法國研究員通過Twitter處理@ fs0c131y向我們展示了舊軟件存在多大問題。

什麼是社交媒體標籤?

他在社交媒體標籤中發現了一個安全漏洞,這是一個WordPress插件,於2012年首次發布。社交媒體標籤旨在將小標籤整合到WordPress網站中,該網站在用戶點擊它們時展示所有者的社交媒體供稿。發布後,社交媒體標籤獲得了一些積極評價 ,在接下來的幾個月裡,開發它的香港公司Design Chemical推出了一些新功能。然而,根據變更日誌 ,發展於2013年8月被查封。

社交媒體標籤做錯了什麼?

毋庸置疑,為了顯示您的推文和帖子,該插件必須能夠訪問您的社交媒體帳戶。在這些頁面上,我們討論了一些示例,向我們展示了當您使用軟件訪問數據時需要多麼謹慎,但很明顯,大多數人根本不會認真對待這個問題,尤其是在某些事情發生時看起來像WordPress插件一樣無害。正如您現在所看到的,這是一個很大的錯誤。

在社交網絡選項卡的情況下,問題的根源在於插件存儲其訪問Twitter的訪問權限的方式 - 允許用戶查看所有推文的令牌。出於某種原因,從頁面的源代碼中可以看到訪問令牌以及配置文件句柄。眾所周知,源代碼總是只需點擊幾下即可。

根據TechCrunch的Zack Whittaker的說法,儘管目前還沒有積極開發社交媒體標籤,但它仍然設法獲得了大量的下載量。事實上,當@ fs0c131y首次發現錯誤時,他進行了掃描,發現了不到540個易受攻擊的網站。

然後,他編寫了一個概念驗證腳本,該腳本貫穿上述網站,並刪除了暴露的數據。幾分鐘後,他獲得了超過400個推特賬號的訪問權限,但他很想知道他能用他們做什麼樣的惡作劇。他選擇了一條推文並使用令牌“贊”它超過100次,這確保了他有讀/寫權限。有些帳戶幾乎被遺忘了,儘管在研究時,有些人發布了一些相當奇怪的推文 。並非所有受影響的配置文件都是休眠有幾個經過驗證的帳戶,不少有幾千個粉絲。換句話說,對故障的利用可能會產生嚴重的後果。

12月1日,@ fs0c131y通知Twitter,違規訪問令牌被迅速撤銷. 然而,昨天,在漏洞引起公眾注意後不久,@ fs0c131y 透露 ,使用谷歌,您可以找到更多易受攻擊的網站和帳戶。希望這個問題能夠盡快得到解決。

你需要做什麼?

如果您尚未使用社交媒體標籤,則您的Twitter個人資料(理論上至少)是安全的。不過,這一切都應該成為每個人的一課。確保您知道哪些應用可以訪問您的社交網絡帳戶,如果您有舊的WordPress插件閱讀您的Feed,至少要確保他們得到開發人員的適當照顧。

至於使用社交媒體標籤的人,該插件不再有效,因此您可以隨意將其從您的網站中刪除。但是,您還必須確保它與社交媒體配置文件斷開連接。雖然沒有關於您的個人資料被曝光的信息,但您應該考慮將其更改為謹慎。

January 28, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
3 + 10是什麼?

If You Have Used This WordPress Plugin, You Must Change Your Twitter Password ASAP!

A WordPress Plugin Leaks Access Tokens

Software applications, websites, and online platforms should be living, breathing things. If they are to survive, they need to be updated and adapted to the different things the internet throws at them every day. Leave them dormant, and sooner or later, they will be causing you or other people a great deal of trouble. A French researcher who goes by the Twitter handle @fs0c131y showed us just how big of a problem old software could be.

What is Social Media Tabs?

He found a security hole in Social Media Tabs, a WordPress plugin that was first released in 2012. Social Media Tabs is designed to integrate small tabs into a WordPress website that showcase the owner's social media feeds when the user clicks on them. Upon release, Social Media Tabs received some positive reviews, and over the following months, Design Chemical, the Hong Kong-based company that developed it, pushed a few new features. According to the changelog, however, development seized in August 2013.

What did Social Media Tabs do wrong?

Needless to say, in order to display your tweets and posts, the plugin has to have access to your social media accounts. On these pages, we have discussed examples that show us how careful you have to be when you're giving a piece of software access to your data, but it's clear that most people don't take the problem seriously at all, especially when something seemingly harmless like a WordPress plugin is involved. This, as you'll see right now, is a big mistake.

In the case of Social Network Tabs, the problem was rooted in the way the plugin stored its access tokens for Twitter – the tokens that let users see all the tweets. For some reason, the access tokens, alongside the profile handle were visible from the page's source code. And the source code, as we all know, is always a couple of clicks away.

According to TechCrunch's Zack Whittaker, although Social Media Tabs isn't actively developed at the moment, it still manages to rack up a significant number of downloads. Indeed, when @fs0c131y first noticed the blunder, he did a scan and found just under 540 vulnerable websites.

He then wrote a proof-of-concept script that ran through the aforementioned websites and scraped the exposed data. A few minutes later, he had the access tokens of more than 400 Twitter accounts, but he was curious to find out what sort of mischief he could do with them. He picked a tweet and used the tokens to "like" it more than 100 times which ensured him that he has read/write access. Some of the accounts were pretty much forgotten, though at the time of the research, a few did post some rather strange tweets. Not all affected profiles were dormant. There were a couple of verified accounts, and quite a few had thousands of followers. In other words, an exploit of the fault could have had serious consequences.

On December 1, @fs0c131y notified Twitter, and the offending access tokens were promptly revoked. Yesterday, however, shortly after the vulnerability was brought to the public's attention, @fs0c131y revealed that using Google, you can find more vulnerable websites and accounts. Hopefully, the issue will be addressed as quickly as possible.

What do you need to do?

If you haven't used Social Media Tabs, your Twitter profile is (theoretically at least) safe. This whole thing should be a lesson for everyone, though. Make sure you know which apps have access to your social network accounts, and if you have old WordPress plugins reading your feeds, at least try to make sure that they receive proper care by developers.

As for the people that did use Social Media Tabs, the plugin is no longer active, so you can feel free to remove it from your website. You must also make sure that it's disconnected from your social media profiles, though. And although there's no information of your profile being exposed, you should probably consider changing it out of an abundance of caution.

January 18, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 8 + 2 ?