为什么在密码中包含个人信息是一个可怕的想法

Personal Information in Passwords

我们希望您做得对,并采用了一种工具来处理您的密码。不过,你可能还记得你自己做的时候。这是一场斗争,不是吗?

一方面,您必须拥有足够长的复杂密码,以使任何可行的暴力攻击无效。同时,每个帐户都需要使用自己的唯一密码进行保护。在自动密码生成器出现以消除负担之前,您可能偏离了上述所有规则。

你的一些密码可能不像以前那么强大,我们愿意打赌你使用的密码数量比你当时的在线帐户数量要少。如果来自Check Point 的2010年研究报告可以通过,您的密码中也可能包含一些个人信息。让我们看看这个想法究竟有多糟糕。

个人信息不再是个人信息

我们试图不要听起来偏执,但事实是,在现代世界中,你的一些个人信息将不可避免地最终公开。在某些情况下,甚至不是你的错。有时,应该保护您的数据的网站和服务提供商似乎并不擅长。

事实上, 最近的事件向全世界表明,在某些情况下,获取完整陌生人的个人信息就像更改地址栏中的几个字符一样简单。很可能,我们将来会继续看到像这样的设计错误,而最糟糕的是,你可以做的很少。在大多数情况下,您不知道公司未能保护您的数据,直到它已经为时已晚。

分享不一定关心

然而,有时候,你只能责怪自己。在社交媒体时代,我们在互联网上分享了很多关于自己的事情,我们很少想到后果。但是,如果我们的密码中包含个人信息,则后果可能非常严重。

以此为例:你有一只叫Bailey的狗,你非常爱他。所以,你已经确定你的一个密码将是“ilovebailey”。你还确保每个人都知道你对他的关心程度,因为他会在你的每张Instagram照片中都有他。你可能会看到这一切都会如何结束。

显然,上面的示例遵循旧的“使用您的宠物的名称作为您的密码”的陈词滥调。有时,即使您认为自己避免了最明显的错误,猜测密码也同样容易。让我们说除了你的狗,你也喜欢英国金属乐队Iron Maiden创作的音乐,你经常在他们的Facebook个人资料上分享他们音乐会的视频。可以说,如果黑客试图接管你的一个帐户,“ironmaidenrocks”将成为他们尝试的第一批密码。

您可能会认为我们的示例过于富有创意以提高恐惧因素,但快速检查会向您显示人们实际上正在使用这些密码. 使用Have I Been Pwned服务,您可以看到在泄露的数据库中至少发现了241次“ilovebailey”,并且“ironmaidenrocks”已被发现不少于12次。

这个问题不容小觑。如果您必须记住密码,则需要确保没有人能够轻松猜出密码。更好的是,对任何人都没有意义。幸运的是,您不再需要担心,因为您现在有一个https://cyclonis.com/products/password-manager密码管理器,负责为您创建和记住您的密码。

May 20, 2019

发表评论

Why Including Personal Information in Passwords Is a Terrible Idea

Personal Information in Passwords

We're hoping that you've done the right thing and have adopted a tool that takes care of your passwords for you. You do probably remember the times when you were doing it on your own, though. It was a struggle, wasn't it?

On the one hand, you had to have complex passwords that were long enough to render any feasible brute-force attacks useless. At the same time, each account needed to be secured with its own unique password. Before the automated password generator came along to take the burden away, you were probably deviating a bit from all the above rules.

Some of your passwords probably weren't as strong as they should have been, and we're willing to bet that the number of passwords you were using was smaller than the number of online accounts you had back then. If a 2010 research report from Check Point is anything to go by, you likely had some personal information in your passwords as well. Let's see exactly how bad of an idea this is.

Personal information is no longer personal

We're trying not to sound paranoid, but the fact of the matter is, in the modern world, some of your personal information will inevitably end up being publicly available. In some cases, it's not even your fault. Sometimes, websites and service providers that are supposed to be protecting your data don't seem to be very good at it.

In fact, recent incidents have shown the world that in some cases, getting a complete stranger's personal information is as easy as changing a couple of characters in the address bar. Chances are, we'll continue to see design errors like this one in the future, and the worst thing is, there's little you can do about it. In most cases, you don't know that a company has failed to protect your data until it's already too late.

Sharing isn't necessarily caring

Sometimes, however, you only have yourself to blame. In the age of social media, we share quite a lot about ourselves on the Internet, and we rarely think of the consequences. If personal information is included in our passwords, however, the consequences could be quite severe.

Take this as an example: you have a dog named Bailey, and you love him very much. So much so, that you've decided that one of your passwords will be "ilovebailey". You've also made sure everybody knows how much you care for him by featuring him in every single one of your Instagram photos. You can probably see how this could all end up.

Obviously, the example above follows the old "use the name of your pet as your password" cliché. Sometimes, guessing a password could be just as easy, even if you think that you've avoided the most obvious mistakes. Let's say that in addition to your dog, you also love the music created by British metal band Iron Maiden, and you frequently share videos from their concerts on your Facebook profile. It's fair to say that if hackers try to take over one of your accounts, "ironmaidenrocks" will be among the first passwords they try.

You might be thinking that we're being overly creative with our examples to bump up the fear factor, but a quick check will show you that people are actually using these passwords. Using the Have I Been Pwned service, you can see that "ilovebailey" has been found at least 241 times in leaked databases, and "ironmaidenrocks" has been pwned no fewer than 12 times.

The problem is not to be underestimated. If you must remember a password, you need to make sure that nobody will be able to guess it easily. Better still, it should make no sense to anyone. Luckily for you, you no longer have to worry about that because you now have a https://cyclonis.com/products/password-manager password manager that takes care of creating and remembering your passwords for you.

By Duran
August 1, 2018
August 1, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 4 + 7 ?