一个名为“ ThemeGrill Demo Importer”的WordPress插件向黑客暴露了200,000个网站

WordPress ThemeGrill Plugin Vulnerability

像WordPress这样的内容管理系统(CMS)已完全改变了创建和维护网站的过程。现在,建立网站就像设置WordPress安装并添加一些内容一样容易。曾经从头开始编写整个网站的人现在可以创建CMS主题和插件,这些内容和插件可以帮助您调整和自定义自己的网站,而无需单击几下鼠标。它比以前方便得多,而且更重要的是便宜很多。但是,这需要权衡。

为WordPress之类的平台编写主题和插件的人时常会犯错,而一旦犯错,错误不仅会影响一个网站。一个错误可能会导致成千上万个网站出现问题,并且如果该问题与安全相关,那么后果可能是非常严重的。 WordPress的ThemeGrill Demo Importer插件中一个最近发现的漏洞向我们展示了事情有多糟糕。

ThemeGrill留下了一个漏洞,该漏洞可能使黑客擦除了整个网站

ThemeGrill开发了适用于WordPress的高级主题,并且还提供了一个名为ThemeGrill Demo Importer的插件,该插件使管理员可以轻松地将主题和设置直接导入其网站。如果您有基于WordPress的网站,并且使用的是ThemeGrill Demo Importer,则必须确保将插件更新为最新版本。 WebARX的研究人员发现,ThemeGrill Demo Importer 1.3.4和ThemeGrill Demo Importer 1.6.1之间的所有插件都受到一个严重的安全漏洞的影响,该漏洞可能使黑客蒙受巨大的破坏。

问题在于名为reset_wizard_actions的函数,该函数在插件检测到活动的ThemeGrill主题时加载。该函数连接到通常仅在管理环境中运行的admin_init 。但是,它也可以调用/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php,研究人员发现与该文件进行交互时, reset_wizard_actions不会检查用户是否已通过身份验证。

使用精心设计的有效负载,黑客可以清除易受攻击的网站上的所有内容,或者可以拥有管理权限,并可以或多或少地对其进行任何操作。

ThemeGrill修补了插件

WebARX报告显示,公开问题并提供解决方案并不是最顺畅的体验,但我们应该指出,我们看到的情况要差得多。研究人员于2月6日发送了他们的第一份报告。五天未收到任何回复,他们试图再次与ThemeGrill联系。 2月14日,开发人员最终做出了答复,并在两天内发布了解决该问题的新版本。

修补此漏洞的事实是个好消息,但这只是故事的一半。引入了该错误的ThemeGrill Demo Importer 1.3.4版本已于三年前发布,并且在该补丁发布之日至周日之间,每个使用该插件的网站都已公开。尽管没有野外利用的迹象,但是在其上安装了ThemeGrill Demo Importer的20万个网站中,仍有许多仍在使用易受攻击的插件版本,这意味着我们很快就会看到该漏洞的受害者。

这就是大问题所在。据W3Techs称,WordPress为全球超过35%的网站提供支持。有一个支持CMS的整个生态系统,数百万人使用它,因为使用它维护网站非常容易。令人遗憾的是,经验告诉我们,在这些人的许多优先级列表中,安全更新和补丁并不是很高。如果要使互联网变得更安全,那必须改变。

February 18, 2020

发表评论

A WordPress Plugin Called 'ThemeGrill Demo Importer' Exposed 200,000 Websites to Hackers

WordPress ThemeGrill Plugin Vulnerability

Content Management Systems (CMS) like WordPress have completely transformed the process of creating and maintaining a website. Right now, building a website can be as easy as setting up a WordPress installation and adding some content. The people who once wrote entire sites from scratch now create CMS themes and plugins that help you tweak and customize your very own website with no more than a few clicks of the mouse. It's much more convenient and, more importantly, quite a bit cheaper than it used to be. There is a trade-off, though.

The people who write themes and plugins for platforms like WordPress do make mistakes every now and again, and when they do, the errors don't affect just one website. A single bug can cause issues for thousands of websites, and if the problem is security-related, the consequences can be pretty devastating. A recently discovered vulnerability in the ThemeGrill Demo Importer plugin for WordPress showed us just how bad things could be.

ThemeGrill left a bug that could have allowed hackers to wipe entire websites

ThemeGrill develops premium themes for WordPress, and it also offers a plugin called ThemeGrill Demo Importer, which lets administrators easily import themes and settings directly to their websites. If you have a WordPress-based website and if you use ThemeGrill Demo Importer, you must make sure that the plugin is updated to its latest version. Researchers from WebARX discovered that all incarnations of the plugin between ThemeGrill Demo Importer 1.3.4 and ThemeGrill Demo Importer 1.6.1 are affected by a critical security vulnerability that can let hackers wreak complete havoc.

The problem lies with a function called reset_wizard_actions, which is loaded when the plugin detects an active ThemeGrill theme. The function hooks up to admin_init which normally runs only in an admin environment. It can also make calls to /wp-admin/admin-ajax.php, though, and the researchers discovered that when interacting with this file, reset_wizard_actions doesn't check whether a user is authenticated.

Using carefully crafted payloads, hackers can either wipe out all of the content on a vulnerable website, or they can assume administrative rights and do more or less whatever they want with it.

ThemeGrill patched the plugin

WebARX report shows that disclosing the problem and helping with the fix wasn't the smoothest experience, but we should point out that we've seen far worse. The researchers sent their first report on February 6. After receiving no replies for five days, they tried to get in touch with ThemeGrill again. On February 14, the developer finally replied, and within two days, a new version that addresses the issue was released.

The fact that the vulnerability is patched is good news, but it's only half the story. ThemeGrill Demo Importer 1.3.4, the version that introduced the bug, was released a whopping three years ago, and every single website that used the plugin between then and Sunday when the patch was released has been exposed. Although there's no evidence of in-the-wild exploitation, many of the 200 thousand websites that have ThemeGrill Demo Importer installed on them still use vulnerable versions of the plugin, which means that we could see victims of the vulnerability very soon.

This is where the big problem lies. According to W3Techs, WordPress powers more than 35% of all websites around the world. There is a whole ecosystem supporting the CMS, and millions of people use it because maintaining a website with it is about as easy as it gets. Sadly, experience has taught us that security updates and patches aren't very high on many of these people's priority lists. If the internet is to become a safer place, this must change.

February 18, 2020

Leave a Reply