在淫秽网站的黑客中暴露用户的密码

Eight Pornographic Websites Hacked

假设您玩的中等热门在线游戏遭到黑客入侵。您使用的个人电子邮件地址主要用于垃圾邮件。除此之外,黑客窃取您的家庭IP地址,您在玩游戏时使用的昵称,并且他们也可以获得游戏开发者存储的密码。

如果您的网络配置正确,黑客无法对您的IP做太多工作,并且因为开发人员是一个负责任的组织,认真对待安全性,您的密码在存储之前会被正确加密和散列,这意味着骗子无法恢复它。结果是,虽然您可能会看到泄露的电子邮件地址中收到的垃圾邮件数量有所增加,但您不太可能遭受任何其他后果。

虽然看似合理,但这种情况已经弥补。不幸的是,下一个不是。

8个成人网站泄露了超过120万条记录

上周,HaveIBeenPwned数据泄露通知服务的运营商和全力以赴的信息安全传奇人物Troy Hunt获得了一个包含120万条记录的98MB文件。经过进一步调查,他发现该数据库由八个独立的成人网站共享 - wifelovers [。] com,wifeposter [。] com,asiansex4u [。] com,indiansex4u [。] com,bbwsex4u [。] com,nudemen [ 。] com,nudelatins [。] com,nudeafrica [。] com。数据转储包括名称,用户名,电子邮件和IP地址以及散列密码。

这些不仅仅是普通的色情网站。其中一些显然是用户发布配偶亲密照片的平台。没有人知道上述配偶是否同意将他们的照片与世界分享,这意味着如果他们发现发生的事情他们可能会非常沮丧。

成人网站公开您的数据总是令人尴尬,但这并不一定会破坏您的婚姻。在这种情况下,它可能很好。不幸的是,这不是唯一的坏消息。

可怜的密码存储错误

Wifelovers [。] com,这个遭受攻击的主要网站是在二十多年前推出的,但即使按照当时的标准,也没有很好地保护用户的密码。在接下来的二十年里,没有任何改变。使用称为Descrypt的算法对密码进行哈希处理。 Descrypt基于旧的数据加密标准,它创建于1979年。即使在1997年,使用这种古老的算法保护密码被认为是一个坏主意。 Descrypt确实比MD5略胜一筹,并且它会自动对密码进行加密。但是,盐太小,并且不允许用户创建长度超过八个字符的密码。因此,现代硬件可以在几秒钟内使用Descrypt恢复密码。

因此,在他们被告知泄漏后(并非没有Ars Technica的帮助),受攻击网站的所有者将他们的服务脱机并发布了违规通知,敦促所有用户在任何地方使用密码时更改密码其他。

您可以看到不同的数据泄露会产生不同的后果。 Wifelovers的成员发生的事情几乎和它一样糟糕,它确实表明你永远无法确定你的数据何时何地被泄露。

April 30, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
6 + 8是什么?

Users' Passwords Exposed During a Hack of Pornographic Websites

Eight Pornographic Websites Hacked

Let's say a moderately popular online game that you play gets hacked. You've used a personal email address that's reserved mostly for junk mail. Alongside it, the hackers steal your home IP address, the nickname you use when you play the game, and they also get their hands on the password as stored by the game developer.

If your network is configured correctly, the hackers can't do much with your IP, and because the developer is a responsible organization that takes security seriously, your password is properly salted and hashed before it's stored meaning that crooks can't recover it. The upshot is, while you will probably see an uptick in the amount of spam that you receive on the leaked email address, you are unlikely to suffer any other consequences.

While plausible, this scenario is made up. The next one, unfortunately, isn't.

Eight adult websites leak more than 1.2 million records

Last week, operator of the HaveIBeenPwned data breach notification service and all-out infosec legend Troy Hunt obtained a 98MB file that contained 1.2 million records. Upon further investigation, he found out that the database was shared by eight separate adult websites – wifelovers[.]com, wifeposter[.]com, asiansex4u[.]com, indiansex4u[.]com, bbwsex4u[.]com, nudemen[.]com, nudelatins[.]com, nudeafrica[.]com. The data dump consists of names, usernames, email and IP addresses, as well as hashed passwords.

These are not just any run-of-the-mill porn websites. Some of them apparently serve as platforms where users publish intimate photos of their spouses. There's no telling whether the said spouses agreed to have their pictures shared with the world, meaning that they could be quite upset if they find out what has happened.

Having your data exposed by an adult website is always embarrassing, but it doesn't necessarily ruin your marriage. In this case, it may very well do that. Unfortunately, that's not the only bad news.

Woefully bad password storage

Wifelovers[.]com, the main website that fell victim to the attack was launched more than twenty years ago, but even by the standards of the day, it wasn't doing a great job of protecting users' passwords. Nothing changed over the next two decades. The passwords were hashed with an algorithm known as Descrypt. Descrypt is based on the old Data Encryption Standard, and it was created in 1979. Even in 1997, it was considered a bad idea to protect passwords with that ancient algorithm. Descrypt is indeed slightly better than MD5, and it does salt the passwords automatically. The salt is way too small, however, and users aren't allowed to create a password that's longer than eight characters. As a result, modern hardware can recover passwords hashed with Descrypt in mere seconds.

Because of this, after they were informed about the leak (not without the help of Ars Technica), the owners of the attacked websites took their services offline and posted a breach notification, urging all users to change their password if they have used it anywhere else.

You can see how different data breaches can have different consequences. What happened to Wifelovers' members is just about as bad as it gets, and it does show that you can never be sure where and when your data is going to get leaked.

October 23, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 2 + 3 ?