报告发现恶意软件能够非法扫描指纹

物联网开发人员不断寻找新的方式让用户在使用设备和虚拟服务时进行身份验证。这是十分必要的,因为网络攻击者会不断寻找新的方法来利用不同的身份验证。密码仍然是最常使用的一种,因为其他技术尚未完全开发、与设备不兼容,或无法为用户提供他们所需的功能。话虽如此,越来越多的设备和工具现在允许用户使用他们的声音、面部、视网膜甚至指纹来验证进行身份验证。

毫无疑问,指纹扫描识别并不是什么新鲜事。事实上,有证据表明早在公元前500年就采用了指纹分析。当然,随着20世纪的技术发展,指纹扫描在我们的日常生活中变得普遍。如今,指纹扫描被用作许多物联网设备上的一种认证形式。然而不幸的是,黑客已经找到伪造应用程序来应对指纹扫描,从而窃取个人信息的方法。

虚假应用程序窃取iOS用户的个人信息

如果您使用的是iOS设备,当您使用Touch ID的指纹扫描功能时,您必须非常谨慎。因为某些虚假和误导性应用程序可能会窃取您的个人信息。ESET称其中有一些应用程序,其中包括健身追踪工具,诱导用户在苹果应用商店下载它们。虽然苹果希望做一些对用户好的事情,有时现实不尽如人意。

研究人员审查的两个特定应用程序,Fitness Balance和Calories Tracker,非常昂贵(高达139.99欧元)。用户只有在同意扫描指纹后才能了解价格。但是,如果信用卡或借记卡与苹果账户相关联,则此指纹扫描会自动验证购买。这两个应用程序现在已从应用商店删除,但我们说不准还有多少类似的应用存在,或者以后还会有多少类似的例子。

恶意程序可能也记录了扫描的指纹,这也是窃取个人数据的一种形式。这已经不是第一个黑客使用假指纹扫描应用程序事件。事实上,行业专业人士和用户早在2015年就有收到相关警告。当时张玉龙演示了黑客如何使用指纹扫描进行非法交易。研究人员还展示了黑客如何将自己的指纹添加到黑客设备中以获取访问权限。他还找到了一种执行指纹扫描的方法,哪怕用户不知道他们正在使用这项功能。三年后的现在,越来越多的设备使用指纹传感器。这也就是为什么我们有必要了解指纹扫描设备的相关风险。

如何避免恶意指纹扫描应用程序

当然,没人想在每次触摸手机或用指纹扫描技术来使用任何其他设备时,都要考虑一下虚拟服务和财产是否安全。现在我们知道伪造的应用程序不仅通过记录常规数据(例如浏览数据、密码、用户名、密码等)来窃取个人信息,而且还通过记录您的指纹来窃取个人信息。如果恶意应用程序记录下您的指纹,他们就能够从连接的信用卡和借记卡进行非法交易!因此,如果您想避免恶意指纹扫描程序,要做的第一件事就是学习如何发现它们。

  • 每当您下载新应用程序时,您都最好下一番功夫了解一下。阅读第三方来源的评论,不要完全依赖应用程序的直接来源上的评论。当然,如果评论和评级都很糟糕,应用程序必然是不可信任的。但要小心评分和评论也可能被伪造。我们在本报告中讨论的两个虚假健身跟踪应用程序都拥有非常好的评分和评论。这就是为什么许多用户会陷入现在骗局。
  • 阅读应用程序的说明。熟悉开发人员及其隐私政策。不要忽视语法错误。
  • 对应用程序的界面也要非常谨慎。毫无疑问,如果应用程序要求您扫描指纹,则应立即将其删除。如果您已受骗,请检查您的余额以查找任何可疑交易,并致电银行,了解您可以采取哪些措施来追回您的资金。
  • 请不要跳过有关应用请求的权限和权限的信息。比如,如果一个应该跟踪健身信息的应用程序也想连接到您的相机或记录电话地址簿,它很可能是由一个不仅仅对你的健身数据感兴趣的人创建的。

您可以在此处详细了解恶意应用以及如何识别它们。

指纹扫描可以用什么替代?

如果您每天使用指纹扫描登录您的移动设备,您可能会担心其安全性。是的,尽管指纹是其他身份验证方法很好的一个替代品,它并不是无敌的。您可能正在寻找其他方法。语音识别如何?或者还是继续使用旧的密码。不论您的选择如何,请记住密码安全性非常重要。无论是手机的密码、在线银行账户的密码,还是对加密的个人资料的秘密答案,您都需要保证其安全且受到保护。两者可以同时实现吗?答案是安装可靠的密码管理器

Cyclonis密码管理器是帮助无法自己生成强密码的一个工具。它也可以是安全存储高度敏感信息的工具,包括密码、信用卡信息、护照号码等。它可以让您在世界上任何地方从任何设备上访问私人信息(因为信息是加密并存储在云设备上)。它可以帮助您免费提升虚拟安全性。

January 8, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
7 + 5是什么?

Malicious Apps Were Found to Scan Fingerprints Illegally

IoT developers keep finding new ways for users to authenticate themselves while using their devices and virtual services. This comes out of necessity because cyber attackers keep finding new ways to exploit the different authentication methods that are employed. Passwords continue to be used most regularly, simply because other technologies have not been developed fully, are not compatible with devices, or cannot offer users what they need. That being said, more and more devices and tools now allow users to authenticate themselves using their voice, face, retinas, and even fingerprints.

Without a doubt, identification via fingerprint scanning is nothing new. In fact, there is evidence that shows fingerprint analysis being employed as early as 500 BC. Of course, fingerprint scanning became common in our day-to-day life due to the technology that was created in the 20th century. Nowadays, fingerprint scanning is used as a form of authentication on many IoT devices. Unfortunately, hackers have found a way to exploit fingerprint scanning to steal personal information using fake apps.

Fake apps steal personal information from iOS users

If you own an iOS device, you need to be extremely cautious about fictitious and misleading apps that might have been set up to steal your personal information when you use the fingerprint scanning feature called Touch ID. According to ESET, some of these apps pose as fitness-tracking tools, and iOS users are tricked into downloading them – in many cases, from the Apple App Store – in the hopes of doing something good for themselves. Unfortunately, the opposite happens.

Two specific apps reviewed by researchers – Fitness Balance and Calories Tracker – were extremely pricey (up to €139.99), and the user would learn about the price only after they agreed to have their fingerprints scanned. Unfortunately, if a credit/debit card was linked to the Apple account, this fingerprint scanning would automatically validate the purchase. These two apps have been removed from the App Store, but it is impossible to say how many of them could still exist, or how many of them could be created in the future.

It is possible that the malicious apps could have recorded the scanned fingerprints too, and that is considered to be a form of personal data theft. This isn't the first recorded incident of hackers using fake fingerprint scanning apps. In fact, industry professionals and users were warned about this back in 2015, when Yulong Zhang demonstrated how hackers could use fingerprint scanners to perform illicit transactions. The researcher also showed how hackers could add their own fingerprints to a hacked device to gain access. He also found a way to perform fingerprint scanning even when the user did not know they were using a scanner. Three years later, more devices than ever have fingerprint sensors, which is why it is so important to understand the risks related to fingerprint scanning devices.

How to avoid malicious fingerprint scanning apps

Surely, you do not want to think about your virtual security and your financial security every time you touch your phone or any other device that uses fingerprint scanning technologies. It is now known that fake apps steal personal information not only by recording regular data (e.g., browsing data, passwords, usernames, pin codes, etc.), but by recording your fingerprints as well. If the malicious app manages to record your fingerprint, they might be able to perform illegal transactions from the connected credit and debit cards! So, if you want to avoid malicious fingerprint scanners, the first thing you need to do is learn how to spot them.

  • Whenever you download a new app, you have to be diligent about your research. Read reviews on third-party sources, and do not rely completely on the reviews available on the direct app's source. Of course, if the reviews and rating are terrible, you know that the app cannot be trusted. Unfortunately, ratings and reviews can be faked. The two fake fitness-tracking apps that we discussed in this report had very good ratings and reviews, which is why many users fell for the scam.
  • Read the description of the app. Familiarize yourself with the developer and their privacy policies. Do not ignore grammatical mistakes.
  • Be very cautious about the interface of the app too. Without a doubt, if an app requests you to scan your fingerprint, you should remove it immediately. And if you have been tricked already, check your balance to look for any suspicious transactions, and call your bank to find out what you can do to get your money back.
  • Do not skip the information regarding the permissions and privileges the app requests. If, for example, an app that is supposed to track your fitness also wants to connect to your camera or record your phone address book, it is quite possible that it was created by someone who is interested in more than just your fitness statistics.

You can learn more about malicious apps and how to identify them here.

What's the alternative to fingerprint scanning?

If you are using a fingerprint scanner every day – for example, to log into your mobile device – you might be scared about the prospects. Yes, fingerprints are not invincible, and while it is a terrific alternative to other authentication methods, you might be looking for something else. Maybe it's worth looking into voice recognition? And maybe you go back to the good old passwords. If that is your choice, remember that password security is very important. Whether it's the passcode to your phone, the password to your online banking account, or the secret answer to a blocked profile, you need it to be strong and protected. Do you know how to feed two birds with one scone? Install a trusted password manager.

Cyclonis Password Manager is a tool that generates strong passwords for those who cannot come up with them themselves. It is also a tool that can safely store highly sensitive information, including passwords, credit card information, passport numbers, etc. It is a tool that can help you access private information from anywhere in the world using any device (given that the information is encrypted and stored on a cloud device). It is a tool that can help you take your virtual security to the next level for free.

By Foley
December 27, 2018
December 27, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 10 + 10 ?