任何人都可以使用您的電話號碼跟踪您的Facebook個人資料,如果您不隱藏它

Facebook 2FA Phone Numbers

安全專家的工作並不容易。多年來,他們一直在說人們必須盡可能打開雙因素身份驗證 (2FA)。他們一直認為它帶來了一定程度的安全性,即一組登錄憑證本身無法匹配。事實證明,當涉及到Facebook時,啟用雙因素身份驗證可能會產生一些人們通常不會預期的嚴重隱私後果。安全專家現在臉上都有雞蛋,最糟糕的是,這甚至不是他們的錯。

另一個Facebook隱私問題

這是全球最大的社交網絡中隱私醜聞中的下一個,並且週末由傑米米·伯格(Erejipedia)的創始人和“首席表情符號官”引發。除了製作非常重要的與表情符號相關的決定外,Burge還是一個擁有大量粉絲的大型Facebook頁面的管理員,他說在幾個月的時間內,他收到了無數的通知,敦促他啟用2FA以便最大限度地降低帳戶劫持的風險。在Facebook告訴他如果他沒有打開2FA之前,他忽略了警告,頁面將被刪除。他不情願地開啟了Facebook基於短信的雙因素身份驗證系統。在周末,當他注意到一些不尋常的事情時,他正在審查他的隱私設置

其中一個選項是:“ 誰可以使用您提供的電話號碼查找您? ”。默認情況下,它設置為Everyone ,其他選項為Friends of FriendsFriends 。這一點,你必須同意,並不是你給出你的電話號碼後所期望的,只是為了打開2FA。 Burge在Twitter上分享了他的發現,相當可以預見的是,這引起了一些轟動。

正如您可能想像的那樣,這種強烈反響是巨大的。人們現在已經開始告訴你,Facebook是多麼邪惡,以及你應該如何盡快刪除你的帳戶。然而,我們認為,在試圖影響人們的生活選擇之前,有些事情需要澄清。

仰視與搜索與觀看

Jeremy Burge的研究結果似乎有些混亂。有些人誤解了表情符號大師的推文,並且似乎認為啟用2FA會使每個人都能看到他們的電話號碼。不是這種情況。 Facebook由於其所有缺點,為您提供了一種管理聯繫信息可見性的簡單方便的方法。只需轉到時間軸,點擊“ 關於 ”標籤,然後進行必要的更正。

第二個誤解是,每個人都可以使用您的電話號碼訪問Facebook並使用搜索欄查找您的個人資料. 在Cambridge Analytica醜聞之後,此功能被刪除

Jeremy Burge發現的問題有點不同。假設您為了2FA而向Facebook提供了您的電話號碼。您可能知道或不知道的其他人在您的電話上將您的電話號碼輸入到他們的聯繫簿中,並且他們允許Facebook訪問他們的聯繫人。雖然您不希望使用您的電話號碼將您與其他人聯繫起來,但Facebook會嘗試與您聯繫。

有一個更令人不安的情況。如果網絡犯罪分子有大量的電話號碼,他們可以使用它們將電話號碼與真實身份聯繫起來,在某些情況下,這些身份可能會非常具有破壞性。而你甚至不必提供你的號碼。通過Facebook訪問您的聯繫人,您可以訪問所有朋友,家人,同事和同事的電話號碼。 Facebook不僅在未經所有者明確同意的情況下獲得這些數字,而且還在有針對性的廣告活動中使用它們

總而言之,Facebook處理人們電話號碼的方式並不總是如此透明,而且它對隱私意識的人提出了一些嚴重的擔憂。

這一次,這不是一個錯誤

“Facebook”,“隱私”和“關注點”這兩個詞在同一句話中出現了很多次,特別是在過去的幾個月裡。在劍橋分析會慘敗之後,很少有人會忘記在美國國會面前出現的略帶蒼白的馬克扎克伯格的照片。從那時起,我們聽到社交媒體業務人員多次說“對不起”,聲稱他們會嘗試解決問題並更好地保護與Facebook交互的數十億用戶的私人數據每天。

這些誓言與傑里米·伯格發現的形成鮮明對比。使用他們為2FA目的提供的電話號碼查找人員的選項並不新鮮。它已經存在了一段時間,我們懷疑沒有人知道它,因為Facebook偶然“忘記”告訴人們他們的電話號碼將如何在2FA系統之外使用。我們還懷疑有人忘記在下拉菜單中添加其他項目,這樣您就可以完全退出並使用您的號碼2FA而不是別的。即使是亞歷山大•斯塔莫斯,Facebook的前任(並且,用他自己的話說,“正在恢復”)首席信息安全官, 他說 ,這不是一個錯誤,而是一個產品選擇。

保持雙因素身份驗證

正如您所看到的,我們故意避免就您應該和不應該使用的社交網絡提供不必要的建議。在過去的幾個月裡,人們已經看到了一些遠離Facebook的強烈論據,但一如既往,選擇完全取決於你。

如果您決定留下來,您應該記住,您可以在不透露電話號碼的情況下啟用2FA. 社交網絡還為您提供了使用U2F令牌身份驗證應用程序作為第二個因素的選項。 基於SMS的2FA系統的弱點表明你最好選擇其他兩個選項中的一個,而且它們存在的事實意味著你沒有藉口不使用它們。

March 28, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
3 + 5是什麼?

Anyone Can Trace Your Facebook Profile Using Your Phone Number If You Do Not Hide It

Facebook 2FA Phone Numbers

Security experts' job is not easy. For years, they have been saying that people must turn on two-factor authentication (2FA) wherever possible. They have been arguing that it brings a level of security that a set of login credentials simply can't match on their own. It turns out that when it comes to Facebook, having two-factor authentication enabled might have some serious privacy consequences that people wouldn't normally expect. Security experts now have egg on their faces, and the worst thing about it is, it's not even their fault.

Yet another Facebook privacy problem

It's the next in a long line of privacy scandals around the world's biggest social network, and it was sparked over the weekend by Jeremy Burge – founder and "Chief Emoji Officer" of Emojipedia. In addition to making very important emoji-related decisions, Burge is also the admin of a large Facebook page with plenty of fans, and he said that over a period of a few months, he received countless notifications urging him to enable 2FA in order to minimize the risk of account hijacking. He was ignoring the warnings until Facebook told him that if he doesn't turn 2FA on, the page would be deleted. Reluctantly, he turned on Facebook's SMS-based two-factor authentication system. Over the weekend, he was reviewing his privacy settings when he noticed something unusual.

One of the options read: "Who can look you up using the phone number you provided?". By default, it was set to Everyone, with the other options being Friends of friends and Friends. This, you have to agree, is not what you'd expect after you give your phone number for the sole purpose of turning on 2FA. Burge shared his findings on Twitter which, rather predictably, caused a bit of a stir.

The backlash, as you might imagine, is huge. Armies of people have now taken it upon themselves to tell you how evil Facebook is and how you should delete your account as quickly as possible. We reckon, however, that before trying to influence people's life choices, some things need to be cleared up.

Looking up vs. searching vs. seeing

There seems to be some confusion around Jeremy Burge's findings. Some people have misunderstood the emoji guru's tweet and appear to think that having 2FA enabled will make their phone numbers visible to everyone. This is not the case. Facebook, for all its shortcomings, gives you a rather simple and easy way of managing the visibility of your contact information. Just go to your timeline, click on the "About" tab, and make the necessary corrections.

The second misconception is that everyone can go to Facebook and use the search bar to find your profile using your phone number. This functionality was removed in the wake of the Cambridge Analytica scandal.

The problem Jeremy Burge found is a bit different. Let's say you've given Facebook your phone number for the purpose of 2FA. Someone else who you may or may not know has your phone number entered into their contact book on their phone, and they have allowed Facebook to access their contacts. Although you don't want your phone number to be used to connect you with other people, Facebook will try to hook you up.

There is a slightly more disturbing scenario. If cybercriminals have large lists of phone numbers, they can use them to associate phone numbers with real identities which, under certain circumstances, can be pretty damaging. And you don't even have to give your number away. By giving Facebook access to your contacts, you give it access to the phone numbers of all your friends, family, colleagues, and peers. Facebook not only gets these numbers without their owners' explicit consent, but it also uses them in targeted advertising campaigns.

All in all, the way Facebook handles people's phone numbers is not always as transparent as it should be, and it presents a few serious concerns for privacy-conscious people.

This time, it wasn't a mistake

The words "Facebook", "privacy", and "concerns" have appeared quite a few times in the same sentence, especially over the last few months. Few can forget the picture of a slightly pale-looking Mark Zuckerberg appearing in front of the US Congress after the Cambridge Analytica fiasco. And since then, we've heard people from the social media business utter the word "sorry" a few more times, claiming that they'll try to sort things out and better protect the private data of the billions of users that interact with Facebook every day.

These vows are in stark contrast to what Jeremy Burge discovered. The option to look up people using the phone numbers they've provided for 2FA purposes isn't new. It's been around for a while, and we doubt that nobody knew about it because Facebook accidentally "forgot" to tell people how their phone numbers are going to be used outside the 2FA system. We also doubt that someone has forgotten to add another item to the drop-down menu which lets you opt out completely and use your number for 2FA and nothing else. Even Alex Stamos, Facebook's former (and, in his own words, "recovering") Chief Information Security Officer, said that this isn't a mistake but a product choice.

Keep two-factor authentication on

As you can see, we've deliberately avoided giving unwanted advice on which social networks you should and shouldn't use. Over the last few months, people have seen a few strong arguments for staying away from Facebook, but as always, the choice is entirely yours.

If you decide to stay, you should bear in mind that you can keep 2FA enabled without revealing your phone number. The social network also gives you the option of using U2F tokens or an authentication app as a second factor. Weaknesses in SMS-based 2FA systems show that you are better off picking one of the other two options anyway, and the fact that they exist means that you have no excuses for not using them.

By Duran
March 6, 2019
March 6, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 10 + 8 ?