机器学习如何帮助抵御密码喷雾攻击

近年来,在各种情况下,机器学习这个词被广泛使用。 2020年10月下旬,微软宣布在其军械库中添加了一个新的“凭据泄露检测”工具,该工具使用机器学习来发现密码喷雾攻击。

密码喷雾是一种尝试未经授权登录帐户的方法,目的是破坏它们。密码喷雾与密码填充或暴力破解的区别在于,尽管后两种方法通常依靠使用窃取或生成的凭据对登录尝试进行轰炸,但密码喷雾仅尝试将少量常用密码输入大量密码帐户数。

尝试突破帐户时,使用密码喷雾的限制是因为大量登录门户和服务都具有登录尝试限制,其他攻击可以很容易地在设定的时间内触发并锁定任何其他登录。

这也会使任何监视登录尝试中异常峰值的安全协议失效。通过尝试在每个帐户中尝试一小部分密码,密码喷雾攻击希望仍未被发现,并找出使用非常普通密码的帐户,从而在整个过程中不会敲响任何警钟。

救援机器

但是,微软宣布了一种新的系统,该系统依赖于机器学习算法来检测密码喷射尝试。当安装的用户群与Microsoft一样大时,该公司已经找到了一种方法,可以在几乎同时将同一个密码馈入成千上万个帐户时发现实例,这表明尝试进行密码喷涂。

该系统仍在最终确定中,并将作为身份保护功能添加到Azure ActiveDirectory。机器学习算法还将能够检测帐户行为的许多其他特征,包括IP信誉和异常的登录属性。

Azure ActiveDirectory是Microsoft针对云身份和访问服务的解决方案,允许用户访问Microsoft产品系列以及客户云应用程序中的文档和资源。

November 4, 2020

发表评论

How Machine Learning Helps Against Password Spraying Attacks

Machine learning is a term that is being tossed around a lot in recent years, in various contexts. In late October 2020, Microsoft announced a new "credential compromise detection" tool added to its arsenal that uses machine learning to spot password spraying attacks.

Password spraying is a method of attempting unauthorized logins into accounts, in an effort to breach them. What differentiates password spraying from password stuffing or brute forcing is that while the latter two methods often rely on bombarding an account with login attempts, using either stolen or generated credentials, password spraying attempts to feed just a small handful of commonly used passwords into a huge number of accounts.

The restraint used with password spraying when it comes to attempting to breach an account is because a very large number of login portals and services have a login attempt limit that other attacks can very easily trip and lock any further logins for a set time.

This also trips up any security protocols that monitor for unusual spikes in login attempts. Password spraying attacks hope to remain undetected and fish out accounts that use very common passwords by attempting just a small handful of them on each account, never ringing any alarm bells in the process.

Machines to the rescue

However, Microsoft announced a new system that relies on machine learning algorithms to detect password spraying attempts. With an installed userbase as huge as Microsoft's, the company has figured out a way to spot instances when the same password is being fed into thousands and thousands of accounts at pretty much the same time, indicating an attempt at password spraying.

The system is still being finalized and will be added to Azure ActiveDirectory as an identity protection feature. The machine learning algorithms will also be able to detect a number of other peculiarities in account behavior, including IP reputation and unusual sign-in properties.

Azure ActiveDirectory is Microsoft's solution aimed at cloud identity and access services, which allows users to access documents and resources across Microsoft's family of products, as well as customer cloud applications.

November 4, 2020

Leave a Reply