諮詢巨頭埃森哲被 LockBit 勒索軟件襲擊

運行 LockBit 勒索軟件服務的犯罪組織發佈公告稱,它已成功突破諮詢巨頭埃森哲的防禦。黑客聲稱他們將很快開始向任何其他感興趣的犯罪方出售大量洩露的埃森哲數據庫。

埃森哲是一家大型跨國公司,在全球擁有超過 50 萬名員工,為幾乎所有財富 100 強公司提供諮詢服務。埃森哲的客戶包括谷歌、戴爾和微軟等家喻戶曉的品牌。

LockBit 在其網站上吹噓他們成功攻擊埃森哲,並提出出售據稱在攻擊期間洩露的“一些數據庫”。黑客們也沒有忘記嘗試取笑埃森哲的安全性,但這現在幾乎是協議,許多威脅行為者在設法擊中一個大目標後吹噓。

到目前為止,LockBit 只顯示了一個從埃森哲獲得的據稱被盜的 PDF 文件的文件夾。

埃森哲通過宣布該公司確實在其網絡上發現了“異常活動”來回應這些說法。然而,埃森哲聲稱已採取果斷行動,攻擊已被迅速遏制,受影響的服務器據稱已被隔離。

更重要的是,埃森哲宣布已將一切恢復到正常工作狀態,使用其備份並聲稱對公司的工作或與客戶相關的系統沒有任何有意義的影響。

ThreatPost 援引安全公司 Cyble 的研究人員的話說,根據他們的信息,LockBit 要求的贖金為 5000 萬美元,大約 6TB 的數據庫可能已從埃森哲服務器中洩露。

這次攻擊歸因於一個被稱為 LockBit 2.0 的威脅行為者——一個不斷發展的實體,可能會招募新成員,這些成員之前曾與 REvil 和 DarkSide 勒索軟件團伙合作,但他們似乎已經倒閉了。

這種所謂的海量數據是否真的成功地從埃森哲的網絡中洩露出來,還有待觀察。

August 12, 2021

Consulting Giant Accenture Hit by LockBit Ransomware

The criminal organization running the LockBit ransomware service published an announcement that it had successfully breached the defenses of consulting giant Accenture. The hackers claimed that they will soon start selling chunks of exfiltrated Accenture databases to any other criminal parties interested.

Accenture is a massive multi-national company with over half a million employees across the globe and offers consulting services to nearly all of the top 100 Fortune companies. Among Accenture's customers are household names such as Google, Dell and Microsoft.

LockBit boasted about their successful attack on Accenture on its website and offered to sell "some databases" that were allegedly exfiltrated during the attack. The hackers also didn't forget to try and poke fun at Accenture's security, but that's almost protocol now, with a lot of threat actors boasting after they manage to hit a big target.

So far LockBit have only shown a folder of supposedly stolen PDF files obtained from Accenture.

Accenture responded to the claims by announcing that the company had indeed spotted "irregular activity" on its network. However, Accenture claims to have taken decisive action and the attack has been quickly contained and the affected servers have been allegedly isolated.

More importantly, Accenture announced having already restored everything to normal working order, using its backups and claims there has been no meaningful impact on the company's work or on systems associated with its customers.

Researchers with security firm Cyble were quoted by ThreatPost, claiming that according to their information, the ransom LockBit demanded was $50 million and around 6TB of databases may have been exfiltrated from the Accenture servers.

The attack is attributed to a threat actor being referred to as LockBit 2.0 - a growing entity that is likely recruiting new members who were previously working with the REvil and DarkSide ransomware gangs before they seemingly closed shop.

Whether this allegedly huge volume of data was really successfully exfiltrated from Accenture's network remains to be seen.

August 12, 2021

Leave a Reply