備份101:完整備份,增量備份和差異備份

data backup full incremental differential

我們都知道備份很重要,通過我們以前的備份101文章,我們了解到它們的存儲方式也非常重要。但是,在某些情況下,備份可能完全無用。想一想:大約一年前你確實備份了重要的文件夾,但是在過去的12個月裡你做了很多工作,突然之間,你的PC放棄了幽靈並決定停止工作。你可以看到這是怎麼回事,不是嗎?

備份僅在正確完成後才有用。適當的備份是定期備份。這不是你做過一次而忘記的事情。這應該就像早上刷牙一樣。如果您能找到使工藝自動化的正確工具,那就更好了。

但是,如果它是任何這些東西,它一定不會佔用你太多的時間。這就是為什麼創建了幾種不同類型的備份的原因,這些備份旨在簡化流程並使用戶和PC上的流程更加輕鬆。今天我們將討論這些類型的備份。

完全備份

完整備份並不一定意味著備份整個硬盤。它確實意味著您選擇的文件和文件夾將被完整復制。您的第一個備份總是完整備份(即,您選擇要備份的內容,並自行或使用工具將其複製到安全位置)。儘管快速且易於還原,但執行完整備份會佔用大量空間,時間和資源,並且在完成一次後,可能沒有必要。

假設您在月初備份了1,000個文件。在完全備份後的第一周結束時,您已經修改了其中的50個,並且您已經保存了10個新備份。如果您使用完整備份過程,則備份解決方案將再次復制所有1,000個文件,並且除了10個新文件之外,它還將備份50個已修改的舊文件。這不是解決問題的非常有效的方法,這就是增量和差異備份的原因。

增量備份

乍一看,您可能會發現很難看到增量備份和差異備份之間的區別,但實際上並不難理解。

我們來看上一段的情景。您已完成首次完整備份,並且已配置備份解決方案以每周備份一次文件。七天后,增量備份解決方案將複製50個已修改的文件和10個新的文件。它不會觸及已完全備份的1,000個文件。在接下來的七天內,您將修改另外20個文件,然後您將創建10個新文件。增量備份系統只會復制那些,它不會打擾第1週的文件或最初備份的文件。

由於它僅備份已修改的信息和新信息,因此增量備份比完全備份所需的時間和空間更少。缺點是,從增量備份恢復不像從完全備份恢復那麼快或簡單,因為將數據放在一起應該恢復到單個項目更難。

差異備份

那麼,什麼是差異備份,它與增量備份有何不同呢?

增量備份系統將在上次增量備份後查找已修改的信息,如果找到,則會復制它。另一方面,差異備份系統將復制自上次完全備份以來已修改或保存的任何內容。

讓我們用上面的例子來說明這一切. 我們已經了解到,在第2週結束時,增量備份系統將僅複製在過去七天內修改或創建的30個文件。相比之下,差異備份還將復制在第1週期間修改和保存的60個文件。

這是一個更加資源和空間密集的過程,但是恢復時間,它比增量備份更快,但不如完整備份快。

我應該去哪一個?

當然,這就是理論。實際上,備份和恢復數據的速度取決於無數其他因素,包括需要備份或恢復的信息量,文件數量,甚至是備份時的互聯網連接速度在雲中。

不同的備份工具有不同的方法使您的數據保持最新。您需要做的是確保您選擇的解決方案執行定期備份並保持數據最新。否則,它就像沒有它一樣有用。

May 20, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
3 + 4是什麼?

Backup 101: Full, Incremental, and Differential Backups

data backup full incremental differential

We all know that backups are important, and with our previous Backup 101 article, we learned that the way they're stored is also quite crucial. In some cases, however, backups could be completely useless. Think about this: you did back up your important folders about a year ago, but you've done a lot of work over the last twelve months, and suddenly, your PC gives up the ghost and decides to stop working. You can see where this is going, can't you?

A backup is only useful if it's done properly. And proper backups are regular backups. It's not something you do once and forget about. It should be like brushing your teeth in the morning. If you can find the right tool to automate the process, the better for it.

If it's going to be any of these things, however, it mustn't take up too much of your time. That's why a few different types of backup were created which were designed to streamline the process and make it easier both on the users and on the PCs. Today we'll discuss these types of backup.

Full backup

A full backup doesn't necessarily mean a backup of your entire hard drive. It does mean that the files and folders you've chosen will be copied in their entirety. Your first backup is always going to be a full one (i.e., you select what you want to back up and, on your own or using a tool, you copy it to a safe location). Although quick and easy to restore, performing a full backup takes up a lot of space, time, and resources, and, after you've done it once, it might not be necessary.

Let's say you back up 1,000 files at the beginning of the month. By the end of the first week after your full backup, you've modified 50 of them, and you've saved 10 new ones. If you use a full backup procedure, your backup solution will copy all the 1,000 files once again, and it will also back up the 50 modified old files in addition to the 10 new ones. That's not a terribly efficient way of going about the problem which is why there are incremental and differential backups.

Incremental backup

At first glance, you might find it hard to see the difference between incremental and differential backups, but it's actually not that difficult to understand.

Let's take the scenario from the previous paragraph. You've done your first full backup, and you've configured your backup solution to back up your files once a week. Seven days later, an incremental backup solution will copy only the 50 modified files and the 10 new ones. It will not touch the 1,000 files that are already fully backed up. Over the following seven days, you'll modify a further 20 files and you'll create 10 new ones. An incremental backup system will only copy those, it won't bother with files from week 1 or the ones that were initially backed up.

Because it only backs up the modified and new information, an incremental backup takes less time and space than a full backup. The downside is, restoring from an incremental backup isn't as quick or as easy as restoring from a full backup because putting the data together into a single item that should be restored is harder.

Differential backup

So, what's a differential backup and how does it differ from an incremental one, then?

An incremental backup system will look for modified information after the last incremental backup, and if it finds some, it will copy it. A differential backup system, on the other hand, will copy anything that's been modified or saved since the last full backup.

Let's illustrate all this with the example from above. We've already learned that at the end of week 2, an incremental backup system will only copy the 30 files that were modified or created during the previous seven days. By contrast, a differential backup will also copy the 60 files that were modified and saved during week 1.

It's a more resource- and space-intensive procedure, but come restore time, it's faster than the incremental backup, though not as quick as the full one.

Which one should I go for?

This, of course, is the theory. In reality, the speed at which data is backed up and restored is dependent on innumerable other factors, including the volume of information that needs to be backed up or restored, the number of files, and even the speed of the internet connection if your backup is in the cloud.

Different backup tools have different ways of keeping your data up-to-date. What you need to do is make sure that the solution you've chosen performs regular backups and keeps your data current. Otherwise, it's as useful as not having it at all.

By Duran
July 5, 2018
July 5, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 6 + 7 ?