如果您擁有智能IP攝像頭,則需要考慮幾種安全風險

IP Cameras Security Risks

您用於閱讀本文的計算機與出於安全原因設置的IP攝像機之間有何相似之處?實際上有不止一些。

兩個設備都連接到互聯網,這意味著它們發送和接收信息。沒有告訴各個硬件組件做什麼的操作系統,就不可能與外界進行通信。並且由於它都需要由人控制,因此該操作系統具有用戶界面,通過該用戶界面,您和我們即將建立的其他人可以與之交互。

因此,從基本的角度來看,雖然家用計算機和IP攝像機的用途和功能不同,但兩個設備的核心功能非常接近。您還需要記住一個相似之處。由於您的相機已連接到互聯網,因此它可能會被黑客入侵。

破解連接互聯網的相機有多容易?

Bitdefender的研究人員問自己同樣的問題,這就是為什麼他們最近拿了四台IP攝像機並試圖打破他們的防禦。他們選擇的相機是Keekoon KK005,Tenvis TH661,Reolink C1 Pro相機和Geenker HD IP相機。攻擊它們中的所有四個比它應該更容易。

IP攝像機的想法是它可以遠程控制,這通常通過管理面板進行,可以通過瀏覽器或移動應用程序訪問。通常,在您允許更改任何內容之前,您需要提供用戶名和密碼,但Bitdefender測試的四個攝像頭具有多個身份驗證繞過漏洞,讓專家無需憑據即可登錄。使用Geenker HD IP Camera,跳過登錄頁面就像在瀏覽器的地址欄中輸入不同的URL一樣簡單。

還有很多其他安全漏洞。研究人員在同一個Geenker相機中找到了硬編碼的Telnet憑證,通過Reolink C1,他們能夠獲得本地Wi-Fi網絡的密碼。 Reolink C1甚至可以洩露一些電子郵件憑據。好像這還不夠,幾乎所有的攝像機都容易受到命令注入和堆棧溢出攻擊,而Keekoon也有自己的局域網後門。

黑客IP攝像機有多大用處?

乍一看,對你和你的財產進行間諜活動至少是一個網絡犯罪分子可以利用受損的IP攝像機做的最明顯的事情。身份驗證旁路漏洞允許黑客獲得對攝像頭的完全控制,這意味著無論您使用它做什麼,他們都可以做到,這包括流式傳輸和錄製鏡頭。

問題是,對於我們大多數人來說,這不會成為一個問題。以某種方式打擾一些知名人士的具體目標應該可能會擔心這類事情。然而,公平地說,間諜不會非常渴望了解Joe和Joanne Average下班回家後所做的事情。

然而,網絡犯罪分子不會打擾你的事實並不一定意味著他們對你根本不感興趣。他們可能很樂意學習,例如,你的網上銀行平台的密碼是什麼,不管你信不信,你的易受攻擊的IP攝像頭可以幫助他們找到它. 不要忘記,攝像機連接到與其他設備相同的本地網絡,在某些情況下,它可以作為黑客的網關。他們移動和感染您的計算機,手機和平板電腦的能力取決於許多因素,但公平地說,如果他們確實設法進入(並且Bitdefender發現的一些漏洞表明這不是不可能的) ),他們會找到造成更多傷害的方法。

最後但同樣重要的是,黑客可以使用您的IP攝像頭為其他人造成嚴重破壞。那些對信息安全新聞感興趣的人可能還記得臭名昭著的Mirai殭屍網絡,它在2016年發起了前所未有的分佈式拒絕服務(DDoS)攻擊,並在美國部分地區引發了大規模的互聯網中斷 。構成殭屍網絡的大部分設備都是IP攝像機,它們的主人不知道他們無意中參與了世界上最大的網絡攻擊之一。你可以做些什麼來避免將來出現這種情況?

降低IP攝像機的安全風險

並非所有的IP攝像機都有各種各樣的漏洞,但可以說Bitdefender測試的四種型號遠非唯一的,這意味著如果你正在考慮安裝這樣的設備,你可能會比研究你的更糟糕。選擇並仔細挑選。然而,選擇合適的相機只是故事的一半。

在互聯網上盡可能多地使用設備的競爭中,供應商傾向於忽視其產品的安全性,但必須指出的是,有時候,它們並不是唯一可以責怪的。通常,用戶過於急於正確配置他們的相機,並且他們將它們隱藏在強密碼之後。太多的攝像頭暴露在互聯網上並受到默認憑證的保護。正如我們昨天成立 ,黑客可以在任何時候發現這些攝像頭,當他們這樣做,他們必然要試圖暴力破解的方式使用外的開箱用戶名和密碼。

具有諷刺意味的是,據說設計時考慮到安全性的東西提供了(儘管是在線的)入侵者的這種不良保護。也許更令人擔憂的是,很少有供應商將可靠的更新機制放在一起,可以在發現漏洞後立即修補漏洞。不幸的是,這意味著,除了小心你放在網絡上的設備並避免一些最基本的配置錯誤之外,沒有什麼可以讓黑客遠離黑客。

April 22, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
5 + 8是什麼?

If You Own a Smart IP Camera, You Need to Consider a Few Security Risks

IP Cameras Security Risks

What are the similarities between the computer you're using to read this article and the IP camera that you've set up for security reasons? There are more than a few, actually.

Both devices are connected to the internet which means that they send and receive information. The communication with the outside world would be impossible without an operating system that tells the individual hardware components what to do. And because it all needs to be controlled by a human being, this operating system has a user interface through which you and, as we'll establish in a moment, some other people, can interact with it.

So, in basic terms, while the purpose and the features of your home computer and your IP camera are different, the core functionality of the two devices is pretty close to identical. There is one more similarity that you need to bear in mind. Because your camera is connected to the internet, it, like your computer, can be hacked.

How easy is it to hack an internet-connected camera?

Researchers from Bitdefender were asking themselves the same question which is why they recently took four IP cameras and tried breaking their defenses. The cameras they picked were the Keekoon KK005, the Tenvis TH661, the Reolink C1 Pro Camera, and the Geenker HD IP Camera. Hacking into all four of them is easier than it should be.

The idea of an IP camera is that it can be controlled remotely, which usually happens via an administration panel that can be accessed either through a browser or through a mobile application. Normally, before you're allowed to alter anything, you need to provide a username and a password, but the four cameras Bitdefender tested had multiple authentication bypassing vulnerabilities which let the experts log in without having the credentials. With the Geenker HD IP Camera, skipping the login page was as easy as entering a different URL in the address bar of the browser.

There were plenty of other security holes as well. The researchers found hardcoded Telnet credentials in the same Geenker camera, and with the Reolink C1, they were able to get the password for the local Wi-Fi network. The Reolink C1 could even spill some email credentials. As if that wasn't enough, virtually all cameras are susceptible to command injection and stack overflow attacks, and the Keekoon also arrives with its own LAN backdoor.

How useful can a hacked IP camera be?

Spying on you and your property is, at first glance at least, the most obvious thing a cybercriminal can do with a compromised IP camera. The authentication bypass vulnerabilities allow hackers to gain full control of the camera which means that whatever you can do with it, they can do as well, and this includes streaming and recording footage.

The thing is, for most of us, this isn't going to be a problem. Specific targets who, in one way or another, have upset some high-profile individuals should probably be worried about this sort of thing. It's fair to say, however, that spies won't be very eager to find out what Joe and Joanne Average do after they get home from work.

The fact that the cybercriminals won't bother eavesdropping on you, however, doesn't necessarily mean that they are not interested in you at all. They'll probably be happy to learn, for example, what the password for your online banking platform is, and believe it or not, your vulnerable IP camera can help them find it. Don't forget that the camera is connected to the same local network as the rest of your devices, and it can, under some circumstances, serve as a gateway for the hackers. Their ability to move around and infect your computers, phones, and tablets is dependent on a number of factors, but it's fair to say that if they do manage to get in (and some of the vulnerabilities Bitdefender found to suggest that this is not impossible), they will find a way of causing more damage.

Last but not least, hackers can use your IP camera to wreak havoc for other people. Those of you interested in information security news probably remember the infamous Mirai botnet which launched an unprecedented Distributed Denial of Service (DDoS) attack in 2016 and caused a massive internet outage in parts of the US. A large portion of the devices that comprised the botnet were IP cameras, and their owners had no idea that they were inadvertently participating in one of the world's biggest cyberattacks. What can you do to try and avoid such a situation in the future?

Mitigating the security risks of IP cameras

Not all IP cameras come with a wide array of vulnerabilities, but it's fair to say that the four models tested by Bitdefender are far from the only ones which means that if you're considering installing such a device, you could do worse than research your options and pick carefully. Choosing the right camera is only half the story, though.

In their race to put as many devices as possible on the internet, vendors tend to overlook the security of their products, but it must be said that sometimes, they are not the only ones to blame. Often, users are in too much of a hurry to properly configure their cameras, and they hide them behind strong passwords. Far too many cameras are exposed to the internet and are protected by their default credentials. As we established yesterday, hackers can find these cameras in no time, and when they do, they are bound to try to brute-force their way in using out-of-the-box usernames and passwords.

It's ironic that something supposedly designed with security in mind offers such poor protection from (albeit online) intruders. Perhaps more worryingly, very few vendors have put together reliable update mechanisms that can patch vulnerabilities as soon as they are discovered. Unfortunately, this means that, other than being careful with the devices you put on your network and avoiding some of the most basic configuration mistakes, there's not much you can do to keep the hackers away.

April 18, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 5 + 7 ?