在COVID-19大流行期間,DDoS和密碼攻擊迅速增加

安全研究人員正在回顧2020年,他們的發現並不特別令人鼓舞。 F5 Labs的分析師最近發布了一份有關本年度前11個月發生的數字攻擊和事件的報告,這些數字和統計數據看起來並不好看。

可以預料,由於全世界有如此多的人處於鎖定狀態,無論是工作,休閒還是購物,在線活動都將急劇增加。這給了壞演員充裕的機會進行各種攻擊。

今年開始時的攻擊頻率實際上低於2019年同期。但是,一旦鎖定開始,攻擊就猛增。春季最差的演員活動時間是在春季,夏季則有所放緩。

即使5月底和6月的襲擊和事件有所減少,襲擊的發生率仍是去年同期的兩倍。

專注於DDoS和密碼攻擊

F5實驗室專注於兩個特定的攻擊地點-DDoS和密碼攻擊,在2020年1月至2020年8月的幾個月中,分別報告了事件的45%和43%。

根據F5 Labs的報告,DDoS攻擊的數量和重點都在發生變化。儘管在2019年僅4%的DDoS攻擊針對Web應用程序,但該百分比同比增長了近七倍。 DNS欺騙攻擊也幾乎翻了一番,到2020年從17%增至31%。

F5還指出,到2020年,針對零售商的所有攻擊中有67%是面向密碼的,與前一年相比增加了近30%。針對API的身份驗證攻擊也在增加,與2019年相比數量翻了一番。

不良行為者應該盡其所能來利用當前的鎖定措施,並大量增加數百萬人的在線存在,這是有道理的。這僅意味著我們應該更加警惕和謹慎對待數字安全性。

November 10, 2020

發表評論

DDoS and Password Attacks Are Rising Rapidly During the COVID-19 Pandemic

Security researchers are looking back at 2020 and their findings are not particularly encouraging. Analysts from F5 Labs recently published a report on digital attacks and incidents that took place over the previous 11 months of the current year and the figures and statistics are not great to look at.

It was to be expected that with so many people in lockdown all over the world, online activity would dramatically increase, whether it's work, leisure or shopping. This gave bad actors ample opportunity to execute all sorts of attacks.

The year started with attack frequencies that were actually lower than the comparable period of 2019. However, once the lockdowns began, attacks skyrocketed. The stretch of peak bad actor activity was over the spring months, with things slowing down a bit in the summer.

Even with the decrease in attacks and incidents in late May and June, attacks were still twice as common as the same period of the previous year.

Focus on DDoS and Password Attacks

F5 Labs focused on two specific venues of attack - DDoS and password attacks, comprising respectively 45% and 43% of reported incidents for the months between January and August 2020.

Both the volume and focus of DDoS attacks is shifting, according to the F5 Labs report. While only 4% of DDoS attacks were aimed at web applications in 2019, that percentage grew nearly sevenfold year over year. DNS spoofing attacks also nearly doubled, going from 17% to 31% over 2020.

F5 also stated that in 2020 a good 67% of all attacks aimed at retailers were password-oriented, comprising an increase of nearly 30% against the previous year. Authentication attacks targeting APIs are also climbing, doubling in volume compared against 2019.

It makes sense for bad actors to be making everything they can to exploit the current lockdowns and heavily increased online presence of millions of people. This only means we should be even more vigilant and careful with our digital security.

November 10, 2020

Leave a Reply