為什麼Twitter會告訴數百萬用戶更改密碼?

您可能聽說Twitter最近告訴其3億多用戶更改密碼,但您想知道為什麼嗎?嗯,原因很簡單,就是用戶的安全性。 Twitter發現了一個存在重大安全風險的漏洞,需要加以解決。其中一部分涉及要求社交媒體巨頭的用戶更改密碼。 Twitter代表補充說,自那時以來沒有發現安全漏洞或漏洞,但警告用戶都是這樣。據該公司稱,此問題已得到解決。

關於這個bug

顯然,這個bug是一個內部問題。 Twitter代表解釋說,這個錯誤導致用戶密碼被存儲為內部系統中的簡單純文本,任何人都可以訪問和閱讀。這個社交媒體巨頭已經解決了這個問題並且大肆道歉。 Twitter告訴其客戶改變他們的密碼,以防萬一社交媒體的IT團隊觀察到一個看似無辜的錯誤,在Twitter的內部系統上以純文本保存用戶密碼。

Twitter的回應

Twitter的安全專家已經解決了這個問題,但該公司仍建議用戶更改密碼以防萬一。
Twitter的技術主管Parag Agrawal在這個問題上表示:“我們非常抱歉這件事發生了。我們認識到並感謝您對我們的信任,並致力於每天贏得這種信任。”

Twitter向其3.36億用戶發出了一條推文,警告他們密碼問題。
“我們最近發現了一個錯誤,它將密碼存儲在內部日誌中。我們修復了錯誤並且沒有任何人違反或濫用的跡象。作為預防措施,請考慮在您使用此密碼的所有服務上更改密碼, “閱讀的消息。

關於Twitter的安全措施和您的隱私

任何社交媒體,或者實際上任何關心其用戶安全的公司或機構,都會以黑客無法讀取的方式存儲密碼,例如通過加密。 Twitter也不例外。該公司使用一種名為“哈希”的系統來改變密碼的字符,並將它們保存為Twitter內部系統中的隨機數字和符號,從而無法猜測。但是,由於該錯誤,密碼以純文本形式存儲。

“這允許我們的系統驗證您的帳戶憑據,而不會洩露您的密碼,” Parag Agrawal解釋說。 “這是一個行業標準。”由於存在錯誤,在完成散列過程之前,密碼被寫入內部日誌。我們自己發現了這個錯誤,刪除了密碼,並且正在實施防止此錯誤再次發生的計劃,“他補充道。

Parag要求用戶更改密碼,並使用額外的安全措施,如雙因素身份驗證,以確保帳戶的安全。他還強烈建議Twitter的用戶群使用可靠的密碼管理器作為另一層保護。

May 20, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
8 + 5是什麼?

Why Did Twitter Tell Millions of Users to Change Their Passwords?

You may have heard that Twitter recently told its 300+ million users to change their passwords, but have you wondered why? Well, the reason for that is quite simple, it's about their users' security. Twitter discovered a bug, which posed a major security risk, and needed to be addressed. Part of that involved asking the users of the social media giant to change their passwords. Twitter reps added that no security breaches or leaks were detected since then, but cautioned users all the same. According to the company, the issue has since been fixed.

About the bug

Apparently, the bug was an internal issue. Twitter reps have explained that the bug caused user passwords to be stored as simple, plain text in their internal systems, which anyone could access and read. The social media giant has since fixed the issue and apologized profusely. Twitter told its clients to change their passwords just in case though after the social media's IT teams observed a seemingly innocent bug that saved user passwords in plain text on the Twitter's internal systems.

Twitter's response

Twitter's security specialists have fixed the issue, but the company still advises users to change their passwords just in case.
Parag Agrawal, Twitter's head of technology said this on the issue: "We are very sorry this happened. We recognize and appreciate the trust you place in us, and are committed to earning that trust every day."

Twitter sent out a tweet to all of its 336 million users warning them of the password issue.
"We recently found a bug that stored passwords unmasked in an internal log. We fixed the bug and have no indication of a breach or misuse by anyone. As a precaution, consider changing your password on all services where you’ve used this password," the message read.

About Twitter's security measures and your privacy

Any social media, or indeed, any company or institution that cares about its users' safety stores their passwords in a way that makes them impossible to read by hackers, like through encryption, for example. Twitter is no exception. The company uses a system called "hashing" that changes the characters of the passwords and saves them as random numbers and symbols in Twitter's internal systems making it impossible to guess. However, due to the bug, the passwords were stored in plain text instead.

"This allows our systems to validate your account credentials without revealing your password," Parag Agrawal explained. "This is an industry standard. "Due to a bug, passwords were written to an internal log before completing the hashing process. We found this error ourselves, removed the passwords, and are implementing plans to prevent this bug from happening again," he added.

Parag asked users to change their passwords, and also use extra security measures, like two-factor authentication to ensure their accounts' safety. He also strongly recommended that Twitter's user base look into using a reliable password manager as another layer of protection.

June 27, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 5 + 3 ?