密碼,地址和支付卡數據在視覺直接數據洩露期間被洩露

Vision Direct Data Breach

Vision Direct是一家隱形眼鏡,眼鏡和其他護眼產品的大型跨國零售商,最近遭遇了數據洩露事件,暴露了部分客戶的個人信息。這種類型的新聞如今很常見,以至於當人們聽到長長的服務遭到黑客入侵時,人們幾乎不會眨眼。然而,Vision Direct的違規行為有點不同。

通常,騙子是在充滿用戶名,密碼,個人詳細信息和其他敏感信息的數據庫之後。管理這些數據庫是服務提供商的責任,不幸的是,有時候,他們並沒有做得很好。系統管理員經常用弱密碼保護他們,在某些情況下,他們根本不保護密碼。使用Vision Direct,沒有證據表明實際的數據庫受到了損害。相反,網站本身就存在問題。

黑客入侵11月3日,雖然目前尚不清楚他們是如何做到的,但顯然他們深入了解Vision Direct的基礎設施。他們將虛假的Google Analytics腳本嵌入到零售商主要在線商店的源代碼中,並且在很好的情況下,他們還將其安裝在Vision Direct在比利時,西班牙,法國,愛爾蘭,意大利和荷蘭的區域網站上。

在接下來的五天半時間裡,惡意劇本一直未被發現,這表明這些騙子在偽裝它方面做得很好。 11月8日,Vision Direct終於抓住了它並將其從受影響的網站中刪除。然後,零售商面臨著解釋所發生事情的艱鉅任務。

壞消息

事實上,Google Analytics腳本是一個鍵盤記錄程序。就像騙子安裝在用戶PC上的常規鍵盤記錄器一樣,這個鍵盤記錄擊鍵。唯一的區別是它只記錄在受影響的網站上輸入的信息。在Vision Direct的情況下,這包括用戶名,密碼,姓名,電子郵件,帳單地址,信用卡詳細信息等。

這種類型的數據經常在更常規的破壞場景中被盜,黑客在這種情況下使用充滿信息的數據庫。但是,在大多數情況下,供應商不會存儲信用卡的CVV代碼,這會限制黑客可以對被盜數據執行的操作。

Vision Direct表示他們也不存儲CVV,但不幸的是,使用鍵盤記錄器,攻擊者能夠獲得有價值的三位數字。儘管攻擊者確實必須考慮其他限制,但潛在的傷害更為顯著。

不是壞消息

Vision Direct在星期天打破了有關此漏洞的消息 ,儘管他們對受影響人數有點保持沉默,但他們最終告訴TechCrunch ,該黑客已經使16,000多名用戶面臨風險. 6,600可能有財務數據受到損害,大約9,700可能已經暴露了他們的個人詳細信息。

在宏觀方案中,這些數字並不是很大,這是因為雖然鍵盤記錄器可以竊取一些本來難以獲得的信息,但它們無法大量吸收數據。

關於鍵盤記錄器的好(或壞,取決於透視)的事情是它不能竊取用戶未輸入的內容。因此,在不創建新帳戶或登錄現有帳戶的情況下瀏覽Vision Direct網站的人員不會受到任何影響。不幸的是,確實輸入用戶名和密碼的用戶已經公開了他們的憑證,但是,只有提供或更新個人和財務信息的用戶才會洩露。為避免任何進一步的潛在嚴重後果,受鍵盤記錄程序影響的人必須確保其Vision Direct密碼不會在其他任何地方重複使用。

總的來說,應該指出的是,這遠遠不是我們見過的最糟糕的數據洩露。但是,有些課程需要學習,特別是對於Vision Direct。

April 12, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
6 + 2是什麼?

Passwords, Addresses, and Payment Card Data Were Leaked During a Vision Direct Data Breach

Vision Direct Data Breach

Vision Direct, a large, multi-national online retailer of contact lenses, glasses, and other eyecare products recently suffered a data breach which exposed the personal information of some of its customers. This type of news is so common nowadays that people hardly bat an eyelid when they hear about the next in a long line of services getting hacked. Vision Direct's breach, however, is a bit different.

Usually, the crooks are after databases full of usernames, passwords, personal details, and other sensitive information. It's the service providers' responsibility to manage these databases, and unfortunately, sometimes, they don't do a very good job. Sysadmins often protect them with weak passwords, and in some cases, they don't protect them at all. With Vision Direct, there is no evidence of the actual database getting compromised. Instead, it was the website itself that was problematic.

The hackers got in on November 3, and although it's not clear how they did it exactly, it's obvious that they got deep within Vision Direct's infrastructure. They embedded a fake Google Analytics script into the source code of the retailer's main online shop, and for good measure, they also installed it on Vision Direct's regional websites in Belgium, Spain, France, Ireland, Italy, and the Netherlands.

For the next five and a half days, the malicious script remained undetected which goes to show that the crooks had done a good job of disguising it. On November 8, Vision Direct finally caught it and removed it from the affected websites. Then, the retailer was faced with the difficult task of explaining what had happened.

The bad news

The Google Analytics script was, in fact, a keylogger. Like a regular keylogger that crooks install on users' PCs, this one records keystrokes. The only difference is that it only logs the information that is entered on the affected website. This, in Vision Direct's case, includes usernames, passwords, names, emails, billing addresses, credit card details, etc.

This type of data is often stolen during a more conventional breach scenario where hackers make off with databases full of information. In most cases, however, vendors don't store a credit card's CVV code which limits the number of things a hacker can do with the stolen data.

Vision Direct said that they too don't store CVVs, but unfortunately, with the keylogger, the attackers were able to obtain the valuable three-digit numbers. The potential damage was more significant, though the attackers did have to make do with other limitations.

The not-so-bad news

Vision Direct broke the news about the breach on Sunday, and although they were a bit quiet about the number of affected people, they eventually told TechCrunch that the hack had put a little over 16 thousand users at risk. 6,600 could have had financial data compromised, and about 9,700 might have had their personal details exposed.

In the grand scheme of things, these numbers are not exactly huge, and that's because while a keylogger can steal some information that would otherwise be difficult to obtain, they can't siphon off data in bulk.

The good (or bad, depending on the perspective) thing about a keylogger is that it can't steal something the user hasn't entered. As a result, people who browsed the Vision Direct's websites without creating a new account or logging in to an existing one weren't affected in any way. The users that did enter their usernames and passwords, unfortunately, got their credentials exposed, but of them, only the ones that provided or updated personal and financial information had it compromised. To avoid any further, potentially serious consequences, people affected by the keylogger must ensure that their Vision Direct passwords aren't reused anywhere else.

Overall, it should be noted that this is far from the nastiest data breach we've ever seen. There are lessons to be learned, though, especially for Vision Direct.

By Duran
November 21, 2018
November 21, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 3 + 10 ?