65%的商務旅行者擔心其公司數據的安全性

Business Travelers Data Security

許多人把旅行與打破日常生活的單調,體驗新的文化,與朋友和家人共度美好時光等等聯繫在一起。然而,對於其他人來說,旅行經常涉及與商業夥伴會面,擔心緊急任務,保持日程安排等等,一直到離家數千英里。換句話說,商務旅行者在旅途中必須考慮很多事情。他們的數據安全性就是其中之一。

人們擔心他們的數據安全

商務旅行管理公司Carlson Wagonlit Travel(CWT)在最近的一項研究後很快了解到人們對他們數據的焦慮程度。他們採訪了17個國家的約2,000名商務旅行者,他們發現經常與工作有關的人中有不少人擔心失去雇主的數據。總體而言,只有35%的受訪者相信數據安全對他們來說不是問題。

按地理區域劃分,這些數字看起來有些吸引人。北美和南美洲約54%的旅行者承認,他們在旅行時對數據的安全性感到緊張。在歐洲和亞太地區,這一數字要高得多 - 分別為73%和72%。

明顯差異的原因尚不清楚,但似乎三分之一的受訪者可以就他們的數據最大的潛在威脅達成一致 - 他們的設備丟失或被盜。對於大約21%的受訪者來說,公共Wi-Fi網絡是最重要的危險因素。

沒有足夠的意識

根據CWT執行副總裁兼首席技術官Andrew Jordan的說法,培訓和意識仍然缺乏,必須說這些數據支持了這一說法。高達37%的參與者承認他們過去曾打開網絡釣魚電子郵件,同樣的百分比表示他們已下載並運行來自未知來源的文件。

很明顯,需要更多的教育,但不幸的是,雇主似乎並沒有提供這種教育。儘管移動公司數據存在重大風險,但只有34%的受訪商務旅行者表示他們被告知不該做什麼。只有20%的受訪者表示他們會收到更多有關雇主安全措施和政策的定期和廣泛信息。

公司沒有做很多工作來教會員工如何在移動時保護有價值的數據,因此,所述員工感到緊張,因為他們知道如果出現問題,通常他們的頭腦是在線上。希望CWT發布的研究成果能夠吸引更多公司更加重視數據安全。

April 30, 2019

發表評論

65% of Business Travelers Worry About Their Company Data's Security

Business Travelers Data Security

Many people associate traveling with breaking the monotony of everyday life, experiencing new cultures, having a good time with friends and family, etc. For others, however, traveling often involves meeting business partners, worrying about urgent tasks, keeping schedules, and more, all while being thousands of miles away from home. In other words, business travelers have to think about quite a few things when they're on the move. The security of their data is one of them.

People are anxious about the safety of their data

Business travel management company Carlson Wagonlit Travel (CWT) quickly learned how anxious people are about their data after conducting a recent study. They interviewed around 2,000 business travelers in 17 countries, and they saw that quite a few of the people that make frequent work-related trips are worried about losing their employer's data. Overall, just 35% of the interviewees are confident that data security isn't a problem for them.

Broken down by geographical region, the figures look somewhat intriguing. Around 54% of the travelers based in North and South America admitted that they're nervous about the safety of their data when they're traveling. In Europe and the Asian Pacific region, the figures are much higher – 73% and 72%, respectively.

The reasons for the pronounced differences are unknown, but it would appear that one in three of the interviewed can agree on what's the biggest potential threat for their data – having their devices lost or stolen. For about 21% of the polled, public Wi-Fi networks present the most significant danger.

There's nowhere near enough awareness

According to Andrew Jordan, CWT's Executive Vice President and CTO, training and awareness are still lacking, and it must be said that the figures back this claim up. A whopping 37% of the participants admitted that they've opened phishing emails in the past, and the same percentage said that they have downloaded and run files that came from an unknown source.

It's obvious that more education is needed, but unfortunately, employers don't seem to provide it. Despite the significant risks associated with moving company data around, only 34% of the interviewed business travelers said that they had been told what not to do. Just 20% say that they receive more regular and extensive information on the employer's security practices and policies.

Companies aren't doing a whole lot to teach employees how to protect valuable data when they're on the move, and as a result, the said employees are nervous because they know that should something go wrong, it is usually their heads that are on the line. Hopefully, research results such as the ones published by CWT will entice more companies into taking data security more seriously.

By Duran
August 20, 2018
August 20, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 3 + 3 ?