什麼是Scareware以及如何避免它?

How to Avoid Scareware

很多評論黑客事件和數據洩露事件的人經常說用戶是網絡安全鏈中“最薄弱的環節”,我們完全清楚你們中的一些人可能會對此感到不滿。然而,問問專家,他們也會告訴你鍵盤背後的“設備”確實是系統中被利用最多的部分。

黑客通常會成功,因為他們能夠欺騙用戶做他們不應該做的事情。通常情況下,當談到計算機的內部工作時,騙子會賭人們缺乏理解,必須說這種策略已被證明是相當有效的。然而,有時候還不夠。

為了增加成功的機會,騙子經常將用戶置於需要立即採取行動的場景中。人們被告知,如果他們不迅速採取行動,他們的數據將受到嚴重威脅,而壞人則希望這種情況的緊迫性會讓用戶忽視常常明顯的差異,這些差異很容易讓攻擊暴露出來。是。 Scareware可以作為騙子如何使用恐懼因素來利用無辜用戶缺乏技術知識的完美例子。

什麼是恐怖軟件?

將恐嚇軟件置於單一定義之下是很困難的。有些人可能會說,我們去年討論的sextortion電子郵件也可以歸類為恐嚇軟件,並且無可否認,無論誰對他們負責,都依賴於人們害怕暴露一些非常私密的秘密。然而,“ware”後綴表明,scareware應該包含某種軟件應用程序,所以今天我們將關注其他場景。

傳統上,最常見的恐嚇軟件類型涉及所謂的假(或流氓)反病毒程序。雖然有些情況下通過不請自來的電子郵件宣傳假AV產品,但通常會通過瀏覽器彈出窗口引起您的注意。

虛假AV通過陰暗的網站或通過黑客入侵的合法網站推送。彈出窗口通常帶有許多驚嘆號,警告標誌和閃爍的圖像,它們告訴您,您的計算機上充斥著各種令人討厭的惡意軟件。為解決這個問題,我們敦促您下載一個您從未聽說過的安全產品,廣告稱,它將立即消除所有威脅。

當然,所述安全產品既不是免費的也不是功能性的。它會試圖通過假裝掃描你的硬盤來說服你它正在工作,它會告訴你它發現了許多惡意文件。稍後點擊幾下,該應用程序將宣布所有內容都已修復,顯然情況並非如此。

通常情況下,騙子會將欺詐性應用程序設計為看起來像真正的,有信譽的反惡意軟件解決方案,並且他們在其上放置徽標和“受信任...”徽章以使它們看起來合法。實際上,即使您的計算機充斥著病毒和特洛伊木馬,流氓AV應用程序既沒有意圖也沒有刪除它的能力。整個過程的目的是讓您到達您的信用卡並支付假冒產品的費用。

儘管流氓AV應用程序佔據了恐怖軟件行業的重要組成部分,但其他策略似乎也起作用。騙子有時會試圖讓你下載承諾各種不同功能的應用程序。有時,他們推送完全虛假的軟件,有時,他們會分發盜版的真實應用程序. 有時,惡意程序的工作方式與廣告一樣,但它們帶有額外的模塊,顯示通知和警告,看起來好像是警察或其他政府機構發布的。他們說,在您的計算機上發現了一些非法(通常是成人)材料,並且您需要支付違法費用。如果你不這樣做,警察很快就會敲你的門,而且很快就會變得非常討厭。顯然,這一切都不是真的。這個想法是嚇唬你付出假的“罰款”。

這種更具侵略性的恐怖軟件應用程序甚至可能會顯示全屏窗口,試圖說服您已被鎖定在PC外。專家可以相當快地擺脫它們,但不幸的是,許多受害者沒有打電話給他們,因為他們太害怕聽到手銬咔噠聲。

如何遠離恐嚇軟件?

必須說,現在恐嚇軟件已經過了鼎盛時期。特別是流氓AV在過去的21世紀末和本十年的早期曾經風靡一時,但它們已經被其他更複雜的威脅所取代。儘管如此,我們一次又一次地看到一個恐怖主義活動支持其醜陋的頭腦,這就是為什麼知道如何保護自己可能並不是一個壞主意。

每個人必須遵循的安全規則應足以阻止大多數恐嚇軟件攻擊。其中包括使用信譽良好的安全產品,使您的操作系統和軟件應用程序保持最新,並利用您喜歡的瀏覽器的彈出窗口阻止功能。

在網上沖浪時,大致了解什麼是不可能的以及什麼是不可能的,這也是值得的。例如,您需要記住,瀏覽器彈出窗口無法判斷您的計算機是否充斥著惡意軟件。還應該清楚的是,如果執法人員對您的硬盤內容有任何疑問,他們將不會使用您的桌面發布需要您在加密貨幣或禮品卡中支付“罰款”的看似陰暗的票據。

當你想到它時,這聽起來像是常識,但事實證明它並不像它應該的那樣普遍。我們希望這會改變。

May 23, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
3 + 9是什麼?

What Is Scareware and How to Avoid It?

How to Avoid Scareware

Quite a few of the people commenting on hacking incidents and data breaches often say that the user is the 'weakest link' in the cybersecurity chain, and we are fully aware that some of you may feel offended by this. Ask the experts, however, and they too will tell you that the 'device' behind the keyboard is indeed the part of the system that gets exploited the most.

More often than not, hackers succeed because they are able to trick users into doing something they shouldn't be doing. Usually, the crooks bet on people's lack of understanding when it comes to the inner workings of a computer, and it must be said that this tactic has proven to be rather effective. Sometimes, however, it is not enough.

To increase their chances of success, crooks frequently put users in a scenario that requires immediate action. People are told that if they don't act quickly, their data will be placed under severe threat, and the bad guys are hoping that the urgency of the situation will make users overlook the often glaring discrepancies that can easily expose the attack for what it is. Scareware can serve as a perfect example of how crooks use the fear factor to exploit innocent users' lack of technical knowledge.

What is scareware exactly?

It's difficult to put scareware under a single definition. Some might say that the sextortion emails that we discussed last year can also be classified as scareware, and there's no denying the fact that whoever is responsible for them relied on people being afraid of having some pretty intimate secrets exposed. The "ware" suffix suggests, however, that scareware should involve some sort of a software application, so today, we'll focus on other scenarios.

Traditionally, the most common type of scareware involves the so-called fake (or rogue) anti-virus programs. Although there have been cases where fake AV products are advertised through unsolicited emails, usually, they are brought to your attention via browser popups.

Fake AVs are pushed either through shady websites or through legitimate ones that have been compromised by hackers. The popups usually come with lots of exclamation marks, warning signs, and flashing images, and they tell you that your computer is infested with all kinds of nasty malware. To fix the issue, you are urged to download a security product you've never heard of which, the ad says, will get rid of all the threats in no time.

Of course, the said security product is neither free nor functional. It will try to convince you that it's working by pretending to scan your hard drive, and it will tell you that it's found a number of malicious files. A couple of clicks later, the app will announce that everything is fixed, which is obviously not the case.

Frequently, the crooks design the fraudulent apps to look like real, reputable anti-malware solutions, and they place logos and "Trusted by…" badges all over them to make them appear legitimate. In reality, even if your computer is riddled with viruses and trojans, the rogue AV app has neither the intention nor the capability of removing it. The purpose of the whole thing is to get you to reach for your credit card and pay a fee for the fake product.

Although the rogue AV apps make up a significant portion of the scareware industry, there are other tactics that also seem to work. The crooks sometimes try to get you to download applications that promise all manner of different functionality. Sometimes, they push completely fake software, and sometimes, they distribute pirated versions of real apps. Occasionally, the malicious programs work as advertised, but they come with extra modules which display notices and warnings that look as if they've been issued by the police or another government agency. They say that some illegal (usually adult) materials have been found on your computer and that you need to pay for breaking the law. If you don't do it, police officers will soon be knocking on your door, and it could all get pretty nasty very quickly. Obviously, none of this is true. The idea is to scare you into paying the fake "fine".

The more aggressive scareware applications of this type might even display full-screen windows in an attempt to convince you that you are locked out of your PC. An expert can get rid of them fairly quickly, but unfortunately, instead of calling one, many victims proceed with the payment because they're too scared of hearing the handcuffs click.

How to stay away from scareware?

It must be said that scareware is way past its heyday now. Rogue AVs, in particular, used to be all the rage in the late-2000s and in the early years of this decade, but they have since been replaced by other, more sophisticated threats. Nevertheless, every now and again, we see a scareware campaign rear its ugly head which is why it might not be a bad idea to know what you can do to protect yourself.

The security rules that everybody must follow anyway should be enough to stop most scareware attacks. These include using a reputable security product, keeping your operating system and software applications up-to-date, and taking advantage of the popup-blocking capabilities of your favorite browser.

It also pays to have a general understanding of what is and what isn't possible while you're surfing the web. You need to bear in mind, for example, that a browser popup can't tell if your computer is swarming with malware. It should also be clear that if law enforcement officers have any suspicions regarding the content of your hard drive, they won't be using your desktop to post shady-looking notes which require you to pay the "fine" in cryptocurrency or gift cards.

It all sounds like common sense when you think about it, but it turns out that it's not as common as it should be. Let's hope this will change.

May 22, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 7 + 7 ?