您的計算機是否是每小時發送30,000個Sextortion電子郵件的500,000個計算機之一?

您可能已經收到一封電子郵件,聲稱有人錄製了錄像或捕獲的圖像,據稱這可能損害您的聲譽。該電子郵件應說明,當您訪問色情網站時,黑客能夠通過網絡攝像頭監視您。這樣的電子郵件有什麼意義?在大多數情況下,這是勒索金錢,這就是為什麼它們被普遍稱為Sextortion騙局電子郵件的原因。如果您已經閱讀了有關“ Sextortion騙局”的文章,則可能會理解該騙局的工作原理以及策劃者的工作方式。好吧,您知道您自己可能會向世界各地的人們發送數千封令人生畏的電子郵件嗎?最近有報導稱,研究人員發現被感染的計算機向其所有者發送了未知的敲詐電子郵件。那麼,你是其中之一嗎?

Check Point揭示了一個龐大的殭屍網絡

總部位於以色列的Check Point是一家IT安全公司,最近進行了為期5個月的研究,結果發現一個大規模的殭屍網絡用於助長惡性性行為。 根據他們的研究 ,一個被稱為PhorpiexTrik的殭屍網絡已經活躍了將近十年,並且感染了超過500,000台主機。儘管殭屍網絡曾被用來分發GandCrab,Pony,Pushdo和其他惡意威脅,包括礦工,但似乎背後的運營商已轉向垃圾郵件。現在,屬於該殭屍程序的每台受感染機器都可以用來每小時靜默發送多達30,000個Sextortion詐騙電子郵件。研究人員發現,每個從殭屍網絡中紮根的垃圾郵件運動都可能影響2700萬人。當然,計劃者是否成功完全取決於人們對收到的色情短信的反應。

眾所周知Phorpiex殭屍程序可以訪問洩露的登錄憑據的數據庫。這意味著,除了可以訪問合法電子郵件地址的大量列表之外,它們還具有鏈接到這些地址的密碼。不幸的是,這是六分法騙局的優勢之一。 Check Point的研究人員分析了令人髮指的電子郵件,該電子郵件是六分騙局的誘因。根據該消息,發件人具有“對所有[…]帳戶的完全訪問權限”和“對[…]計算機的完全控制權”。然後,它提示使用網絡攝像頭錄製了有危害的視頻,並且記錄了所有私人數據也一樣發件人威脅要在社交網絡上發布涉嫌的視頻和私人數據,並通過電子郵件將其發送給收件人的聯繫人。毫無疑問,這可能令人震驚。研究人員獲得的電子郵件要求以比特幣支付800美元的贖金,這是一種在網絡犯罪分子和策劃者中流行的加密貨幣。

當Check Point的研究發表時,有58個不同的比特幣錢包與sextortion騙局相關聯,儘管這些錢包中的大多數都有1-2筆交易,但當我們檢查時,其中至少有19筆交易。 ' Total Received '餘額為0.4353 BTC,當時超過3600美元,而這僅僅是一個錢包。實際上,Check Point研究人員認為,他們分析過的性行為騙局每月可能產生22,000美元的收入,而且如果更多的計算機受到感染並且更多的受害者被困,這個數字可能還會增加。毫無疑問,在勒索消息的接收端令人恐懼。但是,發現自己的受感染計算機發送了勒索電子郵件是完全不同的恐怖故事。當《福布斯》與研究人員交談時,他們發現受感染的計算機連接到C&C服務器以下載違規電子郵件和密碼的列表。然後,使用SMTP(簡單郵件傳輸協議),使用受感染的計算機來發送電子郵件。為了避免受到攻擊,不使用Gmail和Outlook服務。 Phorpiex bot的核心是針對大型騙局的簡單工具。

如何脫離殭屍網絡並在將來逃避它們

您不應該注意到自己的受感染計算機會發送勒索電子郵件,因為您不應該注意到您的計算機已連接到殭屍網絡。請注意,只有當您的計算機感染了“殭屍網絡惡意軟件”後,它才會成為殭屍 。理論上,反惡意軟件應將其檢測並刪除,但這完全取決於您使用的軟件類型,甚至取決於殭屍網絡本身的使用方式。建造。毫無疑問,較弱,過時且無效的反惡意軟件不太可能可靠地保護操作系統,這就是為什麼必須對安全系統進行全面改革的原因。無論您是需要更新軟件還是用更有效,最新的工具替換軟件,都需要確保操作系統受到完全保護。只有安裝了可靠的安全軟件,您才不必擔心刪除殭屍網絡惡意軟件或將來避免它。

Sextortion騙局後果

如果您要發送敲詐電子郵件,則主要要擔心的是進入其中的惡意軟件,當然還有對操作系統的整體保護。如果您在接收端,則可能已經與攻擊者聯繫,甚至支付了贖金。首先,最重要的是,任何人都不可能擁有任何會導致犯罪或損害他人利益的材料,而提出令人生畏的主張只是為了讓您感到害怕並且更容易被操縱。如果您收到一個sextortion騙局電子郵件,那麼最好的辦法就是忽略它,並將發件人報告給您的電子郵件提供商。這可以幫助其他人。如果索賠是真實的怎麼辦?即使您支付了贖金,您也不能強迫計劃者從他們的服務器中刪除有危害的資料,因此我們不建議您與他們進行任何接觸。

當然,如果消息中包含的密碼仍在使用中,則您需要做的第一件事就是更改該密碼。如果計劃者設法獲得了您的登錄憑據,則意味著在某個時候發生了數據洩露。您為每項服務使用唯一的密碼嗎?如果您這樣做,應該足夠容易地找到遭到破壞的登錄。說到唯一密碼,您需要確保每個密碼都是唯一的,因為您不希望您的整個虛擬世界像一個紙牌屋一樣倒塌,因為一個密碼被盜了。強烈建議您安裝Cyclonis Password Manager ,該工具會自動生成強壯且唯一的密碼,並且還將幫助您升級已洩露的密碼。最好的部分是它將免費提供。

December 6, 2019

發表評論

Is Your Computer One of the 500,000 That Send out 30,000 Sextortion Emails Every Hour?

You might have received an email claiming that someone has recorded video footage or captured images that, allegedly, can compromise your reputation. This email should state that hackers were able to spy on you via webcam when you visited pornographic websites. What is the point of such emails? In most cases, it is to extort money, and that is why they are popularly known as sextortion scam emails. If you have read our article about sextortion scams, you might understand the concept of how this scam works and how schemers operate. Well, did you know that you yourself could be sending out thousands of intimidating emails to people all around the world? It was recently reported that researchers found infected computers sending extortion emails unbeknownst to their owners. So, are you one of them?

Check Point revealed a massive botnet

Israel-based Check Point is an IT security company that recently conducted 5-month-long research revealing a massive botnet used to facilitate a vicious sextortion scam. According to their research, a botnet that was dubbed Phorpiex or Trik has been active for nearly a decade now and has over 500,000 infected hosts. Although the botnet was used to distribute GandCrab, Pony, Pushdo, and other malicious threats, including miners, it appears that the operators behind it have switched to spamming. Now, every single one of the infected machines that belong to the bot can be used to silently send out up to 30,000 sextortion scam emails every hour. Researchers have found that every individual spam campaign rooting from the botnet can affect 27 million people. Of course, whether or not schemers are successful solely depends on how people react to the sextortion scam email they receive.

It is known that the Phorpiex bot has access to a database of leaked login credentials. That means that besides having access to an expansive list of legitimate email addresses, they also have passwords that are linked to these addresses. Unfortunately, that is one of the strengths of the sextortion scam. The researchers at Check Point have analyzed the intimidating email that is the driving vehicle of the sextortion scam. According to the message, the sender has “full access to all […] accounts” and “full control over […] computer.” It then proceeds to suggest that a compromising video was recorded using a webcam and that all private data was recorded as well. The sender threatens to post the alleged video and private data on social networks and send it via email to the recipient’s contacts. Without a doubt, this can be horrifying. The email that researchers obtained demanded a ransom of $800 to be paid in Bitcoin, a crypto-currency popular amongst cybercriminals and schemers.

When research by Check Point was published, 58 different Bitcoin wallets were linked to the sextortion scam, and while most of these wallets had 1-2 transactions, at least one of them had 19 transactions when we checked it. The ‘Total Received’ balance was 0.4353 BTC, which, at the time, was over $3,600, and that is just one wallet. In fact, Check Point researchers believe that the sextortion scam they analyzed could be generating $22,000 per month, and this number is likely to grow if more machines get infected and more victims are trapped. Without a doubt, being on the receiving end of an extortion message is horrifying; however, discovering that your own infected computer sends extortion emails is an entirely different horror story. When Forbes spoke with the researchers, they revealed that an infected computer connects to a C&C server to download the list of breached emails and passwords. Then, using SMTP (Simple Mail Transfer Protocol), the infected computer is employed to send out the sextortion emails. To keep the attack under wraps, Gmail and Outlook services are not used. At its core, the Phorpiex bot is a simple tool for a major scam.

How to disengage from botnets and evade them in the future

You are not supposed to notice that your own infected computer sends extortion emails because you are not supposed to notice that your computer was connected to a botnet. Note that your machine becomes a zombie only if it is infected with “botnet malware.” In theory, anti-malware software should detect and delete it, but it all depends on the type of software you use and even the way the botnet itself is constructed. Without a doubt, weaker, outdated, and ineffective anti-malware software is unlikely to protect operating systems reliably, which is why it is imperative to start with a security system overhaul. Whether you need to update your software or replace it with a tool that is more effective and up-to-date, you need to ensure that your operating system is fully protected. Only if reliable security software is installed will you not need to worry about removing botnet malware or avoiding it in the future.

Sextortion scam aftermath

If you were sending out extortion emails, your main concern is the malware that got in and, of course, the overall protection of your operating system. If you were on the receiving end, you might have contacted the attackers or even paid the ransom. First and foremost, it is highly unlikely that anyone has any incriminating or compromising material, and the intimidating claims are made just to make you scared and more easily manipulated. If you receive a sextortion scam email, the best thing you can do is ignore it and report the sender to your email provider. This could help others. What if the claims were real? Even if you paid the ransom, you could not force schemers to remove compromising material from their servers, and so we would not recommend engaging with them anyway.

Of course, if the password included in the message is still in use, the first thing you need to do is change that password. If schemers managed to get their hands of your login credentials, that means that a data breach had occurred at some point. Do you use a unique password for every service? If you do, it should be easy enough to track down the login that was compromised. Speaking of unique passwords, you need to make sure that every single one of your passwords is unique because you do not want your entire virtual world to fall down like a house of cards just because of one compromised password. We strongly recommend installing Cyclonis Password Manager, a tool that will automatically generate strong and unique passwords, and that will also help you upgrade the compromised passwords. The best part is that it will do that for free.

December 6, 2019

Leave a Reply