黑客利用Telkom网络建立一个伪造的花旗银行网站以提取登录数据

Citibank Phishing Campaign

上周,南非IT新闻媒体MyBroadband 被通知存在一个受到感染的网站,该网站从花旗银行客户那里窃取了登录凭据。该网站的域名为naphotography [.] co [.] za,由摄影师所有,该摄影师显然使用了弱密码作为其托管帐户。

在正确猜测了登录凭据之后,黑客上传了一个钓鱼页面,该页面看起来与花旗银行的合法登录表单相同,尽管该报告未说明受害者是如何诱使他们放弃用户名和密码的,但我们可以推测骗子最有可能使用了令人信服的电子邮件。不幸的是,没有信息说明有多少人因该骗局而下落,或者造成了何种损害(如果有)。从好的方面来说,现在已经报道了攻击事件,而且由于有了Google的“安全浏览”黑名单服务,大多数流行的浏览器甚至都不允许您访问该漏洞的网站。

不幸的摄影师现在面临着艰巨的任务,即删除恶意页面,将其域从黑名单中删除以及重新获得一些SEO职位,这些职位在此类事件之后不可避免地会丢失。希望所有这些困难将使他们下次下次选择密码时要更加小心。

Telkom的反应慢得令人失望

显然,上述网站的所有者应承担大部分责任,以使自己容易受到媒体报道的暴力攻击 。话虽如此,当发现网络钓鱼活动时,尤其是当涉及受感染的网站时,也需要采取其他行动。而这次,他们只是行动不够快。

发现恶意登录页面后,研究人员立即检查了该漏洞网站的whois数据,并发现该数据托管在Telkom拥有的服务器上。 Telkom是非洲最大的电信提供商之一。它成立于28年前,目前在近40个非洲国家/地区开展业务。

换句话说,这不是一个小型的托管服务提供商,它被几个有抱负的青少年赶出了车库。这是一家大型企业,应该拥有适当的知识和资源来对滥用投诉做出适当的反应,尤其是在人们的隐私和安全受到威胁时。

人们确实尝试与Telkom保持联系,并让托管服务提供商将网络钓鱼页面记下,但是该行另一端的员工却被描述为“无济于事”。 10月3日,一个主要成立以发现并报告高级收费诈骗的组织名为Artists Against 419,发布了有关该攻击的推文 ,该恶意登录表格最终被删除,但是对于Telkom缺乏的紧迫性,人们感到失望轻描淡写。

进一步的调查显示,摄影师的作品集与其他数百个网站一起托管在共享服务器上。当第一份报告泛滥成灾时,没人知道黑客是如何设法进入的,或者他们拥有什么样的访问权限. 最后,对其他Telkom客户和用户的损害是有限的,但可能会更加严重,尤其是考虑到该公司反应缓慢。

希望南非电信提供商也能吸取教训。

October 9, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
3 + 5是什么?

Hackers Employ the Telkom Network to Set up a Fake Citibank Website to Extract Login Data

Citibank Phishing Campaign

Last week, South African IT news outlet MyBroadband was alerted of a compromised website that was stealing login credentials from Citibank customers. The website's domain is naphotography[.]co[.]za, and it's owned by a photographer who apparently used a weak password for their hosting account.

After correctly guessing the login credentials, the hackers uploaded a phishing page that looked identical to Citibank's legitimate login form, and although the report doesn't say how victims were lured into giving away their usernames and passwords, we can presume that the crooks most likely used convincing-looking emails. Unfortunately, there's no information on how many people fell for the scam or what sort of damage (if any) has been done. On the bright side, the attack has now been reported, and thanks to Google's Safe Browsing blacklist service, most popular browsers won't even let you visit the breached website.

The unfortunate photographer is now facing the arduous task of removing the malicious page, de-listing their domain from the blacklists, and regaining some SEO positions which are inevitably lost in the aftermath of such an incident. Hopefully, all this hardship will teach them to be a bit more careful when picking their passwords next time.

Telkom with disappointingly slow reactions

Obviously, the aforementioned website's owner should take most of the blame for leaving themselves vulnerable to what has been reported in the media as a brute-force attack. That being said, when a phishing campaign is discovered, and especially when a compromised website is involved, there are other parties that also need to act. And this time, they simply didn't act quickly enough.

Immediately after discovering the malicious login page, researchers checked out the whois data for the breached website, and they found out that it was hosted on a server owned by Telkom. Telkom is one of Africa's biggest telecommunication providers. It was founded 28 years ago, and it's now operating in close to 40 African countries.

In other words, this is not a small hosting provider that is run out of a garage by a couple of aspirational teenagers. It's a large enterprise that should have the knowledge and resources to react appropriately to abuse complaints, especially when people's privacy and security are at stake.

People did try to get in touch with Telkom and have the hosting provider take the phishing page down, but the employees on the other end of the line were described as "not helpful". On October 3, an organization principally set up to find and report advanced fee scams called Artists Against 419 tweeted about the attack, and the malicious login form was finally brought down, but to say that people are disappointed with the lack of urgency demonstrated by Telkom would be an understatement.

Further investigation revealed that the photographer's portfolio was hosted on a shared server alongside hundreds of other websites. When the first reports came flooding in, nobody knew how the hackers had managed to get in or what sort of access they had. In the end, the damage for other Telkom customers and users was limited, but it could have been much worse, especially in light of the company's slow reactions.

Here's hoping that the South African telecommunication provider will also learn its lessons.

October 9, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 3 + 9 ?