使用Google雲端硬盤備份和同步我的密碼有多安全?

Google Drive

“我正在使用的在線討論區發生了數據洩露事件。黑客拿走了我的密碼,因為我在其餘的在線賬戶中使用了密碼,他們闖入了所有這些密碼並使用了大量的個人數據。

當你聽到這樣的故事時,很容易回答“嗯,這是你的錯,因為你重複使用了你的密碼。”這將是一個非常愚蠢的說法。

人們的大腦無法記住數十個冗長,複雜且獨特的密碼。那麼,為什麼不給他們一些替代品呢?

在筆記本中記下用戶名和密碼可能聽起來是最明顯的選擇,事實上,很多人都喜歡這種低技術方法。除了明顯的風險之外,這種方法對許多人來說並不是非常實用,因為他們需要同時使用家用計算機和辦公室計算機。那麼為什麼不使用Google雲端硬盤等雲端存儲提供商呢?這當然是可能的,但讓我們看看這個想法是否和聽起來一樣好。

自己動手做的選擇

您希望您的登錄憑據組織良好,如果您要使用自己的Google帳戶,則可以將數據放入Google的表單功能中。對於那些沒有使用它的人,Sheets基本上是瀏覽器中的Microsoft Excel。我們的想法是,您可以創建保存在Google雲端硬盤帳戶中的電子表格,並在您輸入Google用戶名和密碼後立即訪問。這一切聽起來都很方便,但是呢?

從可用性的角度來看,有一些潛在的麻煩。如果密碼要保持同步(這是將它們放入雲中的重點),則需要在Google表格中對其進行編輯。 Google表格只能在瀏覽器中使用,這本身可能會有點麻煩。

另一個問題是,Google表格電子表格已連接到您的Google帳戶。相當多的公司使用Google的服務進行通信,項目管理和其他目的,這意味著你們中的一些人可能擁有兩個Google帳戶 - 一個工作帳戶和一個個人帳戶。要訪問您的密碼,您需要登錄到正確的密碼。從理論上講,你可以通過一次打開兩個瀏覽器或以隱身模式查看密碼來解決這個問題,但這涉及到很多窗口雜耍。此外,請確保您知道用於復制和粘貼的鍵盤快捷鍵,因為您將大量使用它們。總的來說,這種密碼存儲方法幾乎不是生產力助推器。

由於我們談論密碼存儲,我們不能忽視安全方面。事實是,如果您遵循最佳安全措施,例如使用強密碼並啟用雙因素身份驗證 ,則網絡犯罪分子不會闖入您的Google帳戶並竊取您的敏感數據。但是還有其他問題。沒有辦法在Google表格中混淆密碼,這意味著愛管閒事的人可能會出現威脅。如果您忘記退出Google帳戶並讓您的電腦無人看管,則可能會洩露您的密碼。

總的來說,在Google表格的幫助下存儲您的密碼確實存在問題,您應該考慮一下您是否準備好與他們一起生活. 特別是考慮到還有其他選擇的事實。

使用Google雲端硬盤存儲Cyclonis Password Manager加密保管庫

現在每個人和他們的狗都擁有一個Google帳戶,我們知道很多人都會樂意使用搜索引擎的雲端存儲選項來保存敏感數據。註冊帳戶後, Cyclonis Password Manager將自動創建您的個人保險庫,它會詢問您要將其存儲在何處。當您選擇Google雲端硬盤選項時,您顯然需要輸入您的Google帳戶登錄憑據,但您只需要執行一次。

保管庫保存在Google雲端硬盤中後,Cyclonis Password Manager會自動訪問它並同步其中的數據。您無需打開瀏覽器窗口,也無需登錄特定的Google帳戶,如果您擁有Cyclonis Password Manager瀏覽器擴展程序,則甚至無需複制和粘貼您的用戶名和密碼。雖然您可以使用它們,但密碼不會以簡單的形式出現,這意味著侵入性的肩膀衝浪者將會失去運氣,並且因為數據在休息和運輸途中都被加密,即使騙子以某種方式設法得到他們的手如果您的保管庫沒有您的主密碼,他們將無法看到您的登錄憑據。

May 20, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
2 + 9是什麼?

How Safe Is It to Backup and Sync My Passwords with Google Drive?

Google Drive

'There was a data breach at an online discussion board I was using. The hackers took my password, and because I was using it for the rest of my online accounts, they broke into all of them and made off with a ton of personal data.'

When you hear a story like this, it's easy to respond with "Well, it's your fault because you reused your password." This would be a very stupid thing to say.

People's brains just aren't capable of remembering dozens of long, complex, and unique passwords. So, instead of shaming the victim for being a regular human being, why not give them some alternatives?

Writing down the usernames and passwords in a notebook might sound like the most obvious option, and indeed, a lot of people like this low-tech approach. Quite apart from the obvious risks, this method isn't terribly practical for many because they need to use both their home computers and the ones in the office. Why not use a cloud storage provider like Google Drive, then? It's certainly possible, but let's see if the idea is as good as it sounds.

The do-it-yourself option

You want your login credentials to be well organized, and if you're going to use your Google account, it makes sense to put the data in Google's Sheets feature. For those of you who haven't used it, Sheets is basically a Microsoft Excel in the browser. The idea is that you can create spreadsheets that are saved in your Google Drive account and are accessible as soon as you enter your Google username and password. This all sounds rather convenient, but is it?

There are a few potential niggles from a usability standpoint. If the passwords are to remain synchronized (which is the whole point of having them in the cloud), you need to edit them in Google Sheets. And Google Sheets works only in the browser which, in itself could be a bit of a nuisance.

The other problem is, a Google Sheets spreadsheet is connected to your Google account. Quite a few companies use Google's services for communication, project management, and other purposes which means that some of you probably have two Google accounts – a work account and a personal one. To access your passwords, you need to be logged in to the right one. Theoretically, you can get around this by opening two browsers at once or viewing the passwords in Incognito mode, but that involves quite a lot of window juggling. Also, make sure you know the keyboard shortcuts for copying and pasting because you'll be using them a lot. Overall, this password storage method is hardly a productivity booster.

And since we're talking about password storage, we can't ignore the security aspect. The truth is, if you follow the best security practices like using a strong password and having two-factor authentication turned on, cybercriminals are unlikely to break into your Google account and steal your sensitive data. There are other problems, though. There's no way to obfuscate the passwords in Google Sheets, which means that nosy people looking over your shoulder could present a threat. And if you forget to log out of your Google account and leave your PC unattended, you could expose your passwords.

Overall, storing your passwords with the help of Google Sheets does present its problems, and you should think about whether you're prepared to live with them. Especially considering the fact that there are other options.

Using Google Drive to store your Cyclonis Password Manager encrypted vault

Everybody and their dog own a Google account nowadays, and we knew that a lot of people would be happy to use the search engine's cloud storage option to save their sensitive data. Upon registering an account, Cyclonis Password Manager will automatically create your personal vault, and it will ask you where you'd like to store it. When you choose the Google Drive option, you will obviously need to enter your Google account login credentials, but you'll only need to do it once.

Once the vault is saved in Google Drive, Cyclonis Password Manager will automatically access it and sync the data inside it. You don't need to have a browser window open, you don't need to be logged in to a specific Google account, and if you've got the Cyclonis Password Manager browser extension, you don't even need to copy and paste your usernames and passwords. While you can use them, the passwords don't appear in plain form which means that intrusive shoulder surfers will be out of luck, and because the data is encrypted both at rest and in transit, even if crooks somehow manage to get their hands on your vault, they won't be able to see your login credentials without your master password.

June 18, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 10 + 10 ?