万豪遭到数据泄露:客户必须马上修改密码

marriot hotels data breach

数据泄露最近屡见不鲜。商业巨头如亚马逊、雅虎、Ticketmaster、Equifax等都报告了今年的数据泄露事件。现在我们又有了新的受害者:万豪国际。 万豪国际集团是一家美国的酒店管理公司,负责管理酒店和住宿设施。任何曾经住过酒店的人都知道他们会收集姓名、地址甚至护照号码等个人信息。因此,很明显,世界上最大的连锁酒店报告的数据泄露必将影响数百万人。在这篇博文中,我们将更深入地讨论这一事件以及受数据泄露影响的用户应如何保护他们的信息。

万豪的数据泄露是怎么发生的

据报道,万豪在11月30日星期五发生了数据泄露事件。该报告声称,“未经授权的一方”获取了大约5亿喜达屋客户的个人信息。喜达屋是万豪的子公司之一。公开的数据包括密码、电子邮件地址、客户入住和离店日期、甚至是护照号码等敏感信息。该公司建议恶意第三方删除上述数据,但没有明确说明是否有结果。

当时很难说清谁应对这一令人震惊的行为负责。然而,差不多两周后,美国政府调查人员认为中国黑客很有可能参与了这次袭击。调查尚未结束,因此很难得出明确的结论。然而,对于结果人们没有感到太惊讶,因为中国黑客之前被发现与Anthem和CareFirst的数据泄露事情有关。联邦调查局未就此说法发表评论。

假设数据泄露实际上是由中国黑客发起的,他们从中获得了什么?由于万豪喜达屋是一家大型连锁酒店,因此被盗数据可用于建立档案、并监控外交官、军事人员、记者和其他被认为拥有重要信息的个人。

同时,万豪仅在12月11日时就数据泄露事件重复了他们之前的立场,称他们的主要目标是帮助他们的客户,并且他们没有关于攻击背后的罪犯的信息。

万豪国际集团被控告数据泄露

万豪的主要目标可能是客户满意,然而显然,不是所有人都对这一说法买账。在数据泄露事件发生后,俄勒冈州的两名男子起诉了万豪国际集团,并且很快,就有另一起诉讼从马里兰州。

要知道,有5亿用户由于数据泄露受到影响。如果诉讼没有被撤销,万豪可能会最终支付数十亿美元的赔偿金。上述两起诉讼均寻求集体诉讼地位。虽然我们不知道马里兰州诉讼中规定的损害赔偿数量,但俄勒冈州的诉讼预计会有125亿美元的成本和损失。这相当于万豪国际年收入的一半左右。另一方面,很明显受数据泄露影响的用户必须得到赔偿,但问题也应该从另一方面考虑。重点就是,用户自己可以采取一些措施来保护他们的数据。

您可以怎么保护您的个人数据

您要做的第一件事是重置您的万豪密码并登录。您可以在万豪网站上找到“更改密码”页面,并打开来执行此操作。这个需要您输入您的电子邮件地址和当前密码,并重复两次新密码,单击“提交”按钮后,您将重置万豪密码并登录。

如果您一时想不出创建什么新的密码,您可以使用Cyclonis密码管理器。它可以帮助您生成新的和强密码或检查当前的密码强度。强密码是指由小写字母和大写字母、数字和特殊字符组成的密码。这些密码也必须相对较长,使其更难被破解。更重要的是,您还可以使用此密码管理器来存储您的密码,不必特意记住它们!

除了重置万豪密码和登录外,还有其他一些您可能需要注意的事项。例如,您应该格外注意打开的电子邮件。由于数据泄露事件,您必然会收到来自万豪的电子邮件,但同时可能还有大量试图冒充的垃圾邮件。为了避免恶意网络钓鱼攻击,您需要注意所打开的邮件。

接下来,您可能需要考虑冻结您的信用卡。这样可以防止在您解除冻结前申请新的信用服务。您需要联系您的信用卡公司。尤其是当有人可能已经获得了您的个人身份信息(万豪的数据泄露事件就是这种情况)时,信用冻结非常有用。通过冻结您的信用,您可以防止第三方使用您的个人信息申请信用卡、贷款和抵押。

此外,使用第三方服务进行在线监控也可以帮到您。例如,喜达屋通常会为所有客人免费提供WebWatcher的年度试用服务。该监控工具可以查找在线黑市上出售的个人信息。虽然其效率尚未得到证实,但普遍的共识是使用类似的服务并没有什么其他的坏处。

总而言之,像万豪国际所经历的这类数据泄露事件是非常不幸的。公司和个人用户可以尝试采用各种安全措施来防止此类攻击,但面对经验丰富的黑客,这些措施可能并非绝对有效。

January 8, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
4 + 5是什么?

A Data Breach Hits Marriott: Customers Must Change Passwords NOW

marriot hotels data breach

Data breaches seem to have been all the rage recently. Such business giants as Amazon, Yahoo, Ticketmaster, Equifax, and others have all reported data breaches this year. And now we have the newest victim on the line: Marriott International. Marriott International is an American hospitality company that manages hotels and lodging facilities. Anyone who has ever stayed at a hotel knows that they collect such personal information as names, addresses, and even passport numbers. Therefore, it is clear that the data breach reported by the largest hotel chain in the world is bound to affect millions. In this blog post, we will talk more about the incident and what the users affected by the data breach should do to protect their information.

How Did the Marriott Data Breach Occur

Marriott reported the data breach on Friday, November 30th. The report claimed that an “unauthorized party” managed to access personal information of around 500 million Starwood customers. Starwood happens to be one of the Marriott subsidiaries. The data that was exposed included such sensitive information as passwords, email addresses, departure and arrival dates, and even passport numbers. The company suggested that the malevolent third party tried to remove the said data, but it didn't say explicitly whether the attempt was successful.

It was hard to say who was responsible for this shocking breach at the time. However, almost two weeks later, there are U.S. government investigators who believe that it was very likely the Chinese state hackers were behind the attack. Of course, the investigation is far from over yet, so it is hard to draw definite conclusions. Nevertheless, it wouldn't be too surprising because Chinese hackers have previously been held responsible for data breaches at Anthem and CareFirst. In the meantime, the FBI declined to comment on this claim.

Let's say the data breach was really performed by Chinese hackers. What do they actually gain from this? Since Marriott's Starwood is a big hotel chain, the stolen data could be used to build dossiers and monitor diplomats, military personnel, journalists, and other individuals who are deemed to have important information.

In the meantime, Marriott only repeated their previous stance on the data breach on December 11th, saying that their primary objective is to help their clients and that they do not have information about the criminals behind the attack.

Marriott International Sued for Data Exposure

It is probably a good idea that Marriott's main objective is the satisfaction of their clients because it is clear that not everyone is happy about what happened. For example, almost immediately after the data breach was reported, two men from Oregon sued Marriott International, and another lawsuit was filed in Maryland soon enough.

Keeping in mind that 500 million users were affected by this data breach, if the lawsuits aren't dropped, Marriott might end up paying billions of dollars in compensation. For example, both of the lawsuits mentioned above seek class-action status. Although we don't know about the number of damages specified in the Maryland suit, the Oregon lawsuit expects $12.5 billion in costs and losses. And that amounts for around half of Marriot International's annual revenue. On the other hand, while it is clear that users affected by the data breach must be compensated for the losses; there is another side of this issue, too. The point is that there are also certain points the users themselves can do to protect their data.

What Can You Do to Protect Your Personal Data

The first thing you have to do is reset your Marriott password and login. You can do that by opening the Change Password form, which you can find at the Marriott's website. The process is self-explanatory. You have to enter your email address, then your current password, and repeat the new password twice. Once you click the Submit button, you will reset your Marriot password and login.

If you find it challenging to come up with a new password on the spot, you can make use of Cyclonis Password Manager. This tool can help you generate new and strong passwords or check the current password strength. By strong passwords, we mean passwords that consist of lower case and upper case letters, numerals, and special characters. These passwords also have to be relatively long because then it is harder to crack them. What's more, you can also use this password manager to store your passwords, so you do not need to remember them!

Aside from resetting the Marriott password and login, there are also several other things you might want to pay attention to. For instance, you should be careful about the emails you open. In the light of the data breach, you are bound to receive an email from Marriott, but there might also be an onslaught of spam messages that try to impersonate the company. Thus, to avoid malicious phishing attacks, you need to be attentive about the messages you open.

Next, you might want to consider freezing your credit. This stops criminals from opening a new credit line unless you lift the freeze. To do that, you need to contact your credit company. Credit freezes are useful when there is a possibility that someone might have gotten ahold of your personally identifiable information (which is the case in the Marriott's data breach). By freezing your credit, you would prevent a third party from applying for a credit card, loans, and mortgages by using your personal information.

Also, it's not a bad idea to employ a third-party service for online monitoring. For example, Starwood usually gives a free annual trial for WebWatcher to all of its guests. This monitoring tool looks out for personal information going up for sale on black markets online. Although the efficiency of this service hasn't been proven yet, the general consensus is that it wouldn't hurt to employ something like that.

All in all, it is very unfortunate that data breaches like the one Marriott International experienced happen in the first place. Companies and individual users can try to employ a variety of security measures to prevent such attacks, but one has to realize that in the face of experienced hackers these measures might not be absolutely fail-proof.

December 27, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 5 + 4 ?