2018年網絡安全綜述:錯在哪里以及我們學到了什麼

整個2018年,我們習慣於竊取密碼和個人信息,有時我們甚至在網絡攻擊發生時都不會眨眼。現在只有最重要的案件才能成為新聞,並且普通大眾不會注意到很多違規行為。如果我們相信網絡安全趨勢是修訂法律的安全研究人員,我們可以說,平均每個月至少對企業實體進行100次網絡攻擊。這相當於安全博客和數據銀行必須在年底處理的大量數據。

雖然我們的博客不是為您提供有關網絡安全趨勢的大量報告,但我們至少可以讓您深入了解導致2018年網絡安全領域最大騷動的原因。在本條目中,我們將介紹七個最大的安全問題在2018年,我們將通過一系列個人用戶和企業可以做的事情來保護自己免受此類攻擊。沒有人願意處理被盜的密碼和個人信息,因此採取所有預防措施以避免最明顯的威脅始終是個好主意。

萬豪數據洩露

去年11月, 萬豪國際集團報告稱,這是震撼2018年網絡安全趨勢的最大安全漏洞。最大的酒店集團經歷了廣泛的數據洩露,至少影響了5億客戶。其中一家連鎖酒店子公司的預訂數據庫被未經授權的一方黑客入侵。結果,數百萬客戶的姓名,地址,電話號碼,付款信息甚至護照號碼都被洩露。

雖然一些研究人員認為黑客攻擊是由中國國家黑客進行的 ,但這種攻擊的重點在於其他地方。它不是指著手指試圖找出一個神秘的謎團(儘管這也很重要)。現在,對我們來說,這是黑客可能對網絡安全趨勢產生的影響,以及公司和企業可以採取哪些措施來提高客戶委託給他們的個人數據的安全性。

考慮到萬豪的數據洩露問題,最大的問題可能就是為什麼護照號碼等敏感信息不會自動加密。當談到信用卡數據時,加密它的要求是明確的,但有趣的是,為什麼身份證件沒有得到與財務信息相同的處理。如果要求公司在其數據庫中加密此類個人信息,則未經授權的第三方將更難竊取該數據或使用該數據。

推特安全漏洞

我們可以說,2018年發生的安全漏洞向我們展示了主要的網絡安全趨勢。第一個是這些黑客暴露了企業數據存儲系統中最大的漏洞。第二個問題是,一些公司急於修復導致數據洩露的漏洞。

以Twitter為例。去年五月,Twitter在公司內部發生了數據洩露 ,有效地以純文本形式暴露用戶密碼. 超過3.3億用戶受到這個漏洞的影響,但Twitter爭相加強個人數據安全性,確保攻擊和竊取敏感信息變得更加困難。因此,現在Twitter已經改進了註冊過程,並且還鼓勵用戶使用多因素身份驗證來保護他們的登錄過程。

事實上,多因素身份驗證必定是2018年最大的網絡安全趨勢之一,因為我們可以看到許多流行的服務提供商將其登錄系統切換為雙因素或多因素身份驗證。例如,如果您使用Booking.com或PayPal等網站,您會注意到這些服務會鼓勵您在嘗試訪問帳戶時啟用多重身份驗證。實現這種類型的身份驗證實際上是一個好主意,因為它肯定可以幫助您避免多種安全漏洞。

Facebook安全漏洞

如果我們談論多個安全漏洞和被盜密碼和個人信息,我們當然不能忘記Facebook。這家社交媒體巨頭在2018年至少經歷了三起安全漏洞 。因此,它至少影響了1.47億用戶賬戶。

第一次違規事件發生在去年3月,據透露,一家政治諮詢公司Cambridge Analytica可以使用超過5000萬張Facebook資料用於研究目的。然而,該公司並沒有將這些數據用於實際研究,而是使用所收集的信息來創建最終將影響2016年美國總統競選活動的資料。因此, Facebook因劍橋分析公司的醜聞被起訴 ,但整個故事發現了令人擔憂的網絡安全趨勢:用戶可以信任任何人。換句話說,即使是採取所有措施來保護其數據,如果管理該敏感信息的實體與第三方共享數據也是不夠的。

幾個月後,Facebook的“查看為”功能影響了超過9000萬用戶。據發現,該功能有一個錯誤,可能允許黑客從眾多帳戶中竊取用戶名和位置信息。最後,去年12月,由於第三方應用,Facebook再次陷入困境。每當用戶在Facebook上使用第三方應用時,他們就會為該應用提供某些權限。不幸的是,許多應用程序未經授權訪問個人照片。儘管無法判斷是否有人以任何方式使用這些照片,但它清楚地證明了Facebook對其收集的數據沒有多少控制權。它恰好收集了大量的信息。

英國航空安全違規

當涉及到被盜密碼和個人信息時,最大的公司可能是最常見的目標,但有時即使是較小的洩密也會造成很大的傷害。去年9月, 英國航空公司的安全漏洞導致大約380,000起預訂交易中的細節被盜。但是,這些詳細信息包括極其敏感的數據,例如信用卡號,有效期和CVV代碼。如果您經常在線預訂機票和酒店,您肯定知道有時在沒有CVV代碼的情況下預訂是不可能的. 因此,如果黑客掌握了這些信息,他們就可以輕鬆地執行未經授權的財務操作。

這次襲擊揭示了另一種網絡安全趨勢。或許,將它稱為網絡攻擊趨勢更為合適,因為黑客展示了一種攻擊技術,這種技術在去年最大的安全漏洞中被清楚地使用過幾次。使用的方法稱為信用卡略讀。網絡犯罪分子在輸入報名表時就能竊取信用卡信息。黑客利用這種技術瞄準英國航空公司的事實表明該公司沒有實施強有力的網絡安全措施。黑客甚至不需要滲透英國航空公司的服務器。他們只是將惡意代碼注入預訂網站,然後在一定時間內收集敏感數據。不幸的是,英國航空公司並不是唯一一家在2018年遭遇類似網絡攻擊技術的公司.Ticketmaster也是如此。

Ticketmaster Data Breach

去年六月,超過40,000名Ticketmaster用戶遭遇了個人數據竊取 。此漏洞暴露了使用第三方供應商帶來的安全漏洞。如果某個網站想要立即檢查某些內容而不是解析為電子郵件,則會為其客戶提供聊天機器人。問題是Ticketmaster網站上的聊天機器人是由Inbenta Technologies運營的,它在其JavaScript代碼中使用了修改後的行。

在沒有Inbenta的知識的情況下,Ticketmaster碰巧在他們的支付頁面使用相同的代碼,並且黑客利用此代碼竊取密碼和個人信息。雖然違規行為本身並不像2018年的其他黑客那樣龐大,但一些用戶報告了嚴重的經濟損失。安全漏洞還揭示了另一個令人擔憂的網絡安全趨勢:疏忽。

正如我們之前提到的,用戶不能單獨做任何事情。網絡安全是一家合資企業,客戶,供應商和合作夥伴必須攜手合作,以確保敏感信息的安全。它需要一定程度的透明度和信任。否則,在他們的背後使用別人的代碼可能適得其反,因為它發生在Ticketmaster。換句話說,我們可以說每個人都必須對自己的義務負責。畢竟,疏忽總是會導致訴訟,就像優步一樣。

優步的封面

雖然我們在這裡討論的Uber數據洩露事件發生在2016年,但它在整個2018年引起了共鳴,因為該公司因扣留有關黑客的信息而必須支付罰款。所以這是您的另一個網絡安全趨勢:企業實體有可能掩蓋他們的不幸事件,以保持他們的形象和聲譽。

在優步的情況下,該公司不得不支付1.48億美元用於美國的數據洩露掩蓋。數據洩露事件影響了超過600,000名司機和5700萬用戶帳戶。更重要的是,除了財務結算,優步還致力於提高個人數據安全性。因此,希望該公司從過去的錯誤中吸取教訓,並且正在翻開新的一頁。

醫療保健數據洩露

2018年另一個令人擔憂的網絡安全趨勢是醫療數據洩露。從我們對此類攻擊的了解來看,它們也不可能在2019年停止. Accudoc Solutions,Unitypoint Health,CNO Financial Group,Health Management Concepts等公司的大規模安全漏洞影響了美國數百萬客戶 。由於存在如此高的數據洩露趨勢,高達30%的醫療保健數據庫被認為是在線暴露甚至不足為奇。

問題是醫療保健組織經常在非常緊張的預算下運營,他們無法承擔大量投入網絡安全的費用。它使它們成為個人數據盜竊的完美目標。黑客可以在黑暗的網絡上銷售黑客通過醫療機構竊取的信息,這可能會導致其他人獲得他們甚至無法支付的醫療福利。因此,這裡的主要觀點可能是醫療保健組織如果想要避免每天都被黑客攻擊,就需要加強網絡安全遊戲。

可以期待2019年

總的來說,2018年沒有發現網絡安全漏洞與2017年的Equifax漏洞一樣重要。然而,整體網絡攻擊數量有所增加。根據Positive Technologies的數據 ,與2017年同期相比,2018年第一季度網絡攻擊增加了32%。與2017年同期相比,2018年第二季度網絡攻擊增加了47%。雖然安全漏洞可能看起來不是很大,但是它們的絕對數量顯然在增長,我們可以預期這種網絡安全趨勢會持續到2019年。

更重要的是,安全專家建議,2019年將會出現一種對大公司的新型攻擊,稱為GDPR賞金狩獵 。犯罪分子非常了解“一般數據保護條例”,他們認為這有利於自己的工作。簡而言之,黑客可能會欺騙公司,使他們相信他們的個人數據已被破壞以勒索錢財。關鍵在於,公司更有可能向黑客支付“損失”的費用,而不是向信息專員辦公室(ICO)提出申請並支付罰款。因此,這顯然是一個有趣的網絡安全趨勢,可能會在2019年超越我們的期望。

網絡安全:你能做什麼?

如您所知,網絡安全取決於幾個因素。您需要與服務提供商及其合作夥伴共同確保敏感信息的安全。但是,如果您想知道為了緩解數據洩露威脅可以做些什麼,請列出以下內容:

  • 強密碼 。在網絡安全方面,多年來重複使用密碼是一個很大的禁忌。您希望您的密碼強大而獨特。因此,每個帳戶都需要一個長而復雜的密碼,並且您不能將其用於任何其他帳戶。提供新的強密碼對您來說可能是一項非常重要的任務,因此您可以隨時使用Cyclonis Password Manager來幫助您. 這個密碼管理器將生成強密碼,它甚至會在您的保險庫中存儲它們!所以你不必努力記住它們。
  • 可疑的電子郵件。網絡釣魚電子郵件可能是主要的網絡攻擊貢獻者,因為人們仍在點擊這些鏈接並下載這些附件而不再考慮它。即使電子郵件看起來無辜,您也應該問自己是否知道收到它的原因,是否真的知道為什麼要打開附件或點擊外發鏈接。不要自動完成所有事情。
  • 軟件更新。相當多的用戶關閉了軟件更新,因為他們發現它們太麻煩了。他們也討厭某些程序如何提示他們下載medias res中的更新。但是,可以通過更新來修補軟件可能存在的漏洞和漏洞,因此,如果您關閉更新功能,最終冒著潛在的數據洩露風險,前提是黑客發現並利用某個程序中的漏洞。
  • 信用凍結如果您的個人信息和密碼被盜,這是您可以使用的最後手段。如果你凍結了你的信用,擁有你的個人數據的黑客就無法做到這一點。你基本上綁他們的手。

肯定有更多方法可以改善您的網絡安全,但最重要的是要記住您必須對您在網上的工作負責。僅僅因為網絡攻擊並沒有在臉上(物理上)擊中你,這並不意味著它不能直接影響你的生活。

January 28, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
5 + 8是什麼?

2018 Cybersecurity Roundup: What Went Wrong and What We Learned

Throughout 2018 we got so used to stolen passwords and personal information that sometimes we don't even blink anymore when a cyber attack happens. Only the most significant cases make the news nowadays, and quite a lot of breaches go unnoticed by the general public. If we were to believe the cybersecurity trends security researchers at Revision Legal, we could say that at least 100 cyber attacks against business entities are carried out every month on average. This amounts to a whole lot of data that security blogs and data banks have to process at the end of the year.

Although our blog is not there to provide you with extensive reports on cybersecurity trends, we can at least give you an insight into what caused the biggest uproar in the cybersecurity world in 2018. In this entry, we will cover seven of the biggest security issues in 2018, and then we will go through a list of things individual users and businesses can do to protect themselves from such attacks. No one wants to deal with stolen passwords and personal information, so it is always a good idea to take all the precaution measures to avoid the most obvious threats.

Marriott Data Breach

Arguably the largest security breach that shook the cybersecurity trends for 2018 was reported by Marriott International last November. The biggest hotel group experienced an extensive data breach that affected at least 500 million customers. The reservation database of one of the hotel chain's subsidiaries got hacked by an unauthorized party. As a result, names, addresses, phone numbers, payment information, and even passport numbers of millions of customers got leaked.

While some researchers suggested that the hack has been carried out by Chinese state hackers, the point of this breach lies elsewhere. It is not about pointing fingers trying to figure out a whodunit mystery (although that is also important). Right now, for us, it is the implications that this hack can have on the cybersecurity trends, and what companies and business can do to improve the safety of the personal data entrusted onto them by their customers.

Perhaps the biggest question that arises looking at Marriott's data breach is why such sensitive information as passport number does not get encrypted automatically. When it comes to credit card data, the requirement to encrypt it is clear, but it is interesting as to why the identity documents do not get the same treatment as the financial information. If companies were required to encrypt such personal information in their databases, it would be harder for unauthorized third parties to steal that data or to make use of it.

Twitter Security Breach

We could say that the security breaches that occurred in 2018 showed us the main cybersecurity trends. The first one is that these hacks expose the biggest vulnerabilities in corporate data storage systems. And the second one is that some companies rush to fix the vulnerabilities that had led to data leaks.

Take Twitter, for example. Last May, Twitter experienced a data leak within the company that effectively exposed user passwords in plain text. More than 330 million users were affected by this bug, but Twitter scrambled to strengthen the personal data security, making sure that it gets harder to hack and steal sensitive information. Consequently, now Twitter has improved the sign-up process, and the users are also encouraged to use multi-factor authentication to secure their login process, too.

As a matter of fact, multi-factor authentication must've been one of the biggest cybersecurity trends in 2018 because we could see a lot of popular service providers switching their login system to two-factor or multi-factor authentication. For example, if you use such websites as Booking.com or PayPal, you will have noticed that these services encourage you to enable multi-factor authentication whenever you try to access your account. It is actually a good idea to enable this type of authentication because it certainly might help you avoid multiple security breaches.

Facebook Security Breach

If we're talking about multiple security breaches and stolen passwords and personal information, we certainly cannot forget Facebook. The social media giant went through at least three security breaches in 2018. As a result, it affected at least 147 million user accounts.

The first breach occurred last March when it was revealed that a political consulting firm Cambridge Analytica could use more than 50 million Facebook profiles for research purposes. However, rather than using the data for actual research, the firm used the collected information to create profiles that would eventually influence the US presidential campaign in 2016. As a result, Facebook got sued over the Cambridge Analytica scandal, but the entire story unearthed a worrying cybersecurity trend: users can trust no one. In other words, even if one was to take all the measures to protect their data, it will not be enough if the data is shared with a third party by the entity that manages that sensitive information.

A few months later, more than 90 million users were affected by Facebook's "View As" feature. It was discovered that the feature had a bug that could allow hackers to steal usernames and location information from numerous accounts. Finally, last December, Facebook got in trouble again because of third-party apps. Whenever users use a third-party app on Facebook, they give that app certain permissions. Unfortunately, a lot of those apps got unauthorized access to personal photos. Although it was not possible to tell whether anyone used the photos in any way, it clearly proved that Facebook does not have much control over the data it collects. And it happens to collect extreme amounts of information.

British Airways Security Breach

When it comes to stolen passwords and personal information, the biggest companies might be the most common targets, but sometimes even a smaller breach can cause a lot of harm. The British Airways security breach last September saw details stolen from around 380,000 booking transactions. However, these details included extremely sensitive data, such as credit card numbers, expiry dates, and CVV codes. If you often book your flights and hotels online, you definitely know that sometimes it is impossible to place a booking without the CVV code. So if hackers get the hold of this information, they can easily perform unauthorized financial operations.

This attack revealed another cybersecurity trend. Perhaps, it would be more appropriate to call it a cyber attack trend, because the hack showcased a type of attack technique that was clearly used several times in the biggest security breaches last year. The method used is called a credit card skimming. The cyber criminals were able to steal credit card information the moment it was being typed into the entry form. The fact that hackers used this technique to target British Airways shows that the company does not implement strong cybersecurity measures. The hackers didn't even need to infiltrate the British Airways servers. They just injected a malicious code into the booking website and then collected the sensitive data over a certain timeframe. Unfortunately, British Airways isn't the only company that suffered from similar cyber attack techniques in 2018. The same happened to Ticketmaster.

Ticketmaster Data Breach

Last June, more than 40,000 Ticketmaster users experienced personal data theft. This breach exposed a security vulnerability that comes with using third-party suppliers. A certain website provides a chat-bot for their customers if they want to check something immediately instead of resolving to emails. The thing is that the chat-bot on the Ticketmaster website is operated by Inbenta Technologies that uses a modified line in its JavaScript code.

Ticketmaster happened to use the same code for their payment page without Inbenta's knowledge, and this code was exploited by hackers to steal passwords and personal information. Although the breach itself wasn't as massive as other hacks in 2018, some users have reported heavy financial losses. The security breach also shed light onto another worrying cybersecurity trend: negligence.

As we have mentioned before, users cannot do anything alone. Cybersecurity is a joint venture, where customers, suppliers, and partners have to work hand-in-hand in order to ensure that the sensitive information remains safe. It requires a certain level of transparency and trust. Otherwise, using someone else's code behind their backs can backfire as it happened to Ticketmaster. In other words, we can say that everyone has to be more responsible for their obligations. After all, negligence can always result in a lawsuit, as it happened to Uber.

Uber's Cover-up

Although the Uber data breach we're talking about here occurred back in 2016, it resonated throughout 2018 because of the fines that the company had to pay for withholding the information about the hack. So here's another cybersecurity trend for you: It is possible that a business entity will cover up their mishap in order to retain their image and reputation.

In the Uber's case, the company had to pay $148m for the data breach cover-up in the United States. The data breach had then affected more than 600,000 drivers and 57 million user accounts. What's more, aside from the financial settlements, Uber also committed to improving their personal data security. So hopefully, the company has learned from its past mistakes, and it is turning a new leaf.

Healthcare Data Breaches

Another worrying cybersecurity trend of the 2018 was the healthcare data breaches. Judging from what we know about such attacks, it is hardly unlikely they will stop in 2019, too. Large security breaches at such companies as Accudoc Solutions, Unitypoint Health, CNO Financial Group, Health Management Concepts, and others affected millions of customers in the United States. With such high data breach tendencies, it is not even surprising that up to 30% of Healthcare databases are thought to be exposed online.

The problem is that healthcare organizations often operate on a very tight budget, and they cannot afford to invest a lot into cybersecurity. It makes them a perfect target for personal data thefts. The information that hackers manage to steal from healthcare organizations can be later on sold on the dark web, and it can result in someone else getting the healthcare benefits they didn't even pay for. So perhaps the main point here is that healthcare organizations need to step up their cybersecurity game if they want to avoid getting targeted by hackers every single day.

What to Expect in 2019

Overall, the year 2018 did not see a cybersecurity breach as significant as the Equifax breach in 2017. However, the overall cyber attack numbers have increased. According to Positive Technologies, the first quarter of 2018 saw a 32% increase in cyber attacks compared to the same period in 2017. The second quarter of 2018 saw an even bigger 47% increase in the cyber attacks as compared to the same period in 2017. While the security breaches may not seem massive, the sheer amount of them is clearly growing, and we can expect this cybersecurity trend to continue well into 2019.

What's more, security specialists suggest that the year 2019 will see a new type of attack on big firms called the GDPR bounty hunting. The criminals are well aware of the General Data Protection Regulation, and they make it work in their own favor. To put it simply, hackers may fool companies into believing that their personal data has been breached in order to extort money. The point is that companies are more likely to pay the hacker a fee for their "loss,” rather than address the Information Commissioners Office (ICO) and pay their fines. So it is clearly an interesting cybersecurity trend that might take off in 2019 beyond our expectations.

Cybersecurity: What Can You Do?

As you already know, cybersecurity depends on several factors. You need to work together with the service supplier and their partners to ensure that the sensitive information is safe. However, if you are wondering what you can do on your end to mitigate a data breach threat, here is a list of things you could consider:

  • Strong passwords. Reusing passwords for years is a big no-no when it comes to cyber security. You want your passwords to be strong and unique. So each account needs to have a long and complex password, and you cannot use it for any other account. Coming up with new strong passwords can be too much of a task for you, so you can always make use of Cyclonis Password Manager to help you with that. This password manager will generate strong passwords, and it will even store them for you in its vault! So you won't have to work hard on memorizing them.
  • Suspicious emails. Phishing emails are probably the main cyber attack contributors because people are still clicking those links and downloading those attachments without giving it a second thought. Even if an email looks innocent, you should always ask yourself whether you know why you received it, whether you really know why you're opening the attached file or clicking the outgoing link. Don't do everything automatically.
  • Software update. Quite a few users turn off software updates because they find them too bothersome. They also hate it how certain programs prompt them to download an update in medias res. However, updates are there to patch up the bugs and vulnerabilities the software might have, so if you turn off the update feature, you eventually risk a potential data breach, provided the hackers find and exploit a vulnerability in a certain program.
  • Credit freeze. This is the last resort that you can employ if your personal information and passwords were stolen. If you freeze your credit, the hackers who have your personal data cannot do much with it. You basically tie their hands.

There are definitely more ways to improve your cybersecurity, but the most important thing is to remember that you have to be responsible for what you do online. Just because a cyber attack doesn't hit you square in the face (physically), it doesn't mean it cannot affect your life directly.

January 9, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 9 + 10 ?