發現龍血蟲漏洞影響WPA3 Wi-Fi安全和密碼

我們即將跨入21 世紀的第三個十年,可是密碼仍然至關重要我們的網絡安全。在本文中,我們想談談更多有關Wi-Fi安全性的信息,以及即使使用最新的安全協議也可以洩露密碼。

我們受到與WPA3 Wi-Fi安全協議相關的最新發現的激勵,這應該使密碼破解幾乎不可能。不幸的是,這個難以穿透的牆壁上有裂縫可能被網絡犯罪分子利用。我們將討論這些漏洞,我們還將討論任何常規用戶可以執行的Wi-Fi安全措施。

什麼是WPA3?

我們之前已經在我們的博客中廣泛介紹了WPA3 ,但是如果您忘記了這個協議或者您是第一次聽到這個協議,我們先回顧一下。

簡而言之,WPA代表“Wi-Fi保護訪問”。這些是由Wi-Fi聯盟創建和開發的Wi-Fi安全協議。為了讓技術發言落後,這些協議可以使Wi-Fi網絡更加安全。他們在那裡確保不只是任何人都可以連接到網絡。讓我們將WPA視為保護某個無線網絡的鎖。

因此,WPA3是最新的“鎖定”,提供更高的Wi-Fi安全標準。 WPA3帶有一種叫做“Dragonfly握手”的東西。每個WPA都有握手。正如您可以從名稱中看出的那樣,它指的是某種連接。 WPA握手是Wi-Fi網絡與嘗試訪問它的設備之間的連接。 WPA3協議帶有改進的握手類型。開發人員認為,Dragonfly握手使黑客無法記錄四次握手,從而導致他們無法啟動離線字典攻擊。

為了深入研究這一點,WPA3帶有四個新功能,而Dragonfly握手就是其中之一。除了幾乎不可能入侵網絡之外,它還提供了前瞻性保密。新的Wi-Fi安全協議還為用戶提供了一種新的安全方法,可以將設備添加到網絡中,並且它具有保護機制,使用未經身份驗證的加密來保護開放網絡中的設備。最後,它增加了密鑰大小(192位),如果該實體被認證為WPA3-Enterprise,它們將是強制性的。

所以,一切看起來都很好而且安全,但如果它是完美的,我們就不會寫這個條目,對嗎?如果我們有這個新的Wi-Fi安全協議可以讓事情變得超級安全,我們為什麼還要關注密碼是如何洩露的呢?

那麼,每個與網絡安全相關的新實體都需要仔細檢查。我們確信Wi-Fi聯盟在創建新的安全協議方面非常徹底,但是一些第三方研究總是一個好主意。因此,安全性研究Mathy Vanhoef和Eyal Ronen分析了Dragonfly的握手,他們發現了幾個可能嚴重削弱WPA3提供的Wi-Fi安全性的漏洞。他們將這些漏洞稱為龍血,並在他們的發現中更詳細地討論了這些漏洞。

什麼是龍血?

我們可以說Dragonfly握手有兩個主要缺陷。這些是降級攻擊和旁道洩漏。這兩個漏洞都可以通過竊取Wi-Fi網絡密碼來利用. 如果有人在獲得網絡密碼後闖入網絡,則Wi-Fi安全性將受到損害,攻擊者可以輕鬆讀取信用卡號,聊天消息,電子郵件,個人密碼等敏感數據。

研究人員還發現了WPA3使用的可擴展身份驗證協議(EAP)中的漏洞。此身份驗證框架不是身份驗證機制,但它有助於其他身份驗證方法的工作。它就像一個調解器,可以使大約四十種不同的身份驗證方法正常運行。 Vanhoef和Ronen說,在WPA3安全性方面,其中一種方法EAP-pwd可以被視為一種負擔。

如果有人設法對EAP-pwd設計攻擊,他們可以恢復用戶的密碼,因此,犯罪分子可以冒充任何用戶而無需直接竊取密碼。幸運的是,這種身份驗證框架並不經常使用,但安全問題是真實的,未來一定要解決它以增強Wi-Fi安全性。

此外,當研究人員發現重要安全協議,軟件或與網絡安全相關的其他實體的漏洞時,他們會立即通知相關方。因此,這有助於他們改進他們的產品和服務。就Dragonblood漏洞而言,Wi-Fi聯盟還在其網站上發布了以下聲明:

最近發表的研究發現,WPA3™的早期實施中有限的漏洞 - 個人<...>沒有正確實施某些加密操作,或使用不合適的加密元素。 <...>這些問題都可以通過軟件更新得到緩解,而不會影響設備一起工作的能力。沒有證據表明這些漏洞已被利用。

這表明軟件和安全開發人員了解最新研究,並相應地對其做出反應。換句話說,普通用戶不需要忘記他們的密碼是如何洩露的。普通用戶應該盡其所能來確保他們的Wi-Fi網絡安全。

普通用戶可以做些什麼呢?嗯,首先,不要讓您的Wi-Fi網絡保持打開狀態,並始終使用強密碼保護它。您的網絡提供商應該在您的網絡設置時為您提供默認路由器密碼,但您始終可以將其更改為更強大的密碼。如果您發現自己很難提出強密碼,您可以隨時使用免費的密碼管理工具,自動為您生成唯一的密碼。

此外,您還不必擔心Dragonblood和WPA3。此安全協議仍處於測試階段,因此當它被全球採用時,您可以確定其大多數漏洞和錯誤都將得到修復。 Wi-Fi安全專家同意WPA3仍然比WPA2更安全,如果您的路由器支持WPA3,您只需要確保它具有最新的更新。

May 23, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
6 + 6是什麼?

Dragonblood Vulnerabilities Are Discovered to Impact WPA3 Wi-Fi Security and Passwords

We’re about to step into the third decade of the 21st century, and yet passwords remain crucial for our cybersecurity. In this entry, we would like to talk more about Wi-Fi security, and how passwords can be leaked even with the newest security protocols in use.

We are spurred by the latest findings related to the WPA3 Wi-Fi security protocol, which should make the password cracking virtually impossible. Unfortunately, there are cracks in this impenetrable wall that could be exploited by cybercriminals. We will discuss these vulnerabilities, and we will also talk about Wi-Fi security measures any regular user can enforce.

What is WPA3?

We have covered WPA3 extensively in our blog before, but let’s recap a little bit if you have forgotten about this protocol or you are just hearing about it for the first time.

To put it simply, WPA stands for “Wi-Fi Protected Access.” These are Wi-Fi security protocols created and developed by the Wi-Fi Alliance. To leave the tech-speak behind, those protocols are there to make Wi-Fi networks safer. They’re there to make sure that not just anyone can connect to a network. Let’s think of a WPA as a lock that protects a certain wireless network.

And so, WPA3 is the newest “lock” that offers a higher Wi-Fi security standard. WPA3 comes with something that is called the “Dragonfly handshake.” Every WPA has a handshake. As you can probably tell from the name, it refers to a certain connection. A WPA handshake is a connection between the Wi-Fi network and the device that is trying to access it. And the WPA3 protocol comes with an improved type of handshake. The developers maintain that the Dragonfly handshake makes it impossible for hackers to record the four-way handshake, thus rendering them unable to launch an offline dictionary attack.

To delve a little bit deeper into this, WPA3 comes with four new features and the Dragonfly handshake is one of them. Aside from making it almost impossible to hack into the network, it also provides forward secrecy. The new Wi-Fi security protocol also gives the user a new secure method to add devices to the network, and it has protective mechanisms that use unauthenticated encryption to protect devices in open networks. Finally, it comes with increased key sizes (192-bit), and they will be mandatory if the entity is certified as WPA3-Enterprise.

So, everything looks nice and secure, but if it were perfect, we wouldn’t be writing this entry, right? Why are we still concerned about how passwords are leaked if we have this new Wi-Fi security protocol that should make things super secure?

Well, every new entity that is related to cybersecurity requires double-checking. And we are sure that the Wi-Fi Alliance was very thorough in creating the new security protocol, but a little bit of third-party research is always a good idea. Consequently, security researches Mathy Vanhoef and Eyal Ronen have analyzed the Dragonfly handshake and they discovered several vulnerabilities that could severely dent the Wi-Fi security offered by WPA3. They have called these vulnerabilities Dragonblood, and discussed them in greater detail in their findings.

What is Dragonblood?

We could say that Dragonfly handshake has two major flaws. Those are downgrade attacks and side-channel leaks. Both flaws can be exploited by stealing Wi-Fi network passwords. If anyone could break into the network after obtaining the network password, then the Wi-Fi security would be compromised, and the attackers could easily read such sensitive data as the credit card numbers, chatting messages, emails, personal passwords, and so on.

The researchers have also found vulnerabilities in the Extensible Authentication Protocol (EAP) that is used by WPA3. This authentication framework is not an authentication mechanism, but it helps other authentication methods work. It’s like a mediator that enables around forty different authentication methods to function properly. Vanhoef and Ronen say that one of these methods, EAP-pwd, can be considered a liability when it comes to WPA3 security.

If someone manages to design an attack against EAP-pwd, they could recover the user’s passwords and, as a result, the criminals could impersonate any user without the need to steal passwords directly. Luckily, this authentication framework isn’t used frequently, but the security issue is real, and it should definitely be addressed in the future to enhance Wi-Fi security.

What’s more, when researchers unearth vulnerabilities in important security protocols, software, or other entities related to cybersecurity, they notify the concerned parties immediately. Consequently, this helps them improve their products and services. As far as the Dragonblood vulnerability is concerned, the Wi-Fi Alliance also issued the following statement on their website:

Recently published research identified vulnerabilities in a limited number of early implementations of WPA3™-Personal <…> do not properly implement certain cryptographic operations, or use unsuitable cryptographic elements. <…> These issues can all be mitigated through software updates without any impact on devices’ ability to work well together. There is no evidence that these vulnerabilities have been exploited.

This shows that software and security developers are aware of the latest research, and they react to it accordingly. In other words, regular users don’t need to lose sleep thinking how their passwords are leaked. Regular users should just do whatever it is possible on their part to ensure their Wi-Fi network security.

What could a regular user do though? Well, for one, do not leave your Wi-Fi network open, and always protect it with a strong password. Your network provider should give you a default router password when your network is set up, but you can always change it into something stronger. If you find it hard to come up with strong passwords yourself, you can always use a free password manager tool that would generate unique passwords for you automatically.

Also, you do not need to worry about Dragonblood and WPA3 as of yet. This security protocol is still in its testing stages, so by the time it gets adopted globally, you can be sure that most of its vulnerabilities and bugs will be fixed. Wi-Fi security specialists agree that WPA3 is still safer than WPA2, and if your router supports the WPA3, you just need to make sure that it has the latest updates.

May 13, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 9 + 6 ?