谷歌的安全检查和来自它的电子邮件警报

Google Security Checkup

人们不准备面对他们每天所呈现的所有在线风险。不相信我们?这是一个论点。

考虑应该估计密码或帐户安全性的工具。通常,当他们的算法认为数据是安全的( 并非总是如此 )时,这些工具会显示绿色标记,竖起大拇指,微笑的表情符号或动画,表明用户已做得很好。它不应该像这样工作。

人们基本上接受了拍拍,因为他们已经做了足够的工作来保护他们的在线数据。这就像在出门时锁门一样“做得好”。事实是,用户在网上时并没有积极考虑安全性,他们需要时不时地提醒他们。这就是Google的安全检查存在的原因。

Google的安全检查如何运作?

相当多的大型服务提供商都有类似的功能,但在2017年10月,谷歌改造了自己,并自豪地宣布它现在可以为用户提供“个性化推荐”。鉴于安全检查功能是完全自动化的,“个性化”这个词似乎确实有点不合适,但是谷歌的检查比竞争对手的工具更彻底的检查更为彻底。

它会通过您在Google帐户中使用的设备。它将检查您是否启用了两步验证,它将看到您有多少恢复选项(电话号码,备用电子邮件等)最后但并非最不重要的是,它将通过可访问的应用程序列表您的Google帐户及其中的信息。

您可以随时通过https://myaccount.google.com访问Google的安全检查,如果您看到不喜欢的内容,该功能可让您快速更改它。系统还会定期发送电子邮件警报,告诉您是否有问题。谷歌为这些警报的设计方式收到了不少热情。

Google的网络视频电子邮件提醒

在上面你看到一个由主板记者Lorenzo Franceschi-Bicchierai分享的警报。那些对网络安全有浓厚兴趣的人可能会看到这个问题。它来自Google,它完全合法,但它具有经典网络钓鱼邮件的所有特征。

存在安全问题,但措辞极其模糊。解决问题只需要花费一些时间,当然还有一个按钮可以将人们直接引导到登录页面. 这不是谷歌最好的时刻,必须说。

多年来,安全专家和博客一直在打断他们的手指,试图说服用户不要信任带有链接和按钮的电子邮件,突然之间,谷歌就会在人们的收件箱中发出这样的警报。所有网络钓鱼者现在需要做的是逐字复制电子邮件并将用户重定向到虚假登录页面。

总的来说,这是一步一步向前两步的时刻之一,我们都可以从中学到一些东西。谷歌可以了解到它必须更加谨慎地设计电子邮件警报,用户可以了解到点击电子邮件中的按钮和链接是一个坏主意。

May 20, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
5 + 5是什么?

Google's Security Checkup and the Email Alerts Coming from It

Google Security Checkup

People just aren't prepared to face all the online risks they're presented with every day. Don't believe us? Here's an argument.

Think about the tools that are supposed to estimate the security of a password or an account. Usually, when their algorithms think that the data is secure (which is not always the case), these tools display green ticks, thumbs up, smiling emojis, or animations indicating that the user has done a good job. It shouldn't work like this.

People basically receive a pat on the back because they've done enough to secure their data online. It's like getting a "well done" for locking the door on your way out. The truth is, users don't actively think about security when they're online, and they need to be reminded of it every now and again. That's why Google's Security Checkup exists.

How does Google's Security Checkup work?

Quite a few of the big service providers have similar features, but in October 2017, Google revamped their own and proudly announced that it can now give users "personalized recommendations." Given that the Security Checkup feature is completely automated, the word "personalized" does seem a bit out of place, but there's no getting away from the fact that Google's checks are more thorough than the ones performed by their competitors' tools.

It will go through the devices you use with your Google account. It will check whether you've enabled 2-step verification, and it will see how many recovery options you have (phone number, alternative email, etc.) Last but not least, it will go through the list of applications that have access to your Google account and the information in it.

You can access Google's Security Checkup at any time at https://myaccount.google.com, and if you see something you don't like, the feature gives you a quick way of changing it. The system also periodically sends email alerts telling you if there's something wrong. Google received quite a lot of heat for the way these alerts were designed.

Google's phishy-looking email alerts

Above you see one such alert as shared by Lorenzo Franceschi-Bicchierai, a reporter for Motherboard. Those with a deeper interest in cybersecurity can probably see the problem. It's coming from Google, and it's completely legitimate, but it has all the characteristics of a classic phishing message.

There's a security problem, but the wording is extremely vague. Fixing the issue will take no more than a few moments, and there is, of course, a button leading people directly to the login page. This wasn't Google's finest hour, it must be said.

For years, security experts and bloggers have been typing their fingers off, trying to persuade users not to trust emails with links and buttons, and suddenly, none other than Google drops alerts like this in people's inboxes. All the phishers need to do now is copy the email word-for-word and redirect users to the fake login page.

Overall, it was one of those one-step-forward-two-steps-back moments, and we can all learn something from it. Google can learn that it must be more careful with the design of its email alerts, and users can learn that clicking buttons and links in emails is a bad idea.

By Duran
June 22, 2018
June 22, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 7 + 5 ?