中國物聯網公司在不安全的數據庫中暴露了超過20億條記錄

Orvibo IoT Data Leak

幾個月前,VPN評論網站vpnMentor聚集了一群安全研究人員並組織了一個網絡映射項目。該團隊由Noam Rotem和Ran Locar領導,他們的任務是掃描IP地址塊,查找已公開的數據,並與負責人的人聯繫以解決問題。不幸的是,可以說Rotem和Locar最近一直很忙。

例如,在3月份,他們發現了一個不安全的MongoDB數據庫,該數據庫保存了一個來電顯示移動應用程序超過500萬用戶的個人信息。最近,他們發現財富500強企業在Elasticsearch服務器中暴露了264GB的數據,這些數據不受密碼保護。他們發現了一些其他數據洩漏,但他們在7月1日報導的那個可能是迄今為止最大的一個。

奧維博洩漏了超過20億條記錄

再一次,洩露的數據被放在沒有任何密碼保護的Elasticsearch服務器上,但根據福布斯的說法 ,這次還有一個基於Web的Kibana應用程序,它使搜索信息變得更加容易。

一項快速調查顯示該服務器屬於Orvibo--一家中國物聯網公司,銷售從自動窗簾抽屜到通過移動應用控制的燈泡到智能鎖的所有產品。在檢查了服務器後,專家意識到Orvibo的設備往往會收集很多關於其所有者的信息。有超過20億條記錄包含IP和電子郵件地址,用戶名以及密碼,帳戶重置代碼和精確地理位置坐標的日程安排信息。

必須說洩漏記錄的數量與受影響的用戶數量之間沒有相關性,後者目前尚不清楚。 Rotem和Locar發現的數據屬於居住在世界各地的個人,然而,再加上Orvibo擁有超過一百萬客戶的事實,這表明很多人的細節都暴露了. 儘管如此,中國物聯網公司並不急於關閉數據庫並保護用戶信息。

Orvibo花時間保護洩露的數據

正如我們已經提到的,vpnMentor的web映射項目的目標不僅是找到錯誤暴露的數據,而且還幫助所述數據的所有者直接記錄。果然,在6月16日,在意識到無擔保的Elasticsearch安裝屬於Orvibo後,Noam Rotem和Ran Locar試圖與中國供應商取得聯繫。在接下來的兩周里,研究人員不斷通過電子郵件發送和推特這家中國公司,但不幸的是,他們試圖聯繫的所有嘗試都達到了死胡同。

7月1日,研究人員公開宣布了他們的調查結果,並在24小時內確保服務器安全。似乎Orvibo只關注其客戶的安全性,只有當其PR圖像處於危險之中時,考慮到其引起的物聯網數據洩漏的潛在影響,這實在令人擔憂。

奧維博洩漏是一場等待發生的災難

暴露的數據啟用了一系列可能的攻擊場景,其範圍與Orvibo銷售的設備範圍一樣廣泛。特別是,漫畫者的可能性或多或少是無窮無盡的。使用受到破壞的數據,他們可以登錄無辜的用戶帳戶,打開和關閉燈光,繪製人們的窗簾,在半夜打開電視,音量設置為全爆,以及其他一些人相對無害的惡作劇。

但是,更有動力的攻擊者可能會造成更多傷害。正如Rotem和Locar在他們的報告中所指出的那樣,對特定個人感興趣的政府情報機構可以從諸如Orvibo暴露的數據庫中獲得大量信息。

物聯網公司的密碼存儲實踐也可能對其部分用戶造成很大的身體不適。用戶的登錄憑據放在不受保護的數據庫中這一事實並不是最大的問題。最大的問題是Orvibo未能遵循一些非常基本的安全措施。

用戶的密碼是用MD5進行的,正如我們兩週前提到的那樣,它已經過時了,而且根本不是非常安全。更糟糕的是,數據沒有受到加密鹽的保護,這使得反轉哈希變得更加容易。使用恢復的密碼,幾乎沒有什麼可以阻止攻擊者完全控制受害者的物聯網小工具。

但是,在許多情況下甚至不需要恢復密碼。洩露的數據庫包含帳戶重置代碼,這意味著黑客可以重置帳戶的密碼而無需訪問用戶的電子郵件。然後,他們可以更改與該帳戶關聯的電子郵件地址,並使所有者完全無法訪問該設備的控制面板。奧維博自己的網站吹噓其產品(其中有智能鎖)是如何完美的酒店,這意味著可能在非常危險的情況下的人數是巨大的。

使用中國公司鎖的房主也面臨風險. 簡單的帳戶訪問加上精確的地理位置數據Orvibo暴露意味著竊賊可以藉助瀏覽器和計算機鼠標而不是更多傳統工具(如撬棍和鎖鎬)闖入人們的房屋。

Orvibo是眾多軟件和硬件供應商中的下一代產品,它們無疑已成為最常見的配置錯誤 。在這個特殊情況下的潛在後果非常嚴重,但問題的處理並不完美。運行奧維博的人可能還沒有意識到這一點,但是他們無法及時解決問題可能會對他們試圖如此瘋狂地捍衛的公關形象造成巨大打擊。

July 16, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
4 + 10是什麼?

A Chinese IoT Company Exposes More Than 2 Billion Records in an Insecure Database

Orvibo IoT Data Leak

Several months ago, VPN review website vpnMentor gathered together a group of security researchers and organized a web-mapping project. The team is headed by Noam Rotem and Ran Locar, and their task is to scan blocks of IP addresses, look for data that's been exposed, and get in touch with the people responsible for it in order to resolve the issue. Unfortunately, it's fair to say that Rotem and Locar have been rather busy lately.

In March, for example, they found an unsecured MongoDB database that held personal information of over 5 million users of a caller ID mobile application. More recently, they discovered 264GB worth of data exposed by a Fortune 500 company in an Elasticsearch server that wasn't protected by a password. They have unearthed a few other data leaks, but the one they reported on July 1 could very well be the biggest one to date.

Orvibo leaks over 2 billion records

Once again, the leaked data was put on an Elasticsearch server that wasn't protected by any sort of password, but according to Forbes, this time, there was also a Kibana web-based application which made searching through the information quite a bit easier.

A quick investigation revealed that the server belonged to Orvibo – a Chinese IoT company that sells everything from automated curtain drawers through light bulbs controlled by mobile applications to smart locks. After examining the server, the experts realized that Orvibo's devices tend to gather quite a lot of information about their owners. There were over 2 billion records containing anything from IP and email addresses, usernames, and scheduling information to passwords, account reset codes, and precise geolocation coordinates.

It must be said that there's no correlation between the number of leaked records and the number of affected users, and the latter remains unknown for now. The data Rotem and Locar found belonged to individuals living all around the world, however, which, coupled with the fact that Orvibo boasts about having over a million customers, goes to show that the details of quite a few people were exposed. Despite this, the Chinese IoT company was in no particular hurry to shut down the database and secure users' information.

Orvibo took its time securing the leaked data

As we mentioned already, the goal of vpnMentor's web-mapping project is not only to find data that's been wrongfully exposed, but also to help the owners of the said data set the record straight. Sure enough, on June 16, immediately after realizing that the unsecured Elasticsearch installation belongs to Orvibo, Noam Rotem and Ran Locar tried to get in touch with the Chinese vendor. For the next two weeks, the researchers continuously emailed and tweeted the Chinese company, but unfortunately, all their attempts to get in touch reached a dead end.

On July 1, the researchers announced their findings publicly, and within 24 hours, the server was secured. It would appear that Orvibo is concerned about its customers' security only when its PR image is put at risk, which is really rather worrying considering the potential impact of the IoT data leak it caused.

The Orvibo leak was a disaster waiting to happen

The exposed data enabled a range of possible attack scenarios that is as wide as the range of devices Orvibo sells. The possibilities for jokesters, in particular, were more or less endless. Using the compromised data, they could log in to innocent users' accounts, turn the lights on and off, draw people's window curtains, turn on their TV in the middle of the night with the volume set at full blast, and a host of other relatively harmless pranks.

More motivated attackers could have done a lot more damage, though. As Rotem and Locar pointed out in their report, government intelligence agencies interested in a particular individual can get quite a lot of information from a database such as the one Orvibo exposed.

The IoT company's password storage practices could have also caused quite a lot of physical discomfort for some of its users. The fact that users' login credentials were put in an unprotected database wasn't the biggest issue. The biggest issue was that Orvibo had failed to follow some pretty basic security practices.

Users' passwords were hashed with MD5 which, as we mentioned not more than two weeks ago, is woefully outdated and not terribly secure at all. Worse still, the data wasn't protected with cryptographic salts which made reversing the hash even easier. With the recovered password, there was little to stop the attackers from taking full control over the victim's IoT gadget.

Recovering the password wasn't even necessary in many cases, though. The leaked database contained account reset codes which meant that hackers could reset an account's password without having access to the user's email. They could then change the email address associated with the account and leave the owner completely unable to access the device's control panel. Orvibo's own website brags about how its products (among which you have smart locks) are perfect for hotels which means that the number of people that could have been put in a very precarious situation is huge.

Homeowners using the Chinese company's locks were also put at risk. The easy account access coupled with the precise geolocation data Orvibo was exposing meant that burglars could break into people's houses with the help of a browser and a computer mouse instead of more traditional tools like crowbars and lock picks.

Orvibo is the next in a very long line of software and hardware vendors that have made what has undoubtedly become the most common configuration mistake. The potential consequences in this particular case were quite severe, yet the handling of the issue was not exactly perfect. The people running Orvibo might not realize it yet, but their inability to resolve the problem in a timely manner could land a massive blow to the PR image they're trying to defend so furiously.

July 8, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 6 + 7 ?