您的社會安全號碼花費很少,可以賣給任何人

如果您認為沒有人對您的個人信息感興趣,您需要再次思考。根據益百利的說法,從您的社會安全號到您的醫療記錄的所有內容都與網絡黑客有關,他們願意付錢購買這些數據。當然,它花費花生的事實並沒有幫助的情況。據Experian在4月份報導,社會安全號碼在黑市上以1美元的價格出售。全年情況並沒有太大變化,“華爾街日報”告知,有人獲得社會安全號碼需要3美元和5分鐘。不幸的是,如果攻擊者收集到這些信息,就會造成很大的破壞。雖然您無法控制主要公司和服務提供商所經歷的數據洩露,但每個人都可以採取措施來保護社會安全號碼和其他個人數據。

個人數據的成本是多少

這些天你能買幾美元買什麼?也許是麥當勞的一杯咖啡或iTunes上的一首歌。雖然我們都知道每一分都很重要,但沒有什麼可以購買一兩美元。黑客不是這種情況。通過投入幾美元,他們可以獲得可以幫助他們冒充人的信息,並可能在更大範圍內協調盜竊。雖然我們所指的Experian報告是在4月份發布的,但從那時起價格不太可能發生變化或發生重大變化。根據該報告,社會安全號碼的費用為1美元,合併的信用卡信息(姓名,出生日期,帳號)費用為30美元,駕駛執照費用為20美元。更昂貴的數據包括在線支付服務的登錄憑證,最高可達200美元,以及可使黑客錢包減輕1,000美元的醫療記錄。總的來說,總和並不是非常大,毫無疑問,一些網絡犯罪分子可能願意支付。

生活在美國的人不是唯一面臨風險的人。最近有報導稱 ,印度的網上銀行詳細信息和信用卡信息可以賣到3,5000盧比(約合50美元)。當然,社會安全號碼,信用卡號碼或醫療記錄不是唯一的目標。例如,一捆1,000個Instagram密碼以15美元的價格出售 。每一小部分可識別的信息都可能最終出現在黑市上,因為毫無疑問,總會有人可以利用它。

個人數據如何最終落入網絡犯罪分子的手中

您知道過去一年有多少重大數據洩露事件?數量太多,並且,根據受影響的機構或公司,各種個人信息最終可能會進入黑市。記錄此信息的黑客可以使用黑暗網絡,地下論壇和其他平台來銷售它。它可以作為單獨的部分(例如,一個社會安全號碼)或作為捆綁銷售。數據包可以包含同一服務的密碼集合,也可以包含屬於同一個人的多個數據. 毫無疑問,這些類型的捆綁包是最理想的捆綁包,因此是最昂貴的捆綁包,因為黑客對一個人的信息越多,他們的攻擊就越成功。

你應該擔心社會安全號碼嗎?

簡短的回答是肯定的。如果網絡攻擊者獲得可以幫助他們冒充您的信息,他們可以獲取貸款並設置與您的個人帳戶相關聯的新帳戶。他們還可以通過竊取醫療記錄和可能的處方來執行醫療保健詐騙。今年夏天發生的事件表明,黑客可以在數據盜竊攻擊中竊取個人毒品處方。在記錄的病例中, 新加坡150萬患者受此影響。在美國,社會安全號碼是最重要的識別工具之一。開戶時,申請貸款和護照,註冊Medicare,填寫納稅申報表或獲得駕駛執照都是必要的。您可以繼續閱讀我們之前的帖子中攻擊者如何使用個人信息社會安全號碼 。毫無疑問,用戶需要盡可能地保護社會安全號碼和其他個人數據。

如何獲得社會安全號碼

首先,您必須小心如何分享它。即使有人要求您披露您的SSN,在披露之前您需要三思而後行。實際上,您應該僅在我們在前一段中討論過的情況下使用它。在所有其他情況下,您沒有義務披露它。您還需要注意如何處理物理SNN卡。如果它被盜,這個號碼也可以在線銷售。當然,你的SNN很長,沒有人希望你記住它。如果您處於需要該號碼的情況下,那麼擁有它就會很棒。話雖如此,安全性很重要,因此您不應將其寫在錢包內的紙上,而不應將其保存在雲端驅動器上未報告的文件中。

我們建議您將社會保險號存儲在Cyclonis Password Manager的電子錢包中。它是一個使用主密碼加密和保護的數字錢包。如果您選擇將所有數據存儲在雲驅動器上,您將能夠從與Cyclonis Password Manager兼容的任何設備訪問它。在一天結束時,雖然我們無法保證您信任的公司能夠保護社會安全號碼和其他個人數據不會讓您失望,但您也必須承擔責任。請注意您如何分享個人信息,如果您懷疑某人可能使用非法獲取的數據冒充您,請立即聯繫當局。

January 28, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
9 + 8是什麼?

Your Social Security Number Costs a Few Bucks and Can Be Sold to Anyone

If you believe no one is interested in your personal information, you need to think again. According to Experian, everything from your social security number to your medical records interests cyber hackers, and they are willing to pay money to obtain this data. Of course, the fact that it costs peanuts does not help the situation. It was reported back in April by Experian that social security numbers were sold on the black market for 1 US Dollar. The situation has not changed much throughout the year, and The Wall Street Journal informs that it takes 3 US Dollars and 5 minutes for someone to obtain a social security number. Unfortunately, if attackers gather such information, they can cause great damage. While you cannot control the data leaks that major companies and service providers experience, there are things everyone can do to secure social security numbers and other personal data.

What is the cost of personal data

What can you buy for a dollar these days? Maybe a McDonald's cup of coffee or a song on iTunes. Although we all know that every cent matters, there is nothing substantial that you can purchase for a dollar or two. That is not the case for hackers. By investing a few bucks, they can obtain information that could help them impersonate people and, potentially, orchestrate theft on a much larger scale. Although the Experian report we are referring to was published in April, it is unlikely that the prices have changed or changed significantly since then. According to the report, a social security number costs $1, combined credit card information (name, birth date, account number) costs $30, and a driver's license costs $20. Among more expensive data is login credentials to online payment services, which can go up to $200, and medical records that can make the hackers' wallets lighter by $1,000. Overall, the sums are not incredibly large, and there is no doubt that some cybercriminals might be willing to pay.

People living in the US are not the only ones who are at risk. It was recently reported that online banking details and credit card information can be sold for 3,5000 INR (~50 USD) in India. Of course, social security numbers, credit card numbers, or medical records are not the only targets. For example, a bundle of 1,000 Instagram passwords is sold for $15. Every little piece of identifiable information can end up on the black market because, undoubtedly there's always someone who can exploit it.

How does personal data end up in cybercriminals' hands

Do you know how many major data breaches were recorded in this past year? Too many to count, and, depending on the institution or company that is affected, all kinds of personal information could end up on the black market. The hackers who record this information can then use the dark web, underground forums, and other platforms to sell it. It can be sold as individual pieces (e.g., one social security number) or as bundles. Bundles of data can contain a collection of passwords to the same service, or multiple pieces of data that belong to the same person. Without a doubt, these kinds of bundles are the most desirable ones and, therefore, are the most expensive because the more information the hacker has about one person, the more successful they can be with their attacks.

Should you worry about social security numbers

The short answer is YES. If cyber attackers obtain information that could help them impersonate you, they could take out loans and set up new accounts linked to your personal account. They could also perform healthcare scams by stealing medical records and, potentially, prescriptions. An incident recorded this summer revealed that hackers can steal personal drug prescriptions during data theft attacks. In the recorded case, 1.5 million patients in Singapore were affected by this. In the US, a social security number is one of the most important tools for identification. It is necessary when opening accounts, applying for loans and passports, enrolling in Medicare, filling out tax return forms, or getting a driver's license. You can continue reading about how attackers use personal information and social security numbers in our previous posts. Without a doubt, users need to secure social security numbers and other personal data as best as they can.

How to secure a social security number

First and foremost, you must be careful about how you share it. Even if someone asks you to disclose your SSN, you need to think twice before revealing it. In fact, you should use it only in situations that we discussed in the previous paragraph. In all other cases, you are not obligated to reveal it. You also need to be careful about how you handle your physical SNN card. If it is stolen, the number could be sold online as well. Of course, your SNN is long, and no one expects you to remember it. If you are in a situation where you need the number, it would be great to have it around. That being said, security is important, and so you should not carry it written down on a paper inside your wallet, and you should not keep it in an unreported file on a cloud drive.

We recommend storing your social security number in the Cyclonis Password Manager's Wallet. It is a digital wallet that is encrypted and protected with a master password. If you choose to store all data on a cloud drive, you will be able to access it from any device that the Cyclonis Password Manager is compatible with. At the end of the day, while we cannot guarantee that the companies you trust to secure social security numbers and other personal data will not let you down, you have to take responsibility too. Be careful about how you share personal information, and if you suspect that someone might be impersonating you using illegally obtained data, contact the authorities immediately.

By Foley
December 19, 2018
December 19, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 8 + 4 ?