組織應注意的3種複雜且代價高昂的電子郵件威脅

據估計,每分鐘網絡犯罪損失290萬美元 ,僅安全漏洞就造成大公司每分鐘損失25美元。這些數字令人震驚,而且將來可能還會增長。越來越多的公司將其業務轉移到網上,為願意在線違反法律的人們創造了越來越多的機會。電子郵件是網絡罪犯最喜歡的進入點之一,並且有一些特定的電子郵件威脅被設計為危害數據安全性。具體而言,業務數據安全性。在此報告中,我們要重點介紹三大電子郵件騙局,這些騙局一直困擾著大小公司,廣泛而又廣泛的公司。

網絡釣魚

考慮到對這種現象的研究和分析情況,您必須已經知道什麼是網絡釣魚。網絡釣魚是網絡犯罪分子誘騙人們提供信息或將其暴露於鏈接和文件中的一種方式,這些鏈接和文件可能是惡意的,也可能為更精心設計的騙局打開後門。計劃者可以創建受可信的主題行,簽名,徽標和佈局支持的消息。許多網絡釣魚電子郵件的收件人可能會毫不猶豫地與他們進行交互,這當然是一個錯誤。

每次在收件箱中找到新郵件時,您都需要檢查一個清單,以評估它是否值得打開。主題行有意義嗎?有沒有錯誤?您是否使用電子郵件地址中的信息進行尋址(例如,如果您的地址為billgates001@gmail.com ,則您可能會被稱為billgates001 )?您是否熟悉發件人?如果最終打開該消息,則還必須注意該消息。是否有人要求提供敏感信息?消息是否包含指向假冒登錄頁面的鏈接 ?消息的語氣是什麼?是否有人試圖嚇you您並使您採取粗心的行動?網絡釣魚者使用一些常用的主題行 ,但也可以對其進行定制,這就是為什麼您每次都要小心的原因。

捕鯨

當涉及到電子郵件欺詐時, 捕鯨可能會成為最危險的電子郵件欺詐類型。捕鯨也被稱為商業電子郵件妥協(BEC)騙局或CEO欺詐,始終是個人和針對性的。簡而言之,攻擊者冒充公司首席執行官或處於高級職位的其他人。當然,有人可能會冒充扎克伯格並欺騙Facebook用戶以為地球上最大的社交媒體平台的首席執行官正在與他們聯繫,但是在這種情況下,扎克伯格的名字很可能會被用來瞄準Facebook的員工。

毫無疑問,劫持實際的CEO帳戶以發送可能包含惡意鏈接,請求敏感信息,請求匯款等的誤導性電子郵件可能非常困難,甚至不可能實現。但是,創建看起來與真實地址相同的電子郵件地址是簡單。策劃者還可以瀏覽公司的社交媒體資料,並使用公共信息(例如,通過官方網站共享的電子郵件地址)來使虛擬電子郵件顯得更加合法。例如,在年末假期前後,計劃者可以嘗試假冒公司中某人的身份,據稱該人正在組織一次活動並要求參與者使用個人數據進行註冊。不幸的是,捕鯨攻擊會嚴重危害總體業務數據安全和數據安全。

欺騙

假設您負責公司內部的業務聯繫或招聘,因此您習慣於每天接收來自未知方的電子郵件。這並不意味著您可能會粗心。在執行任何操作之前,您應該注意主題行,發件人的地址和消息。欺騙與捕鯨非常相似,不同之處在於,策劃者可能會模仿局外人,而不是模仿公司內部的領導者。顯然,如果您要照顧陌生人是您的工作,那麼您就不能忽略未知方發送的每封電子郵件,但是您有責任將策劃人拒之門外,因為您不想成為負責重大數據安全漏洞的人。

網絡安全研究人員一致認為,保持警惕是防止欺騙的最佳藥物。還建議公司使用不同的工具來保護其員工免受欺騙攻擊。他們可能想要使用欺騙檢測工具,適當的加密協議,防病毒保護,VPN,防火牆和數據包過濾工具。特別是對於與欺騙相關的電子郵件詐騙,研究人員建議利用電子郵件過濾器和身份驗證系統,並忽略太可疑的電子郵件。一條好的經驗法則是,如果某件事使您感到可疑,則您想與發件人(最好使用其他通信方式)或負責網絡安全的人員進行雙重檢查。

如果數據受到電子郵件威脅,如何確保數據安全

就像公司內的所有重大決策一樣,數據安全保護也必須由其領導者來決定。 CEO必須指示較低級別的人員採取適當的步驟。例如,可以指示IT部門實施防範欺騙和網絡釣魚的防禦措施。可能會指示不同部門的經理對員工進行培訓,使他們了解如何識別網絡釣魚電子郵件以及如何防止將來成功成功破壞數據安全性。

當然,如果發生數據洩露,則修復可能已經引起的問題也很重要。例如,如果使用網絡釣魚攻擊來竊取登錄憑據,則可能必須更改正在使用的所有系統的密碼以及所有員工帳戶的密碼。進行智能更改說起來容易做起來難,因為用一個密碼更改另一個密碼是不夠的。每個密碼都必須唯一且強度高,並且並非所有相關方都有足夠的動機進行適當的更改。因此,如果需要更改密碼,我們建議實現一個受信任的密碼管理工具Cyclonis Password Manager

希望可以通過實施工具和調整設置來保護數據安全,但是請記住,策劃者俱有各種策略來進行網絡釣魚,捕鯨和欺騙攻擊。如果您低估了這種風險,那麼您不小心打開的下一封電子郵件可能會導致大問題。

September 3, 2020

發表評論

3 Types of Complicated and Costly Email Threats That Organizations Should Watch Out For

It is estimated that $2.9 million is lost to cybercrime every single minute and that large companies are losing $25/minute on security breaches alone. These are shocking numbers, and it is likely that they will grow in the future. More and more companies are moving their businesses online, and more and more opportunities are created for people who are willing to break laws online. One the of cybercriminals’ favorite points of entrance is emails, and there are a few specific email threats that have been designed to jeopardize data security. Specifically, business data security. In this report, we want to highlight three major email scams that have been plaguing companies big and small, far and wide.

Phishing

You must already know what phishing is, considering how well researched and analyzed this phenomenon is. Phishing is a way for cybercriminals to trick people into giving up information or to expose them to links and files that might be malicious or that might open backdoors for more elaborate scams. Schemers can create messages that are supported by believable subject lines, signatures, logos, and layouts. Many recipients of phishing emails might interact with them without hesitation, which, of course, is a mistake.

Every time you find a new message in your inbox, you need to go through a checklist to gauge whether it is trustworthy enough to open. Does the subject line make sense? Are there any mistakes? Are you addressed using the information within your email address (e.g., if your address is billgates001@gmail.com, you might be addressed as billgates001)? Are you familiar with the sender? If you end up opening the message, you must pay attention to the message as well. Is someone requesting sensitive information? Does the message contain a link to a login page that is fake? What is the tone of the message? Is someone trying to intimidate you and make you take careless action? There are some commonly used subject lines that phishers use, but they could also be tailored, which is why you want to be careful every time.

Whaling

When it comes to email scams, whaling might take the cake of being the most sinister type of email scam. Also known as Business Email Compromise (BEC) scam or CEO Fraud, whaling is always personal and targeted. To put it in short, an attacker impersonates the CEO of the company or someone else in a high-ranking position. Of course, someone could impersonate Mark Zuckerberg and trick Facebook users into thinking that the CEO of the largest social media platform on planet Earth is contacting them, but, in this scenario, Zuckerberg’s name is most likely to be used to target Facebook’s employees.

Without a doubt, it might be hard or even impossible to hijack actual CEO accounts to send misleading emails that might contain malicious links, request sensitive information, request money transfers, etc. However, creating email addresses that appear to be identical to real addresses is easy. Schemers can also browse through the company’s social media profiles and use public information (e.g., email addresses that are shared via an official website) to make fictitious emails appear more legitimate. For example, around the end of the year holidays, schemers could try impersonating someone in the company that, allegedly, is organizing an event and asks for participants to sign up using personal data. Unfortunately, whaling attacks can seriously jeopardize business data security and data security in general.

Spoofing

Let’s say you are responsible for business contacts or recruitment within your company, and so you are used to receiving emails from unknown parties on a daily basis. This does not mean that you can be careless. You should pay attention to subject lines, sender’s addresses, and messages before taking any actions. Spoofing is very similar to whaling, except that instead of imitating leaders within the company, schemers are likely to imitate outsiders. Obviously, you cannot ignore every email sent by an unknown party if it is your job to accommodate strangers, but it is your responsibility to keep schemers out because you do not want to be the one responsible for major data security breaches.

Cybersecurity researchers agree that staying vigilant is the best medicine against spoofing. It is also advised that companies employ different instruments to protect their employees against spoofing attacks. They might want to employ spoof detection tools, appropriate encryption protocols, antivirus protection, VPNs, firewall, and packet filtering tools. And for spoofing-related email scams specifically, researchers advise utilizing email filters and authentication systems, as well as ignoring emails that are just too suspicious. A good rule of thumb is that if something makes you suspicious, you want to double-check with the sender (preferably using a different method of communication) or with someone responsible for cybersecurity.

How to ensure data security if it is threatened via email

Just like all major decisions within a company, data security protection must be decided by its leaders. The CEO must give instructions to those in lower ranks to take appropriate steps. For example, the IT department might be instructed to implement defenses against spoofing and phishing. The managers of different departments might be instructed to train employees on how to identify phishing emails and how to prevent successful data security breaches in the future.

Of course, if a data breach has occurred, it is also important to fix issues that might have been caused already. For example, it might be essential to change passwords to all systems in use as well as the passwords of all employee accounts if a phishing attack was used to exfiltrate login credentials. Making smart changes is easier said than done because it is not enough to change one password with another. Every password has to be unique and strong, and not all involved parties might be motivated enough to make appropriate changes. Therefore, if passwords need to be changed, we recommend implementing a trusted password management tool, Cyclonis Password Manager.

Hopefully, data security can be protected by implementing tools and adjusting settings, but keep in mind that schemers have various tactics to conduct phishing, whaling, and spoofing attacks. If you underestimate this risk, the next email you open carelessly could lead to big problems.

September 3, 2020

Leave a Reply