云备份与本地备份:哪个是更好的选择?

在过去的几十年中,计算机已经完全超越了它们作为复杂科学研究的独家工具的初始功能,并且长期以来已经超越了古怪怪异的状态,进入了日常必需品的领域。今天,我们使用计算机和智能设备完成所有工作 - 从找工作到工作,到与朋友闲逛,创造珍贵的回忆,存储所记忆并在我们希望重新开始生活的时候打电话给他们。这意味着计算机和扩展 - 其他智能设备 - 现在占据了我们生活的中心点,它们提供的服务是不可或缺的。但是,机器并非绝对可靠。由于另一个问题,硬盘驱动器可能会因电击而损坏或停止工作,手机可能会意外掉入水中或以其他方式损坏,USB棒可能会以各种创造性的方式被压碎,以及便携式硬盘......好吧,我们只是说你的设备可能会发生很多不好的事情 - 而这只是可能遭遇真实生活的灾难。还有许多其他因素可能会损害您的智能技术 - 病毒,蠕虫,勒索软件以及各种恶意攻击只是可能剥夺您设备功能的一部分。这是一个严重的问题,因为,正如我们已经确定的那样,失去使用这种焦点设备,并且通过扩展 - 它上面的数据 - 最多只是背痛,可能意味着失去你的生计或更坏的生活。

那么这个难题的解决方案是什么?嗯,通常可以更换或修理损坏的设备 - 即使手机被砸碎,也可以购买新的 - 而且,嘿,你甚至可以购买那些你喜欢的酷炫新功能的新型号。烤硬盘也可以在没有太多麻烦的情况下进行更换。但是,具有内存的设备上的数据很少能够恢复。这意味着,如果您想确保您的重要数据是安全的并且您可以访问它,那么您最好投资数据备份解决方案。随着时间的推移,这种解决方案变得越来越普遍和各种各样。在选择备份重要文件( 云备份存储本地备份存储)时,您可以采取两种主要途径,我们将在下面讨论这两种方法的优缺点。

云储存

云存储是一个热门的新事物,现在似乎每个其他IT公司都将其作为一种服务提供 - 而且有充分的理由。这是一种非常好的存储数据的方法 - 随着时间的推移,它变得更好,更实惠。

云存储的优点

  1. 无障碍 。现在,访问存储服务比以往任何时候都更容易 - 公司已经竭尽全力确保客户在这种服务方面获得最大的舒适度。有大量付费云存储提供商绝对精彩,甚至一些免费的非常好。大多数都有桌面应用程序,以及Android和IOS支持,允许用户进行即时备份,甚至是自动备份,并且只要他们的Internet连接足够,就可以访问所述备份。
  2. 安全 。云存储通常受到有时称为“军用级加密”算法的保护,通常可以保证您的数据安全可靠。此外,由于设备断开而导致数据丢失的可能性微乎其微。
  3. 成本. 有一些不错的云存储服务是免费的,但大多数公司通常会收取每月或每年负担得起的服务费用。

云存储的缺点

  1. 数据可访问性。虽然数据泄露确实很少见,但它们可能会发生,这意味着您的数据可能会落入黑客和其他邪恶个体的手中。此外,在某些情况下,提供这些服务的公司实际上可以访问您在其平台上存储的数据。这通常不是问题,但如果您希望存储的数据是高度敏感或机密的,那么很可能。
  2. 依赖互联网 。您需要拥有强大的互联网连接才能使用云存储。如果由于某种原因您不想或不想保留档案而不考虑任何此类外部因素,云存储可能不适合您。
  3. 成本 。虽然使用云存储服务的月费可能不会那么高,但您确实需要付费 - 并且成本会随着时间的推移而累积。

本地存储

本地存储通常采用专用设备或设备网络的形式,其主要或唯一目的是保留您的数据。它可以像USB记忆棒一样简单,也可以像一系列设备一样复杂,可以与包含您希望存储的数据的设备自动同步。几乎在所有情况下,它都具有以下共同特征。

本地存储的优点

  1. 安全 。您存储它的设备,以及扩展名 - 您的数据,就像您可以安装的那样安全。您可以将重要的业务文档保存在外部硬盘中的保险箱中,或者将您喜爱的照片保存在钥匙串上的拇指驱动器中。
  2. 无障碍 。只要您可以访问所选数据存储单元的物理位置,您就可以立即无限制地访问您的重要数据 - 如果相关文件特别大,这一点至关重要。需要考虑的另一点是,本地备份不受电源短缺和不稳定的互联网连接等因素的影响。如果您不能总是拥有良好的互联网连接或电源插座,那么这一点尤其重要 - 只需将外置硬盘驱动器插入笔记本电脑并继续在机场工作,乘坐公共汽车即可到达另一个城镇。

本地存储的缺点

  1. 用户参与。您确保使所有备份副本保持最新。所有这些对于个人用户来说都是另一项麻烦的苦差事,而规模足够大的公司可能需要将个人或整个专家团队奉献给这项任务。
  2. 易错性。外部设备可能会失败,没有警告。如果您希望数据绝对安全,则可能需要将其存档在多个设备上。这一点,以及前一点,与下一个很好地联系在一起。
  3. 成本 。本地存储通常需要预先投资,其形式是支付将要存储数据的设备。对于那些可以使用USB或外置硬盘驱动器的私人用户而言,这通常不是问题,但是当需要存储大量数据时,这些设备的价格可能相当昂贵 - 而这仅仅是成本的开始。这种设备很可能需要技术技能来维持 - 这进一步降低了成本.
  4. 无障碍 。您没有携带拇指驱动器参加会议?好吧,没有什么可以做的。并不是说您可以通过Android手机或平板电脑使用普通插头访问外部硬盘 - 您需要首先跳过几个环节。本地存储的最大缺点应该是显而易见的 - 如果您没有物理访问设备,则无法访问其中包含的信息 - 这可能很不方便。

做出选择

最终,是否使用本地存储或云存储的决定取决于您的个人需求。对于大多数个人用户来说,云存储似乎是一种最佳解决方案,因为它相对便宜,可靠,易于设置且不需要维护。小型企业和个人用户可以充分利用所有这些因素。

另一方面,较大的公司可能希望保持在一个封闭的本地系统上。但是,他们没有理由不能利用云存储以及他们可能采用的本地存储解决方案。

May 20, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
6 + 4是什么?

Cloud Backup vs. Local Backup: Which is The Better Option?

Over the last couple of decades, computers have completely outgrown their initial function as an exclusive tool for complex scientific research, and have long moved past the status of eccentric oddity to enter the realm of everyday necessity. Today, we use computers and smart devices for everything – from finding jobs to working said jobs, to hanging out with friends and creating precious memories, to storing said memories and calling them when we wish to re-live the moment. This means that computers, and by extensions – other smart devices – now occupy a central point in our lives, the services they provide are indispensable. However, machines are not infallible. Hard drives can get damaged by electric shock or stop working due to another issue, phones can be accidentally dropped in water or otherwise destroyed, USB sticks can be crushed in all manner of inventive ways, and portable hard drives… Well, let's just say that a lot of bad things can happen to your devices – and that's just real life disasters that may befall them. There is a multitude of other things that can harm your smart technology – viruses, worms, ransomware, and all sorts of malicious attacks are just a few of the things that can deprive you of the function of your devices. Which is a serious issue, because, as we have already established, the loss of the use of such a focal device, and by extension – the data that was on it – is a pain in the back at best and can mean the loss of your livelihood or more at worst.

So what is the solution to this conundrum? Well, a damaged device can usually be replaced or repaired – even if a phone is smashed up, a new one can be bought – and, hey, you may even buy that newer model with the cool new features that you liked so much. A roasted hard drive can be replaced without too much of a hassle, too. However, the data on a device that's had is memory cooked can rarely be restored. This means that if you want to be sure that your important data is safe and you will have access to it, you'd do well to invest in a data backup solution. As time passes, such solutions are becoming more and more common and various. There are two main routes that you can take when choosing to make a backup of your important files – Cloud Backup Storage and Local Backup Storage - and we'll discuss the pros and cons of both methods below.

Cloud Storage

Cloud storage is the hot new thing, and it seems like nowadays every other IT company is offering it as a service – and with good reason. It is a really good method of storing data – and it's getting even better and more affordable as time passes.

The Pros of Cloud Storage

  1. Accessibility. Accessing a storage service is now easier than ever – companies have gone out of their way to ensure the utmost comfort for their customers when it comes to that sort of service. There are loads of paid cloud storage providers that are absolutely brilliant, and even some free ones that are quite decent. Most have desktop apps, as well as Android and IOS support which allow for the user to make instant backups, even automatic such, and always have access to said backups, provided that their Internet connection is adequate.
  2. Security. Cloud storages are usually protected with what is sometimes called 'military-grade encryption' algorithms and are usually guaranteed to keep your data safe and secure. Additionally, the possibility of your data being lost due to a device breaking is negligible.
  3. Cost. There are some decent cloud storage services that are free, but most companies usually charge an affordable monthly or annual fee for providing such services.

The Cons of Cloud Storage

  1. Data accessibility. While data breaches are admittedly rare, they can happen, which means that there is a chance that your data may fall in the hands of hackers and other nefarious individuals. Additionally, in some instances, the companies that provide these services may actually have access to the data you are storing on their platform. This is usually not a problem, but if the data you wish to store is highly sensitive or confidential, it may well be.
  2. Reliance on the Internet. You need to have a strong internet connection to make use of cloud storage. If for some reason you don't or want to keep archives irrespective of any such external factors, cloud storage may not be for you.
  3. Cost. While the monthly fee for using cloud storage services may not be that high, you do need to pay it – and the costs can accumulate over time.

Local Storage

Local storage usually takes the form of a dedicated device or network of devices whose main or sole purpose is to retain your data. It can be as simple as a USB stick or as complex as a series of devices that auto-syncs with the one containing the data that you wish to store. In almost all cases, it shares the following common traits.

Pros of Local Storage

  1. Security. The device on which you store it, and by extension – your data, is as safe as you can make it. You can keep your important business documents in an external hard drive in a safe, or your favorite photos in a thumb drive on your keychain.
  2. Accessibility. As long as you have access to the physical location of the data storage unit of your choice, you will have immediate unlimited access to your important data – which is crucial, if the files in question are especially sizable. Another point to consider is the fact that local backups are unaffected by such factors as power shortages and an unstable internet connection. This is especially relevant if you can’t rely on always having a good internet connection or an electrical outlet – just whip out that external hard drive, plug it into your laptop and continue your work at the airport, on the bus to another town.

Cons of Local Storage

  1. User Involvement. You make sure to keep all backup copies up to date. All of this is yet another bothersome chore for the individual user, while companies of sufficient size may well need to dedicate individuals, or indeed – entire teams of specialists – to this task.
  2. Fallibility. External devices can fail, without warning. If you want your data to absolutely secure, you may need to archive it on more than one device. This, as well as the previous point, ties nicely into the next one.
  3. Cost. Local storage usually requires an up-front investment, in the form of paying for the device that's going to store your data. That's usually not a problem for private users who could make do with a USB or external hard drive, but when vast amounts of data needs to be stored, the prices of such devices can be quite exorbitant – and that's just the beginning of the costs. It is very likely that such devices will be requiring technical skills to maintain – which bumps costs even further.
  4. Accessibility. You didn't bring your thumb drive with you to the meeting? Well, there's nothing to be done about that. And it's not like you can access an external hard drive with a normal plug through an Android phone or tablet – you need to jump through a couple of hoops first. The biggest drawback with local storage should be obvious – if you don't have physical access to the device, you don't have access to the information it contains – which can be inconvenient.

Making a Choice

Ultimately, the decision of whether to use local storage or cloud storage depends on your personal needs. For the majority of personal users, cloud storage seems like an optimal solution, as it is relatively cheap, reliable, easy to set up and doesn't require maintenance. Small businesses and personal users can take full advantage of all those factors.

Larger companies, on the other hand, may well wish to remain on a closed local system. However, there is no reason why they can't take advantage of cloud storage alongside the local storage solutions they may be employing.

July 27, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 10 + 10 ?