5,000個應用程序開發人員可以訪問用戶數據,這要歸功於Facebook的錯誤

Facebook Bug Exposes User Data

Facebook發生了與隱私相關的事件。對於許多人來說,這並不令人感到意外。馬克·扎克伯格(Mark Zuckerberg)的社交媒體捲入了很多醜聞,以至於如今,當人們聽到最新的醜聞時,他們並不會特別感到震驚或憤怒。相反,他們傾向於問這有多糟。

第三方應用程序開發人員有權訪問他們不應該訪問的數據……

平台合作夥伴關係副總裁Konstantinos Papamiltiadis在與Facebook新條款有關的博客文章中宣布了這一違規行為,該條款限制了應用程序開發人員可以與第三方共享的信息範圍。問題在於類似的機制,該機制是在2018年初發生的Cambridge Analytica醜聞之後建立的。

您可能還記得,這家英國諮詢公司收集了數百萬Facebook用戶的個人數據,並用它向他們投放了針對性的政治廣告。該事件在Facebook上引起了很多張紅色的面孔和道歉,並促使社交媒體實施某些機制,這些機制將為用戶的私人數據提供更好的安全性。

一種這樣的機制應該確保如果用戶在90天內沒有與第三方應用程序交互,則該應用程序將停止訪問該用戶的個人信息。事實證明,這種機制沒有起作用,直到最近,第三方開發人員仍可以獲取人們的數據,儘管他們的應用並未得到積極使用。

臉書:聽起來並不像聽起來那麼糟糕

帕帕米蒂亞迪斯(Papamiltiadis)知道不可避免地會有一些負面評論,因此他很快就採取了損害控制措施。他指出,總共有約5000名開發人員在90天不活動之後仍可以訪問,但他還表示,Facebook在得知此問題後立即解決了該問題。至關重要的是,該錯誤並沒有導致用戶最初選擇不共享的任何個人數據被洩露。換句話說,由於該錯誤而暴露的唯一詳細信息是用戶在停止使用該應用程序後對其進行了更改。

對最終用戶的潛在損害是有限的,你們中的有些人可能認為整個事情並不重要。但是,從更廣泛的角度看待它,您會發現問題不應該被淡化。

Facebook的又一失誤

Facebook無疑是世界上最大的社交網絡。它負責處理超過20億人的個人詳細信息,當它說它正在實施一種保護這些人的隱私的機制時,必須確保其正常工作。當事情確實出錯時,Facebook需要分享發生了什麼以及原因的詳細信息。

在此特定情況下,本公開內容留下了一些未解決的問題。儘管我們確實知道有五千名開發人員可以訪問人們的個人詳細信息,但我們不知道有多少用戶會受到影響。我們也不知道該錯誤是最近才引入的還是最近兩年是否已經存在。

在許多人看來,Facebook在隱私方面的記錄並非一塵不染,而最新事件的披露缺乏透明度並不會改變他們的意見。

July 2, 2020

5,000 App Developers Had Access to User Data Thanks to a Facebook Bug

Facebook Bug Exposes User Data

There's been a privacy-related incident at Facebook. For many, this isn't really much of a surprise. Mark Zuckerberg's social media has been involved in so many scandals, that nowadays, when people hear about the latest one, they don't tend to be particularly shocked or outraged. Instead, they tend to ask how bad is it.

Third-party app developers had access to data they shouldn't have had access to… again

The breach was announced by Konstantinos Papamiltiadis, VP of Platform Partnerships, in a blog post related to Facebook's new terms which limit the scope of information app developers can share with third parties. The problem lay with a similar mechanism that was put in place in the wake of the Cambridge Analytica scandal from early 2018.

As you may recall, the British consulting firm collected the personal data of millions of Facebook users and used it to fire targeted political ads at them. The incident led to a lot of red faces and apologies at Facebook, and it prompted the social media to implement certain mechanisms that would provide better security for users' private data.

One such mechanism was supposed to ensure that if a user didn't interact with a third-party app for a period of 90 days, the app would stop having access to the user's personal information. It turns out that this mechanism wasn't working, and up until recently, third-party developers could get people's data despite the fact that their apps were not actively used.

Facebook: It's not as bad as it sounds

Papamiltiadis knew that there would inevitably be some negative comments, and he was quick with the damage control measures. He pointed out that in total, around 5 thousand developers continued to have access after 90 days of inactivity, but he also said that Facebook fixed the issue immediately after learning about it. Crucially, the bug didn't result in the exposure of any personal data that the user hadn't opted to share initially. In other words, the only details that were exposed because of the bug are the ones that the users have changed after they've stopped using the app.

The potential damage for end users is somewhat limited, and some of you may think that the whole thing is no big deal. Look at it from a broader perspective, however, and you'll see that the problem shouldn't be played down.

Yet another blunder for Facebook

Facebook is by far and away the world's biggest social network. It is responsible for the personal details of more than 2 billion people, and when it says that it's implementing a mechanism to protect these people's privacy, it must ensure that it's working correctly. When things do go wrong, Facebook needs to share details of what happened exactly and why.

In this particular case, the disclosure left a few open questions. While we do know that 5 thousand developers might have had access to people's personal detail, we have no idea how many users could have been affected. We also don't know whether the bug was introduced recently or whether it has existed for the last two years.

In many people's eyes, Facebook's track record when it comes to privacy is not exactly spotless, and the lack of transparency in the disclosure of the latest incident is not going to do a lot to change their opinion.

July 2, 2020