注意:您的Microsoft帳戶可能被用來竊取加密貨幣!

Cryptocurrency Stolen After The Outlook Breach

如果您是一個Outlook用戶,其中有一些加密貨幣存儲在在線交易賬戶中,那麼現在是登錄所述交易賬戶並確保一切都在應有的位置的好時機。您可能還記得,在4月中旬,微軟承認其電子郵件服務遭到破壞,黑客已經未經授權訪問某些用戶的信息。現在,受害者意識到他們因為違規而損失了數千美元的加密貨幣。在我們深入了解細節之前,讓我們提醒自己幾週前發生的事情。

Outlook違規

這一切都始於一些Outlook用戶收到通知告訴他們在網絡釣魚支持代理的登錄憑據後,黑客已經能夠訪問他們的一些個人信息。攻擊始於2019年初並一直持續到3月底,微軟很快向用戶保證,暴露的信息包括電子郵件地址和元數據。根據通知,攻擊者無法閱讀電子郵件或打開附件。這很快就顯而易見,並非嚴格屬實。

Motherboard的約瑟夫·考克斯的一項調查顯示,與微軟所說的相反,攻擊者確實獲得了對某些用戶收件箱的完全訪問權限。在得到冷酷的證據之後,軟件巨頭別無選擇,只能承認這確實是事實。

約瑟夫·考克斯有消息來源接近襲擊的肇事者,他告訴他,在滲透到用戶的收件箱之後,騙子們破壞了iPhone手機被盜的iCloud帳戶。然後,他們改變了一些安全設置,這使得銷售被盜設備變得更加容易。

這聽起來不像每個人都應該擔心的事情。它肯定不涉及沒有iPhone的人。然而事實證明,這不是Outlook騙子試圖解決的唯一攻擊。

黑客使用Outlook帳戶竊取加密貨幣

報告再一次來自Motherboard的Joseph Cox。他的注意力來自那些在社交媒體上抱怨由於Outlook違規導致賠錢的用戶。多人使用Reddit和其他討論板來報告或多或少相同的攻擊。

他們都擁有一些加密貨幣,這些加密貨幣存儲在在線交易賬戶中,所有這些都收到了來自微軟的通知,這些通知稱他們已經將他們的Outlook收件箱妥協了。顯然,他們都損失了數千美元的加密硬幣。

這是怎麼發生的?

攻擊很簡單,也很聰明。黑客首先會使用受害者的電子郵件地址來確定他們中有多少人在流行的加密貨幣交易所擁有帳戶. 大多數抱怨的人當時正在使用Kraken交易所 ,但如果事實證明其他交易平台的用戶參與其中,我們也不會感到驚訝。因為他們可以訪問受害者的收件箱,所以黑客在重置交換賬戶密碼和使用所有數字資金賺錢時沒有任何問題。然而,真正聰明的一點是,在整個過程中,受害者都不是明智之舉。

在任何時候,受害者都無法訪問他們的Outlook帳戶,這意味著在正常情況下,他們可以看到密碼重置來自Kraken的電子郵件,因此會知道某些事情已經發生。為了確保沒有發生這種情況,黑客們擺弄了受害者收件箱的設置。他們設置的規則會將包含“Kraken”等字詞的郵件重定向到由攻擊者控制的Gmail帳戶。然後將刪除所述消息。結果,黑客將能夠完成搶劫,並且密碼重置和撤銷確認電子郵件將最終進入垃圾箱文件夾,受害者將無法看到它們。

更多證明雙因素身份驗證的重要性

3月26日,Kraken的首席安全官Nick Percoco 表示 ,雙因素身份驗證對於加密貨幣交換的所有用戶來說都是強制性的。如果這個公告是幾個月前發布的,它可能會節省因Outlook數據洩露而導致受害者損失的數千美元。

黑客確實可以訪問受害者的收件箱,這使他們能夠重置密碼並用錢賺錢,而且他們的技能使他們可以隱秘地進行操作。然而,使用雙因素身份驗證會使攻擊完全失效。

其中一名受害者 (荷蘭語鏈接)承認他沒有啟用雙因素身份驗證,因為他使用的是密碼管理器,並為所有帳戶提供了強大的,唯一的密碼。這里希望他和其他受害者現在已經吸取了教訓。

微軟的反應還有很多不足之處

攻擊開始時,雙因素身份驗證不是必需的,並且由用戶啟用此功能。也就是說,我們不能把所有的責任歸咎於他們。畢竟,如果不是因為違反了Outlook的系統,那麼整個事情就不會發生,並且必須說微軟沒有向我們展示如何處理這類事件的教科書示例。

事實上,人們越來越不滿意微軟對整個傳奇的反應方式。正如我們已經提到的那樣,這家位於雷德蒙德的巨頭在最初的數據洩露通知中做了一些陳述,後來證明這些陳述是不准確的。現在,當人們因為Outlook事件而抱怨他們已經損失了相當多的錢時,它會保持相當安靜。

一些受害者表示,他們將尋求針對Windows創建者的法律訴訟,儘管他們自己承認,從財務角度來看,他們不太可能讓微軟頭疼不已。. 然而,當涉及到公司的聲譽時,損害可能會變得更加重要。

May 23, 2019

發表評論

Look Out: Your Microsoft Account Could Be Used to Steal Cryptocurrency!

Cryptocurrency Stolen After The Outlook Breach

If you're an Outlook user who has some cryptocurrency stored in an online exchange account, now would be a good time to log in to the said exchange account and make sure that everything is where it should be. As you may remember, in mid-April, Microsoft admitted that its email service had been breached and that hackers had gained unauthorized access to some of the users' information. Right now, victims are realizing that they have lost thousands of dollars in cryptocurrency because of the breach. Before we dive into the details, let's remind ourselves what happened a couple of weeks ago.

The Outlook breach

It all began when some Outlook users received notifications telling them that after phishing the login credentials of a support agent, hackers had been able to gain access to some of their personal information. The attack started in early 2019 and continued through to the end of March, and Microsoft was quick to assure users that the exposed information consisted of email addresses and metadata. According to the notification, the attackers had no way of reading emails or opening attachments. This, it quickly became apparent, was not strictly true.

An investigation by Motherboard's Joseph Cox revealed that contrary to what Microsoft was saying, the attackers did gain full access to some users' inboxes. After being presented with cold-hard evidence, the software giant had no other choice but to admit that this was indeed the truth.

Joseph Cox had sources close to the perpetrators of the attack who told him that after infiltrating users' inboxes, the crooks compromised the iCloud accounts of people who have had their iPhones stolen. They then changed some security settings which made selling the pilfered devices much easier.

This doesn't sound like something everyone should be worried about. It certainly doesn't concern the people who don't have iPhones. It turns out, however, that this was not the only attack the Outlook crooks tried to pull off.

Hackers used Outlook accounts to steal cryptocurrency

Once again, the report comes from Motherboard's Joseph Cox. His attention was drawn by users who complained on social media about losing money because of the Outlook breach. Multiple people used Reddit and other discussion boards to report more or less the same attack.

All of them owned some cryptocurrency which was stored in online exchange accounts, and all of them had received notifications from Microsoft which said that they had had their Outlook inboxes compromised. Apparently, they all lost thousands of dollars' worth of crypto coins.

How did it happen?

The attack was as simple as it was clever. The hackers would first use victims' email addresses to determine how many of them had accounts at popular cryptocurrency exchanges. Most of the people complaining were using the Kraken exchange at the time, though we won't be surprised if it turns out that users of other trading platforms are involved. Because they had access to the victims' inboxes, the hackers had no problems resetting the exchange accounts passwords and making off with all the digital money. The really clever bit, however, comes from the fact that throughout the whole process, the victims were none the wiser.

At no point did the victims lose access to their Outlook accounts which means that under normal circumstances, they would have been able to see the password reset emails from Kraken and would have therefore known that something's up. To make sure this didn't happen, the hackers fiddled around with the settings of the victims' inboxes. They set up rules which would redirect any messages that contained words like "Kraken" to a Gmail account controlled by the attackers. The said messages would then be deleted. As a result, the hackers would be able to complete the heist, and the password reset and withdrawal confirmation emails would end up in the Trash folder where the victims would fail to see them.

Yet more proof of how important two-factor authentication is

On March 26, Kraken's Chief Security Officer, Nick Percoco said that Two-Factor Authentication is becoming mandatory for all users of the cryptocurrency exchange. If this announcement was made several months earlier, it would have probably saved the thousands of dollars that victims lost due to the Outlook data breach.

The hackers did indeed have access to the victims' inboxes which enabled them to reset the passwords and make off with the money, and their skills allowed them to do it stealthily. The use of two-factor authentication, however, would have rendered the attack entirely ineffective.

One of the victims (link in Dutch) admitted that he hadn't turned on two-factor authentication because he was using a password manager and had strong, unique passwords for all his accounts. Here's hoping that he, as well as the rest of the victims, have now learned their lesson.

Microsoft's reaction leaves a lot to be desired

Two-factor authentication wasn't mandatory when the attack started, and it was up to the users to turn the feature on. That said, we can't put all the blame on them. After all, this whole thing wouldn't have happened if it wasn't for the breach of Outlook's systems, and it must be said that Microsoft isn't showing us a textbook example of how this sort of incidents should be handled.

In fact, people are growing increasingly unhappy with the way Microsoft reacts to the whole saga. As we mentioned already, the Redmond-based giant made some statements in the initial data breach notification which later turned out to be inaccurate. Right now, when people are complaining that they have lost considerable sums of money because of the Outlook incident, it's keeping rather quiet.

Some of the victims are saying that they'll seek legal actions against Windows' creator, though they themselves admit that from a financial standpoint, they are unlikely to give Microsoft that big of a headache. When it comes to the company's reputation, however, the damage could turn out to be much more significant.

May 2, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 8 + 3 ?