日本醫療設備製造商奧林巴斯遭受勒索軟件攻擊

9 月 8 日,又一次成功的勒索軟件攻擊襲擊了日本醫療和精密光學設備製造商奧林巴斯。

該公司報告稱,它仍在調查此次攻擊的後果,該事件影響了其位於 EMEA 地區的網絡。參與攻擊的威脅行為者似乎是 BlackMatter 組織——一個相對較新的名字,在 REvil 和 DarkSide 組織似乎逐漸被遺忘後不久出現。

奧林巴斯的官方聲明照例說明了這一點——該公司意識到其網絡上的“可疑活動”並聘請了一個安全團隊。調查似乎正在進行中,但奧林巴斯確實表示受影響的系統已與網絡的其餘部分切斷。

TechCrunch 報導稱,一個掌握有關攻擊信息的實體表示,這項工作是由 BlackMatter 完成的,從勒索軟件發出的贖金票據和為聯繫網絡犯罪分子提供的暗網地址(與 BlackMatter 裝備有關聯)就可以看出這一點。在過去。

與 REvil 和 DarkSide 集團類似,BlackMatter 在勒索軟件即服務的基礎上運營,這意味著該惡意軟件被分發給第三方,第三方隨後將支付贖金所得的利潤與運營該業務的集團分攤。

ThreatPost 引用了網絡安全公司 Scythe 的首席技術官的話說,DarkSide 的操作模式與新的 BlackMatter 實體之間存在顯著的相似之處。

與此同時,可以這麼說,另一個大型勒索軟件威脅演員 REvil 似乎又恢復營業了。該組織恢復了服務器,一名據稱是 REvil 核心組織的成員使用暗網論壇作為回答有關 REvil 在攻擊 IT 巨頭 Kaseya 後休長假的問題的場所。

雖然關於 Olympus 上勒索軟件工作的具體細節相對較少,但該領域的大威脅行為者不斷為新的大目標打分這一事實意味著邪惡的人無法休息,安全團隊永遠不會輕鬆。

September 14, 2021

發表評論

Japanese Medical Equipment Manufacturer Olympus Hit by Ransomware

A new successful ransomware attack took place on September 8 and hit Japanese medical and precision optical equipment manufacturer Olympus.

The company reported that it is still investigating the fallout of the attack, which affected its networks located in the EMEA region. The threat actor involved in the attack appears to be the BlackMatter group - a relatively new name that emerged shortly after REvil and DarkSide group seemed to fade into oblivion.

The official statement from Olympus states the usual - the company became aware of "suspicious activity" on its network and engaged a security team. The investigation seems to be ongoing but Olympus did state that affected systems have been cut off from the remainder of the network.

TechCrunch reported that an entity who had information concerning the attack says the job was pulled off by BlackMatter, as evident by the ransom note dropped by the ransomware and the dark web address provided for contacting the cyber criminals, which has been associated with the BlackMatter outfit in the past.

Similarly to REvil and the DarkSide group, BlackMatter is operated on a ransomware as a service basis, which means the malware is handed out to third parties who later split the profits made from any ransom payments with the group running the operation.

ThreatPost quoted the CTO of cyber security firm Scythe, who went so far as to say that there are significant similarities between the mode of operation of DarkSide and the new BlackMatter entity.

Meanwhile, the other big ransomware threat actor, REvil, seems to be back in business, so to speak. The group took its servers back up and an alleged member of the core REvil group used a dark web forum as a venue to answer questions about the long vacation REvil took after its attack on IT giant Kaseya.

While there is relatively little detail available on the specifics of the ransomware job on Olympus, the fact that the big threat actors in the field keep scoring new big targets means there is no rest for the wicked and security teams can never rest easy.

September 14, 2021