這就是為什麼使用Facebook的一鍵登錄是一個可怕的想法

幾乎任何對網絡安全有所了解的人都有一些普遍接受並被認為是良好做法的原則。不要去可疑網站是一個好網站 - 它可以最大限度地降低網絡攻擊的風險。不要下載可疑文件 - 保護用戶免受他們可能以其他方式下載的任何惡意軟件的侵害。不要打開可疑的電子郵件並按照裡面的說明進行操作 - 這個電子郵件幾乎與之前的電子郵件具有相同的用途。畢竟,可疑的未經請求的電子郵件是不可信任的。

好吧,事實證明,幾乎從來沒有。事實證明,雖然大多數可敬且可靠的公司都不習慣從自己以外的域發送不請自來的電子郵件,但Facebook並不是大多數公司,並且非常樂意這樣做。

當然,我們正在談論臭名昭著的“一鍵式”登錄功能,該功能是通過Facebook本身發送的電子郵件啟用的。在線安全專家推測,這是Facebook的一項計劃性舉措,旨在提高用戶保留率,並將無私的用戶帶回首位。無論“一鍵登錄”活動的原因是什麼,它都引起了網絡安全專家的一些批評,甚至有人說“這幾乎就像是由沒有真正安全培訓的人設計的”。

鑑於此,警告似乎是有序的 - 應該避免可疑的電子郵件。網絡釣魚詐騙是一個非常現實的威脅 - 僅僅因為一家公司的官方電子郵件看起來很可疑,這並不意味著所有來自該公司的電子郵件都是安全的。

Facebook而言 ,數據洩露事件使得黑客能夠獲得迄今為止數百萬用戶的Facebook詳細信息。正如一位著名的安全研究人員所說: “這些電子郵件違背了我們安全行業多年來試圖向公司灌輸的所有最佳實踐”。只要Facebook繼續以這種方式格式化其電子郵件,用戶就無法通過假貨和網絡釣魚嘗試快速告知實際的合法Facebook電子郵件。那麼用戶應該怎麼做呢?

這個難題的解決方案相當簡單 - 用戶應繼續對其在線通信進行全面審查,並確保他們採取所有必要的預防措施以避免網絡釣魚攻擊。

可用於發現潛在網絡釣魚電子郵件的明確紅旗

  1. 發件人的電子郵件地址錯誤/不一致。如果電子郵件聲稱是從E-bay與您聯繫,但發送消息的電子郵件地址並未顯示“ebay@ebay.com” ,就像您從E-bay收到的任何其他消息一樣,那麼你很可能是網絡釣魚嘗試的目標。
  2. 用戶的電子郵件地址錯誤。如果您收到的消息中包含個人信息,該信息稱涉嫌發送該信息的公司應該有,並且顯然是錯誤的,或者如果其中包含用戶未提供給公司的任何信息,則表示該消息可能是一個騙局。
  3. 該消息以過於通用的問候語開頭。公司很少(如果有的話)用“親愛的客戶”或任何類似的東西開始發送電子郵件. 即使是自動機器人和通知系統也可以通過問候語和明確指示他們正在尋址的特定用戶(如用戶ID,帳戶名稱或其他詳細信息)來啟動發送給您的電子郵件。如果缺少這種識別方法,那麼所涉及的電子郵件可能就是一種網絡釣魚策略。
  4. 消息包含可疑鏈接。如果消息包含奇數鏈接,則可能是消息被設計為以某種方式欺騙用戶。
  5. 郵件包含不尋常和可疑的內容。如果該消息與您從公司收到的所有其他消息顯著不同,則很可能是欺詐性的。請注意諸如莫名其妙地破壞語法之類的內容,以不同於通常的方式格式化消息,或以不尋常的字體書寫。
  6. 該消息要求您放棄個人信息。您應該特別警惕任何直接告訴您洩露任何類型敏感信息的消息。消息可能會詢問您的任何內容,從帳戶密碼到信用卡號。不要放棄任何東西。
  7. 該消息是未經請求的。這可能是你應該注意的最大的紅旗 - 如果你收到一封不請自來的消息,看似隨意;你應該懷著健康的懷疑來對待它。

很容易理解為什麼用戶會對Facebook發出的“一鍵登錄”產生懷疑。對於將來潛在的網絡釣魚嘗試,他們應該並且應該繼續保持警惕。

March 1, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
10 + 10是什麼?

Here's Why Using Facebook's One Click Login Is a Terrible Idea

There are certain tenets that are universally accepted and considered good practices by almost anyone who knows anything about online security. Don't go to suspicious sites is a good one – it minimizes the risks of cyber-attacks. Don't download suspicious files – that one protects users from any malware that they may otherwise download. Don't open suspicious emails and follow the instructions inside – that one pretty much serves the same purpose, as the previous ones. After all, suspicious unsolicited emails are not to be trusted.

Well, as it turns out, almost never. It turns out that, while most respectable and reliable companies are not in the habit of sending unsolicited emails from domains other than their own, Facebook is not most companies and is more than happy to do so.

We're, of course, talking about the infamous ”One Click” login feature, that was enabled through emails sent by Facebook itself. Online security experts speculate that this is a calculated move on Facebook's part, aimed at increasing user retention and bringing disinterested users back to the fold. Whatever the reason for the ”One Click login” campaign may be, it drew some scalding criticism from online security experts, one even saying that ”It's almost as if it was designed by someone with no real security training.”

In light of this, a warning seems to be in order - suspicious emails should be avoided. Phishing scams are a very real threat – and just because one company's official emails look suspicious, that doesn't mean that all emails from that claim to originate from that company are safe.

In the case of Facebook, data breaches have allowed hackers to get their hands on the Facebook details of millions of its users to date. As one prominent security researcher put it ”These emails go against all of the best practices we in the security industry have for years tried to instill in companies”. As long as Facebook continues to format its emails in such a manner, there's no reliable way for users to quickly tell the actual legitimate Facebook emails from the fakes and the phishing attempts. So what should users do about this?

The solution to the conundrum is rather simple – users should continue to treat their online correspondence with all due scrutiny and make sure they take all the necessary precautions to avoid phishing attacks.

Definite red flags that you can use to spot potential phishing emails

  1. The sender's email address is wrong/inconsistent. If an email claims to be contacting you from E-bay, but the e-mail address from which the message originated doesn't say ”ebay@ebay.com”, just as any other message you've ever received from E-bay, then you are most likely the target of a phishing attempt.
  2. The user's email address is wrong. If a message you received features personal information that the company that allegedly sent it should have at hand, and apparently got wrong, or if it features any information that the user didn't give to the company, said the message is probably a scam.
  3. The message starts with a greeting that's too generic. Companies rarely, if ever, start their emails with ”Dear customer”, or anything of the sort. Even automated bots and notification systems are designed to start emails they send to you with a greeting and a clear indication if which particular user they are addressing – such as user ID, account name or some other detail. If such a means of identification is missing, the emails in question is probably a phishing ploy.
  4. The Message includes s suspicious links. If the message contains odd links, then the chances are that the message is designed to dupe the user in one way or another.
  5. The Message includes unusual and suspicious content. If the message appears significantly different from all other messages that you have received from the company, then it is most likely fraudulent. Keep an eye out for things such as inexplicably broken grammar, the message being formatted in a different manner than usual, or written in an unusual font.
  6. The message requires you to give up personal information. You should be extra wary of any message that outright tells you to divulge sensitive information of any type. Messages may ask you for anything, from account passwords to credit card numbers. Do not give anything away.
  7. The message is unsolicited. This is probably the biggest red flag that you should note - if you receive an unsolicited message, seemingly at random; you should treat it with a healthy dose of suspicion.

It's easy to see why users would be suspicious about the ”One Click login” that Facebook sent out. They were right to be and should continue to be vigilant for potential phishing attempts in the future.

By Giles
November 30, 2018
November 30, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 10 + 10 ?