Sextortion诈骗使用黑客密码来欺骗受害者

sextortion scam fraud hacked passwords

所谓的“sextortion”骗局有一些不同的变种,可以肯定地说,有些人比其他人更恶心。我们应该注意到,我们要描述的那个并不是最糟糕的,因为当他们使用它时,骗子需要钱而不是实际的性欲。它是这样的。

骗子通过电子邮件与您联系,并表示他已经以某种方式获得了一系列描绘您减去衣服的图片和视频。他还发现了所有朋友,亲戚和同事的电子邮件,如果你没有给他发现一些现金,敏感的镜头最终会出现在他们的收件箱中。

不难看出这样的骗局是如何运作的。有些人确实会拍摄自己可能妥协的照片和视频,有时他们会与其他人分享这些照片和视频,或者无法正确保护它们。与此同时,有恶意程序可以窃取这些妥协的材料和联系人列表。

整个场景在理论上是可行的,但可以说它现在已经老了,并且越来越少的人为此而堕落。这就是为什么随着最新一波的电子邮件浪潮,骗子们添加了一个聪明的转折,应该让这个骗局变得更加可信。然而,在我们开始之前,让我们看看到目前为止这个特定的广告系列是如何展开的。

操作

这些电子邮件似乎完全来自Outlook帐户,虽然这种骗局的流行程度令人咋舌,但似乎有很多消息在飞来飞去。垃圾邮件已经持续了一个多星期了,所以虽然我们仍然看到一些电子邮件漏掉了,但希望所有垃圾邮件过滤器都能很快赶上。

场景

当他们写这篇文章时,这些骗子并不是很原始。他们声称他们已经将恶意软件放在您经常访问的成人视频网站上。通过它,他们在您观看视频时静静地打开了设备上的网络摄像头,并拍摄了您不希望别人看到的事情。

恶意软件还从您的Facebook和电子邮件帐户收集了所有联系人,如果您不向他们发送一些比特币,骗子会将录制的镜头发送给您认识和喜爱的每个人,从而导致您遭受巨大的尴尬和困扰。如果您付费,视频将被删除,整个过程将保密。奇怪的是,虽然所有消息似乎都是单个广告系列的一部分,但不同的电子邮件需要不同的金额。它们介于1,200美元至3,900美元之间。

派对

所有这些对于这种类型的缺点来说都是非常标准的,虽然有些人可能会因此而堕落,但大多数人只会删除该消息。不过,还有一件事给这个特定的竞选活动带来了相当大的假信誉。

还记得他们应该在你的设备上安装的恶意软件吗?据称,它还具有窃取密码的能力,电子邮件的开头是“我知道[真实密码]是您的密码”。收件人确实在某个时刻使用了电子邮件中包含的密码,这突然使情景变得更加真实。

不过,你不应该被愚弄。密码虽然真实,但已有十多年的历史,而且大多数密码都不再有效。这不是因为十年前受害者首先感染了恶意软件。这是因为骗子们在泄漏的数据库中找到了密码,这个数据库已经有十年之久了。实际上你可能会说他们使用很久以前被黑客攻击的数据就犯了错误. 如果密码更新,用户会感到更害怕。

sextortion诈骗的未来

上面的例子表明,即使你认为骗局已超过其销售日期,骗子们仍然会找到一种方法来更新他们的策略并使他们的计划更精细和复杂。我们怀疑这是我们最后一次看到泄露的密码用于类似目的,但如果您为所有帐户使用唯一密码,您可能不会太担心,因为您会知道骗子可能有一个妥协一个帐户的方式,其余数据仍然安全。

至于黑客默默地录制你的视频,有恶意软件可以帮助他们做到这一点,虽然你可以(并且应该)确保你的设备尽可能得到保护,但是永远不能保证没有任何保证。将能够破坏你的防御。但事情就是这样 - 如果相机没有使用时,黑客不能偷偷地拍摄你的相机。

如果所有用户都坚持这种建议,那么这种特殊类型的分销可能会被认为太无效,并会被骗子抛弃。在那之前,它不太可能消失。

May 20, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
2 + 2是什么?

Sextortion Scam Uses Hacked Passwords to Defraud Victims

sextortion scam fraud hacked passwords

There are a few different variants of the so-called 'sextortion' scam, and it's safe to say that some are more disgusting than others. We should note that the one we're about to describe isn't the worst of its kind because when they use it, scammers demand money rather than actual sexual favors. It goes like this.

A con artist contacts you via email and says that he has somehow obtained a collection of pictures and videos depicting you minus your clothes. He has also found the emails of all your friends, relatives, and colleagues, and if you don't send him some cash, the sensitive footage will end up in their inboxes.

It's not difficult to see how such a scam could work. Some people do take potentially compromising photos and videos of themselves, and they sometimes share them with other people or fail to secure them properly. At the same time, there are malicious programs that can steal such compromising material and lists of contacts.

The whole scenario is theoretically possible, but it's fair to say that it's getting old now, and fewer and fewer people are falling for it. That's why with the latest wave of sextortion emails, the crooks have added a clever twist that is supposed to make the con much more believable. Before we get to it, however, let's see how this particular campaign has unfolded so far.

The operation

The emails appear to come exclusively from Outlook accounts, and although the popularity of this type of scam is wavering, there seem to be quite a lot of messages flying around. The spamming has been going on for over a week now, so although we still see a few emails slip through the cracks, hopefully, all spam filters will catch up soon.

The scenario

The crooks weren't very original when they were writing this. They claim that they've put malware on the adult video website you frequent. Through it, they silently turned on the web camera on your device while you were watching the videos and filmed you doing things that you don't want others to see.

The malware also collected all your contacts from your Facebook and email accounts, and if you don't send them some bitcoins, the scammers will send the recorded footage to everyone you know and love, causing you enormous amounts of embarrassment and distress. If you pay up, the videos will be deleted, and the whole thing will remain a secret. Curiously enough, while all messages appear to be a part of a single campaign, different emails demand different sums. They range between $1,200 and $3,900.

The party piece

All this is pretty much standard for this type of cons, and although there are people who could fall for it, most will simply delete the message. There is one more thing that brings a rather substantial layer of fake credibility to this particular campaign, though.

Remember the malware they supposedly installed on your device? Allegedly, it also has the ability to steal your password, and the email starts with something along the lines of "I know that [a real password] is your password." The recipients have indeed used the password included in the email at one point or another, which suddenly makes the scenario a lot more realistic.

You shouldn't be fooled, though. The passwords, while real, are over ten years old, and most of them are no longer active. That's not because the victims first got infected with malware ten years ago. It's because the crooks found the passwords in a leaked database that's now a decade old. You could actually argue that they made a mistake by using data that was hacked such a long time ago. If the passwords were more recent, users would have felt even more scared.

The future of sextortion scams

The examples above show that even when you think that a scam is past its sell-by date, the con artists still find a way of updating their tactics and making their schemes more elaborate and sophisticated. We doubt that this is the last time we see leaked passwords being used for similar purposes, but if you use unique passwords for all your accounts, you likely won't be too worried, as you'll know that while the crooks might have a way of compromising one account, the rest of your data remains safe.

As for the matter of hackers silently recording videos of you, there is malware that can help them do that, and while you can (and should) make sure that your device is as well protected as possible, there can never be any guarantees that nothing will be able to breach your defenses. Here's the thing, though – hackers can't surreptitiously film you if there is a piece of tape over your camera when it's not in use.

If all users stick to this advice, this particular type of sextortion will probably be deemed too ineffective and will be dumped by the crooks. Until then, it's unlikely to disappear.

By Duran
July 19, 2018
July 19, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 6 + 3 ?