备份101:本地备份和云备份

Local & Cloud Backups

这是一个你可能从未问过自己的问题:'我相信我的电脑多少钱?'很有可能,答案是'很多'。想一想 - 家庭照片,个人项目,工作文档,它们都在你的电脑的硬盘上。但这块金属和塑料是否值得信赖?

事实是,硬件失败,软件出现了错误。您的PC很可能也连接到Internet,这会自动使其容易受到网络攻击。这很难过,但事实是,在这个时代,你不断失去所有宝贵文件。这就是安全专家多年来一直告诉您应该开始备份数据的原因。您最终决定注意这些建议,但在创建文件副本并将其放在硬件上之前,您需要了解有关该过程的更多信息。在一些文章中,我们将尝试为您提供所需的信息。

从表面上看,备份数据是一个相对简单的过程。但是,有几个因素在起作用,在开始之前,您需要考虑它们。第一个是备份的位置。

本地备份

使用本地备份,数据副本驻留在存储设备中,您可以连接并断开与计算机的连接。选项有以下几种:

  • 外置硬盘/ SSD外部HDD(或硬盘驱动器)与PC内部的HDD几乎相同。它仍然有一个高速旋转的磁盘,它仍然有一个非常精致的读卡器。不同之处在于您可以轻松地将其与PC断开连接并安全存放。

    SSD(或固态硬盘)是更现代和更强大的等价物。与HDD不同,它没有任何移动部件,而且在读取和写入数据时速度更快。缺点是,固态硬盘仍然比硬盘驱动器贵得多,但必须要说的是,在过去的几年中,价格已经下降,并且可能会继续这样做。

  • 拇指驱动器拇指驱动器本质上是SSD。两者之间的明显差异是拇指驱动器更便宜,容量更小,更容易丢失。总而言之,如果您需要备份大量信息,最好寻找另一种存储数据的方式。
  • CD或DVD这是老派的做法。几年前,CD和DVD是少数几种移动方式之一,当时被认为是大量数据。然而,即便如此,光存储设备并不是特别可靠,并且已知的事实是它们的寿命可能非常短,特别是如果你损坏它们(这是一件非常容易的事情)。总而言之,如果您完全没有其他选择,那么备份CD和DVD上的数据总比完全备份更好,但是您永远无法确定在需要时可以访问您的文件。
  • 网络附加存储(NAS)这是迄今为止最强大的本地备份解决方案,与其他选项不同,它没有物理连接到您的计算机。相反,顾名思义,它连接到您的家庭网络,这意味着可以自动定期备份。 NAS设备有各种形状和大小,有些还提供其他功能,例如通过Internet访问数据的功能。

    然而,所有这些便利都需要付出代价。 NAS设备比外部硬盘昂贵得多,而且成本差异足以阻止大多数人离开. 除此之外,利用NAS设备对家庭和企业网络进行的一些攻击也引发了一些安全问题。

总的来说,外部硬盘驱动器应该适用于大多数用户,如果您需要备份的数据量不是那么大,那么SSD是一项合理的投资。但是,公平地说,所有内部部署解决方案都存在风险。我们谈论的是可能存放在橱柜或货架上的消费者设备。无论你选择哪一个,它都容易受到火灾,洪水,小偷和喜欢从高处扔东西的孩子的攻击。但是,如果备份存储在云中,则可以消除这些风险。

云备份

基于云的备份的概念是一个相对较新的概念,但人们已经习惯了这个想法。

从便利的角度来看,优势是无可争辩的。您无需担心购买正确的硬件设备,使用正确的工具备份数据,然后将其存储在您的孩子无法找到的地方。使用云解决方案可以在您需要时获得更多空间,而其他人则会担心存储设备的运行状况。备份文件的过程完全自动化,并且可以从世界上任何地方访问备份本身。

当然,我们谈论的是存储在互联网上的信息,聪明人曾经说过,如果信息存储在互联网上,迟早会被窃取。然而,云备份提供商已经意识到了这一点,并且好的备份提供商在通过网络发送数据之前对其进行加密。这确保了即使骗子抓住它,他们也无法看到任何东西。值得信赖的云备份提供商知道他们负责处理非常有价值的东西,并且他们采取了许多其他安全预防措施来确保您的文件不会发生任何不良后果。

当然,这都是一项服务,它确实需要花钱。但是,当您考虑计算机上有多少有价值的数据时,您会发现它非常值得,如果有的话,大多数提供商采用的订阅模式意味着费用会随着时间的推移而分散,这可能被认为是优点。

最终,您将决定您的备份是否应保留在现场,或者是否应将它们放入云中。但是,您必须拥有它们,并且必须保持最新状态。有关如何在下一篇文章中执行此操作的更多信息。

May 20, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
9 + 10是什么?

Backup 101: Local Backups and Cloud Backups

Local & Cloud Backups

Here's a question you've probably never asked yourself: 'How much do I trust my computer?' In all likelihood, the answer is 'A lot.' Think about it – family photos, personal projects, work documents, it's all on the hard drive of your PC. But does this lump of metal and plastic deserve that much trust?

The truth is, hardware fails, and software develops bugs. Your PC is most likely connected to the Internet as well, which automatically makes it vulnerable to cyberattacks. It's sad, but the fact is that in this day and age, you're constantly seconds away from losing all your precious files. That's why security experts have been telling you for years that you should start backing up your data. You've finally decided to heed the advice, but before you create copies of your files and put them on a piece of hardware, you want to know more about the procedure. In the span of a few articles, we'll try to give you the information you need.

On the face of it, backing up data is a relatively simple process. There are several factors at play, however, and before you start, you need to consider them. The first one is the location of your backup.

Local backup

With a local backup, the copy of your data resides in a storage device which you can connect and disconnect to your computer. The options are several:

  • An external HDD/SSD

    An external HDD (or Hard Disk Drive) is pretty much the same as the HDD inside your PC. It still has a magnetic disk that rotates at high speed, and it still has a reader that is incredibly delicate. The difference is that you can easily disconnect it from your PC and stow it safely.

    An SSD (or Solid-State Drive) is the more modern and robust equivalent. Unlike an HDD, it doesn't have any moving parts, and it's much quicker when it comes to reading and writing data. The downside is, SSDs are still significantly more expensive than HDDs, though it must be said that over the last few years, the price has gone down, and it will probably continue to do so.

  • Thumb drives

    A thumb drive is, essentially, an SSD. The obvious differences between the two are that thumb drives are cheaper, have less capacity, and are much easier to lose. All in all, if you have a lot of information to back up, it's best to look for another way of storing data.

  • CDs or DVDs

    It's the old-school approach. Some years ago, CDs and DVDs were one of the few ways of moving what back then was considered large volumes of data around. Even then, however, optical storage devices weren't especially reliable, and it's a known fact that their lifespan could be very short, especially if you damage them (which is an incredibly easy thing to do). All in all, if you have absolutely no other choice, backing up data on CDs and DVDs is better than not backing it up at all, but you can never be sure that your files will be accessible when you need them.

  • Network Attached Storage (NAS)

    This is by far the most powerful local backup solution, and unlike the rest of the options, it's not physically connected to your computer. Instead, as its name suggests, it's attached to your home network, which means that regular backups can be automated. NAS devices come in a variety of shapes and sizes, and some offer additional features like the ability to access the data over the Internet.

    All this convenience comes at a cost, however. NAS devices are much more expensive than external hard drives, and the cost difference is big enough to deter most people away. In addition to this, a few attacks on home and corporate networks leveraging NAS devices have raised a few security concerns.

On balance, an external HDD should work for most users, and if the volume of data you need to back up is not that huge, an SSD is a sound investment. It's fair to say, however, that there are risks with all the on-premises solutions. We're talking about consumer devices which will likely be stored in a cupboard, or on a shelf. No matter which one you choose, it'll be vulnerable to fires, floods, thieves, and children who love throwing things from a great height. If the backups are stored in the cloud, however, these risks are eliminated.

Cloud Backups

The concept of cloud-based backups is a relatively new one, but people are getting used to the idea.

From a convenience standpoint, the advantages are indisputable. You won't need to worry about buying the right hardware device, using the right tools for backing up the data, and then storing it where your children won't be able to find it. Getting more space when you need it is much easier with the cloud solutions, and other people will worry about the health of the storage devices. The process of backing up files is completely automated, and the backups themselves can be accessible from anywhere in the world.

Of course, we're talking about information being stored on the Internet, and wise people once said that if information is stored on the Internet, sooner or later, it will be stolen. Cloud backup providers are aware of this, however, and the good ones encrypt your data before they send it over the wire. This ensures that even if the crooks get their hands on it, they won't be able to see a thing. Trustworthy cloud backup providers know that they're responsible for handling something extremely valuable, and they take a number of other security precautions to ensure that nothing bad will ever happen to your files.

Of course, this is all a service, and it does cost money. When you consider how much valuable data you have on your computer, however, you'll see that it's well worth it, and if anything, the subscription model adopted by most providers means that the expenses are spread out over time which could be considered an advantage.

Ultimately, you will be the one deciding whether your backups should stay on premises, or whether they should be put in the cloud. You must have them, however, and you must keep them current. More on how to do this in our next article.

By Duran
July 6, 2018
July 6, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 6 + 4 ?