在这个假期不要成为礼品卡骗局的受害者

你圣诞节想要什么?一辆新自行车,一本好书,或者也许是在豪华的温泉浴场度过的一天?不管是什么,都有可能有一张礼品卡。人们通常会感到不舒服,因为他们可能会觉得自己不具个性,因此把礼品卡作为礼物送给他们,实际上,这是我们大多数人想要的。根据CashStar进行的一项调查 ,有55%-61%(取决于年龄范围)的美国人更喜欢接受礼品卡,而不是实际的礼品。这样可以确保他们可以买到自己想要的书,而不会收到结账行上最后一分钟才拿到的俗气的畅销书。毫无疑问,这也减轻了“馈赠者”的压力,因为他们不必担心购买和送错东西。

直到计划者把事情搞砸了,一切都很好。每个季节都会弹出新的礼品卡骗局,但是如果您继续阅读此报告,我们希望您可以减少今年成为受害者的机会。

策划人在礼品卡架中壮成长

您是否曾经在杂货店,书店和其他零售场所注意到过那些礼品卡架?走到他们那里,拿起几张卡片填充袜子或用作主要礼物,非常方便。根据The Balance Small Business的资料,在美国,最受欢迎的礼品卡来自沃尔玛,塔吉特,亚马逊,沃尔格林,家得宝,劳氏,地铁,科尔,Costco和VISA。但是,计划者似乎有他们自己的收藏夹,它们来自iTunes和Google Play。实际上, 据FTC称 ,有42%的计划者特别要求iTunes和Google Play礼品卡。美国联邦贸易委员会(FTC)还警告说,礼品卡是计划者的“最常用的偷钱方式”。

那么,这到底如何工作?正如我们已经提到的,策划者每个季节都会提出新的礼品卡骗局,但事实证明其中一些骗局比其他骗局更成功,并且毫不奇怪,我们不断看到他们屡屡使用。尽管大多数人在听到“诡计”一词时会想到有人蹲在计算机上,但是当涉及到礼品卡欺诈时,他们还是愿意步行。

从商店和购物中心分配的架子上拿起礼品卡时,请务必格外小心,这一点至关重要。为什么?那是因为任何人都可以上他们并惹他们。计划者的目标是公开礼品卡的PIN码/ ID码。在大多数情况下,这些代码是看不见的,这意味着计划人员必须打开包装并复制代码。完成后,他们可以将卡放回原处,好像什么也没发生。不幸的是,当有人购买被篡改的卡时,计划者可以立即使用余额来为自己购买商品或服务。

您能想象您的亲人试图使用礼品卡并得知礼品卡已空吗?节日快乐……这就是为什么您必须非常仔细地检查包装以发现被篡改的迹象。如果PIN码/ ID码暴露在外,请放下卡片,然后寻找其他礼物。另外,请检查计划者可以在激活码上添加的任何可疑贴纸,以确保您放入卡上的钱立即转入他们的帐户,而不是卡本身。

礼品卡网络钓鱼诈骗

您可能已经知道,网络钓鱼诈骗如今已猖ramp。它们可用于向人们介绍恶意软件,提取个人信息,以及将他们暴露于新的礼品卡骗局。您最近是否收到过一封电子邮件,建议您可以在一个可以免费帮助您管理所有礼品卡并检查其余额的网站上免费注册?希望您意识到这是一个网络钓鱼骗局,并且通过在上面注册自己和您的礼品卡,可以使策划者窃取您的假期快乐。显然,存在检查gif卡余额的合法网站,但也存在伪造的网站,因此您在注册时必须格外小心。显然,最好是使用正规零售商的余额进行检查。

说到网络钓鱼诈骗和不可靠的网站,您是否曾经尝试过转售或交换礼品卡?好吧,这是可能的,但前提是您使用合法的服务。您想要做的最后一件事是披露您的卡PIN码/ ID /编号,却一无所获,或者发送一张完美的礼品卡以换取已使用过的礼品卡。

在完全不同的情况下,您可能会收到网络钓鱼诈骗电子邮件,提示您需要付款,并且首选的付款方式是通过礼品卡。策划者可能会告诉您任何事情以确保其网络钓鱼诈骗有效。例如,他们可能试图假冒公用事业公司,欺骗您以为您中了彩票(据称礼品卡将支付手续费),或者甚至通知您家庭成员遇到了麻烦,并且您需要救助他们。总之,无论您收到哪种网络钓鱼诈骗电子邮件,请记住,礼品卡不是一种付款方式,政府,公用事业公司,邮局和其他类型的公司实际上并不接受使用礼品卡付款。

Sextortion骗局也变得越来越流行,现在您可能会收到一封威胁性电子邮件,提示如果您不使用礼品卡付款,就会泄露有害内容。显然,如果您收到这样的消息,则想忽略它。您还希望忽略策划者为使您购买礼品卡并透露其号码/ PIN / ID而进行的任何可疑电话通话。这是网络钓鱼诈骗的一种较不常见的形式,但它是假日季节,策划人员现在正在使用各种技巧。

如何保护自己免受礼品卡欺诈和网络钓鱼诈骗的侵害

如果要保护自己免受一般的新礼品卡欺诈和网络钓鱼欺诈的侵害,最重要的是保持头脑冷静和警惕。请记住,策划者可以篡改实体礼品卡,建立伪造的余额检查和转售与交换网站,打电话,冒充熟悉的公司或服务提供商,甚至使用勒索(在性侵犯中进行攻击)使用礼品卡窃取金钱。因此,您需要做的就是注意,当心通过电子邮件或电话进行的网络钓鱼诈骗,选择不熟悉的零售商而不是不熟悉的零售商,并且当然要保护您所拥有的礼品卡。

物理礼品卡在使用前必须保持不可及的位置;对于数字礼品卡,最好将ID / PIN /数字和其他标识信息存储在安全的地方。可以收集到的Cyclonis Password Manager是一个密码管理工具,但它可以提供更多功能。使用其免费的私人注释功能,您可以存储所有礼品卡号,直到准备使用它们为止。该工具将对它们进行加密并将其锁定,直到您准备好对待自己为止。

December 2, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
7 + 5是什么?

Do Not Become a Victim of a Gift Card Scam This Holiday Season

What do you want for Christmas? A new bike, a good book, or, perhaps, a day at a fancy spa? Whatever it is, the chances are that there is a gift card for it. People often feel uncomfortable giving gift cards as gifts because they might feel impersonal, but, in reality, that is what most of us want. According to a survey conducted by CashStar, 55%-61% (depending on the age range) of Americans prefer receiving gift cards to actual gifts. That ensures that they can buy themselves the book they want instead of receiving some cheesy best-seller novel that was picked up last minute at the check-out line. Without a doubt, that lifts the pressure off the shoulders of the “gifters” as well because they do not need to worry about buying and giving the wrong thing.

It’s all well and good until schemers mess things up. New gift card scams pop up every season, but if you continue reading this report, we hope that you will lower your chances of becoming a victim this year.

Schemers thrive in the gift card racks

Have you ever noticed those gift card racks at grocery stores, bookshops, and other retail locations? It’s very convenient to walk up to them and just pick up a few cards to fill the stockings or serve as main gifts. In the United States, the most popular gift cards come from Walmart, Target, Amazon, Walgreens, Home Depot, Lowe’s, Subway, Kohl’s, Costco, and VISA, according to The Balance Small Business. It appears, however, that schemers have their own favorites, and these come from iTunes and Google Play. In fact, according to FTC, 42% of schemers request iTunes and Google Play gift cards specifically. The FTC also warns that gift cards are schemers’ “favorite way to steal money.”

So, how exactly does that work? As we have mentioned already, schemers come up with new gift card scams every season, but some of them are proven to be more successful than others, and, unsurprisingly, we keep seeing them used time and time again. Although most people think of someone crouched over a computer when they hear the word “schemer,” when it comes to gift card scams, they are willing to go on foot.

It is crucial that you are extremely careful when picking up gift cards from the allocated racks in shops and malls. Why? That is because anyone can go up to them and mess with them. The goal for the schemer is to expose the PIN number/ID code of the gift card. In most cases, these codes are hidden from view, which means that schemers have to open the packaging and copy the codes. Once that is done, they can put the card back as if nothing had happened. Unfortunately, when someone buys the card that was tampered with, schemers can instantly use the balance to buy goods or services for themselves.

Can you imagine your loved ones trying to use the gift card and learning that it’s been emptied out? Happy holidays… That is why you MUST check the packaging very carefully to look for signs of tampering. If the PIN number/ID code is exposed, put the card down, and look for a different gift. Also, check for any suspicious stickers that schemers could add on top of activation codes to ensure that the money you put on the card is immediately transferred to their accounts instead of the card itself.

Gift card phishing scams

As you might know already, phishing scams are rampant these days. They can be used to introduce people to malware, extract personal information, and, of course, expose them to new gift card scams. Have you recently received an email suggesting that you can register for free on a website that can help you manage all of your gift cards and check their balances? Hopefully, you realize that this is a phishing scam and that by registering yourself and your gift cards on it, you will be allowing schemers to steal your holiday joy. Obviously, legitimate websites that check gif card balances exist, but fake ones exist too, and so you need to be extra careful about the ones you register on. Obviously, it is best if you check your balances using the official retailers.

Speaking of phishing scams and unreliable websites, have you ever tried to resell or exchange a gift card? Well, that is possible, but only if you use legitimate services. The last thing you want is to disclose your card PIN/ID/number and get nothing in return, or send a perfectly good gift card in exchange for one that was used already.

In a completely different kind of scenario, you might receive a phishing scam email suggesting that you need to pay for something and that the preferred method of payment is via a gift card. Schemers might tell you just about anything to ensure that their phishing scam works. For example, they could try to impersonate a utility company, trick you into thinking that you won a lottery (the gift card, allegedly, would pay for the handling fees), or even inform you that a family member has gotten in some trouble and that you need to bail them out. All in all, whatever kind of a phishing scam email you receive, remember that gift cards are not a form of payment, and the government, utility companies, the post, and other kinds of companies do not actually accept payments in gift cards.

Sextortion scams are becoming more and more popular too, and now you might receive a threatening email suggesting that compromising content will be made public if you do not pay using a gift card. Obviously, if you receive a message like that, you want to ignore it. You also want to ignore any suspicious phone calls that schemers could make in an attempt to make you purchase gift cards and disclose their numbers/PINs/IDs. This is a less common kind of a phishing scam, but it is the holiday season, and schemers are using every trick up their sleeve right now.

How to protect yourself against gift card fraud and phishing scams

If you want to protect yourself against new gift card scams and phishing scams in general, it is most important that you remain level-headed and vigilant. Remember that schemers can tamper with physical gift cards, set up fake balance-checking and resell & exchange websites, make phone calls, impersonate familiar companies or service providers, and even use blackmail (in sextortion attacks) to steal money using gift cards. So, what you need to do is pay attention, beware of phishing scams conducted via email or phone, choose reliable retailers over unfamiliar ones, and, of course, protect the gift cards in your possession.

Physical gift cards must be kept out of reach until they are used, and when it comes to digital gift cards, it is a good idea to store IDs/PINs/numbers and other identifying information somewhere safe. Cyclonis Password Manager is, as you can gather, a password management tool, but it can offer much more. Using its free Private Notes feature, you can store all gift card numbers until you are ready to use them. The tool will encrypt them and keep them under a lock until you are ready to treat yourself.

December 2, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 3 + 6 ?