通用备份与系统映像备份 - 哪个是个人更好的选择?

Normal Backups vs System Image Backups

你值得拍拍背面。您已经意识到备份有价值的信息非常重要,您已经购买了一个用于保存备份的外部设备,并且您已经准备好开始了。您知道Microsoft已经帮助您安装了一个可以为您完成所有艰苦工作的备份实用程序,并且您知道它可以在控制面板中找到。但是,当您到达它时,您还会看到“ 创建系统映像”链接。那是什么意思?

两个工具做同一件事?

大家都知道备份本质上是重要数据的备用副本,但正如我们已经知道的那样 ,简单地将所有文件复制并粘贴到外部硬盘驱动器中效果不佳。使用备份实用程序,可以可靠地复制所有信息并将其传输到备份存储设备。它还确保在您需要时,将使用相同的文件和文件夹结构还原数据。

系统映像创建工具不仅仅是传输文件。它会创建PC当前状态的快照(或图像)。除文件外,它还可以保存已安装的应用程序,驱动程序,设置以及对操作系统所做的更改,并将所有内容放入一个相当大的文件中。通过从系统映像还原,除了还原文件和文件夹之外,还可以将完整的Windows配置还原到创建映像时的状态。

正如您所看到的,我们有两种工具,它们似乎以两种不同的方式做同样的事情。我们来比较一下。

速度和存储空间

备份完成所需的时间取决于两个主要因素 - 需要备份的数据量和PC硬件组件的功率。但是,如果其他条件相同,则系统映像备份将花费更长时间。这是因为,除了文件之外,还必须备份更多文件,然后需要将其放入单个文件中。系统映像的创建也占用更多空间,这是您应该牢记的事情,特别是如果您有一个小容量的外部驱动器。

完整备份也可能需要一段时间,但其优点是,一旦执行单个完整备份,您就可以依赖增量和差异备份,这会占用更少的时间。使用系统映像,这是不可能的。

灵活性

你的一些文件是必不可少的,其中一些你不介意丢失。 Windows的常规备份实用程序允许您选择要备份的文件和文件夹。您还可以选择还原选定的项目。

使用系统映像备份,它是“全有或全无”的情况。备份到图像意味着备份整个驱动器。当您恢复数据时,理论上可以只选择特定文件,但这个过程很麻烦,需要一定的技术水平。

兼容性

如果您正常备份重要信息,购买计算机,然后尝试恢复新计算机上的数据,则应该没有任何问题。但是,如果您依赖系统映像,则会遇到兼容性问题. 如果硬件配置相同,您可能只能在另一台计算机上成功还原系统映像,但总的来说,您的机会很小。

普通备份,系统映像或两者

从表面上看,正常备份在速度和可用性方面似乎比系统映像具有相当多的优势,但这仅仅是因为系统映像具有非常特定的目的。它的想法是消除重新安装Windows的需要,以防最坏的情况发生。例如,如果您的计算机受到强大的恶意软件攻击并且您无法完全删除所有感染痕迹,则系统映像还原是拥有功能完备,无恶意软件的PC的最简单方法。它也是您的硬盘驱动器出现故障时最好的逃生路线,您需要重新启动旧系统。显然,保留旧系统图像是毫无意义的,因此在理想的世界中,您的图像应该是最近的。它的创建确实需要一段时间,但普通的PC可以在一夜之间完成,因此,除非您缺少外部数据存储空间,否则没有理由不保持系统映像可用。

但是,如果您想确保在发生不良情况时不会丢失任何数据,则必须优先考虑正常备份。与系统映像不同,您可以在另一台计算机上恢复数据,这非常重要,因为您不会在结束之前使用同一台PC。这是一个更快速的解决方案,虽然它在灾难恢复情况下可能并不完美,但它非常适合处理更常见的问题,例如意外删除重要文档。

May 20, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
3 + 3是什么?

Common Backup vs System Image Backup – Which Is the Better Option for Individuals?

Normal Backups vs System Image Backups

You deserve a pat on the back. You've realized that backing up your valuable information is important, you've bought an external device for saving your backups, and you're ready to start. You know that Microsoft has helpfully placed a backup utility that can do all the hard work for you and you know that it can be found in the Control Panel. When you get to it, however, you also see the Create a system image link. What's that about?

Two tools doing one and the same thing?

You all know that a backup is essentially a spare copy of your important data, but as we already know, simply copying and pasting all the files into the external hard drive doesn't work well enough. With the backup utility, all the information is reliably copied and transferred to your backup storage device. It also ensures that when you need it, the data will be restored with the same file and folder structure.

The system image creation tool does a bit more than just transferring files around. It creates a snapshot (or image) of the current state of your PC. Along with the files, it also saves your installed applications, drivers, settings, and changes made to your operating systems, and puts everything into a single, rather large file. By restoring from a system image, in addition to reinstating your files and folders, you will also be restoring the full Windows configuration to the way it was when you created the image.

As you can see, we have two tools that seemingly do the same thing in two different ways. Let's compare them.

Speed and storage space

The time it takes for a backup to complete is dependent on two main factors – the amount of data that needs to be backed up and the power of the PC's hardware components. If everything else is equal, however, the system image backup will take longer. That's because, in addition to files, a whole lot more must be backed up, and it then needs to be put into a single file. The creation of a system image also takes up more space, and this is something you should definitely bear in mind, especially if you have a small-capacity external drive.

A full backup could also take a while, but its advantage is that once you do a single full backup, you can rely on incremental and differential backups which take up considerably less time. With a system image, this is not possible.

Flexibility

Some of your files are essential, and some of them you wouldn't mind losing. Windows' normal backup utility lets you choose which of your files and folders you want to back up. You also have the option of restoring a selection of items as well.

With a system image backup, it's an "all or nothing" situation. Backing up to an image means backing up the entire drive. When you're restoring the data, it is theoretically possible to choose only specific files, but the process is cumbersome and requires a certain level of technical skills.

Compatibility

If you do a normal backup of your important information, buy a computer, and then try to restore the data on the new machine, you should have no problems at all. If you rely on a system image, however, you will be faced with compatibility issues. You might just be able to successfully restore a system image on a different computer if the hardware configuration is identical, but on the whole, your chances are slim.

A normal backup, a system image, or both

On the face of it, normal backups seem to have quite a few advantages over the system image when it comes to speed and usability, but that's only because a system image has a very specific purpose. Its idea is to eliminate the need to re-install Windows in case the worst happens. For example, if your computer gets hit by a powerful strain of malware and you're unable to completely remove all traces of the infection, a system image restore is the easiest way of having a fully functioning, malware-free PC. It's also the best escape route when your hard drive fails, and you need to get the old system going again. Obviously, keeping an old system image is pretty pointless, so in an ideal world, your image should be recent. Its creation does take a while, but a regular PC can do it overnight, so, unless you're short on external data storage space, there's little excuse for not keeping a system image available.

If you want to be sure that you won't lose any data in case something bad happens, however, a normal backup must be a priority. Unlike a system image, you can restore the data on another computer which is very important because you won't be using the same PC until the end of time. It's a much quicker solution, and although it might not be perfect in a disaster recovery situation, it's ideal for dealing with more common problems like the accidental deletion of an important document.

August 13, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 7 + 6 ?