什麼是銷售點(POS)惡意軟件以及如何保護自己免受攻擊

POS Malware

你可能聽說過黑暗的網絡 。這是互聯網的粗略結局,犯罪分子買賣任何從虐待兒童材料到槍支和毒品的東西。說實話,這項活動往往被誇大了,你在大眾媒體上看到的一些頭條新聞可能有點聳人聽聞。即便如此,黑暗的網絡上到處都是犯罪分子,他們願意在不屬於他們的東西上花一些加密錢幣。

被盜的銀行卡詳細信息似乎特別受到騙子的歡迎,這一點也不足為奇,因為有了這些數據,他們可以克隆信用卡或借記卡,他們可以從最近的ATM取錢或放縱自己購物的地方。每天都會交易數以千計的卡號,持卡人姓名,到期日和CVV。但犯罪分子如何掌握所有這些信息呢?

我們一次又一次地看到一個網絡釣魚活動 ,它可以欺騙一些經驗不足的用戶洩露細節本身。數據洩露也可能導致財務數據暴露。然而,當受害者使用它們時,許多最終進入地下市場的卡都會受到損害 - 無論是在ATM還是在銷售點(POS)終端。

今天,我們將專注於POS終端。我們將了解您需要了解的有關POS惡意軟件的信息,它是如何發展的,以及商家和金融機構為防止成功攻擊所做的工作。

POS惡意軟件如何運作?

出於所有意圖和目的,POS終端是連接有銀行卡讀卡器的普通計算機。您每天遇到的大多數POS終端都在Windows上運行並連接到互聯網。在早期,騙子會在通過網絡傳輸時嘗試攔截卡的細節,但端到端加密的引入突然結束了。突然之間,網絡犯罪分子必須找到一種新的方法來竊取銀行卡信息。不幸的是,他們很快就做到了。

處理付款涉及通過讀卡器讀取卡的詳細信息,並使用專門的軟件確保卡有效並且交易已獲得授權。如果一切順利,商家會從您的銀行獲得資金,並且您會收到一份聲明,告訴您您花了多少錢。信用卡和借記卡之間存在細微差別,但簡單來說,這就是當您通過POS終端購物時會發生的情況。

涉及許多敏感數據,並且存在規定應如何處理的合規性規則。 POS終端從卡背面的磁條上獲取卡的號碼,持卡人的姓名和有效期。規則說這些細節必須以加密狀態存儲和傳輸,但是為了完成授權過程,POS終端必須在它們在RAM中的時間內解密它們很短的時間。這是POS惡意軟件襲擊的時候。

它從POS設備的隨機存取存儲器中抓取明文卡細節並將它們發送給騙子. 這就是為什麼這種惡意程序被稱為RAM刮刀。

POS惡意軟件優於ATM撇油器的優勢

從網絡犯罪分子的角度來看,POS惡意軟件攻擊與將自動收款機放在ATM上相比具有許多優勢。第一個顯而易見的是 - 在櫃員機上安裝一個撇取設備需要物理訪問,考慮到ATM周圍常見的大量視頻監控,這不是騙子想要的。更重要的是,即使是更現代的撇油器也無法遠程發送數據,這意味著在他們裝配ATM之後,犯罪分子必須返回以便檢索脫脂卡的詳細信息。

相比之下,破壞POS終端並在其上安裝惡意軟件可能並不像您想像的那麼難。正如我們已經提到的,實質上,我們談論的是連接到互聯網的Windows計算機。從安全的角度來看,許多人可以證明這種設置並不理想。

通常,員工使用POS系統來執行諸如檢查電子郵件和瀏覽互聯網的事情,如果他們不處理付款,這會自動打開網絡釣魚和偷渡式下載攻擊的大門。即使不是這種情況,POS設備所在的本地網絡可能也不是特別安全。

太多的POS終端運行舊版本的Windows,並且具有黑客可以利用的各種安全漏洞。糟糕的網絡配置和默認密碼也不常見,當然,總是存在惡意內部人員的威脅。

POS惡意軟件:進化和保護

監管機構和金融機構一直在努力降低POS惡意軟件的風險,但令人遺憾的是,他們的努力並沒有特別富有成效。強制通過加密通道進行所有通信並不能完全解決問題,而且從外觀上看,也沒有完全轉移到芯片和PIN卡。單獨依靠磁條的銀行卡的安全性在一段時間內一直存在問題,並且POS惡意軟件一直在利用這種特定類型的數據存儲的缺點。

較新的芯片和PIN卡被認為對POS惡意軟件免疫,但去年發現的攻擊表明情況已經不再如此。幸運的是,截至撰寫本文時,沒有記錄的POS惡意軟件攻擊已經破壞了非接觸式卡,儘管這種類型的技術確實帶來了一系列安全挑戰。

可悲的是,作為一個使用銀行卡的人,你可以做些什麼來保護自己。沒有明顯的指標可以告訴您POS終端感染了惡意軟件。 POS系統的安全性是商家的責任,不幸的是, 最近發現的惡意軟件攻擊影響了100多家餐館並且超過200萬張卡受到影響,這表明不是每個人都做得很好。

大多數國家的銀行將報銷欺詐性交易,但實際上,證明您未授權特定付款可能會很麻煩. 密切關注您的銀行對帳單,並在發現可疑情況時通知您的銀行是確保如果您的信用卡詳細信息落入壞人手中的最佳方式,您將找到一個相對快速的方法。

April 12, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
6 + 9是什麼?

What Is Point-Of-Sale (POS) Malware and How to Protect Yourself Against It

POS Malware

You have probably heard of the dark web. It's the rough end of the internet where criminals buy and sell anything from child abuse materials to guns and drugs. Truth be told, the activity does tend to be exaggerated, and some of the headlines you read in mass media can be a bit sensationalistic. Even so, there's no getting away from the fact that the dark web is full of criminals willing to spend some crypto coins on things that don't belong to them.

Stolen bank card details appear to be particularly popular with crooks which is hardly surprising given the fact that with that sort of data in hand, they can clone a credit or a debit card, and they can withdraw money from the closest ATM or indulge themselves in a spot of shopping. Thousands of card numbers, cardholder names, expiration dates, and CVVs are traded every day. But how do the criminals get their hands on all that information?

Every now and again, we'd see a phishing campaign that is able to fool some less experienced users into divulging the details themselves. Data breaches can also result in financial data exposure. Many of the cards that end up on the underground marketplaces, however, are compromised while the victims are using them – either at an ATM or at a Point-Of-Sale (POS) terminal.

Today, we're going to focus on POS terminals. We'll take a look at what you need to know about POS malware, how it has evolved, and what merchants and financial institutions do to prevent successful attacks.

How does POS malware work?

A POS terminal is, for all intents and purposes, a regular computer with a bank card reader attached to it. Most of the POS terminals you encounter every day run on Windows and are connected to the internet. In the early days, the crooks would try to intercept the card details while they are being transmitted over the wire, but the introduction of end-to-end encryption put an abrupt end to that. Suddenly, cybercriminals had to find a new way to pilfer bank card information. Unfortunately, they did it quite quickly.

Processing a payment involves reading your card's details through the card reader and using specialized software to ensure that the card is valid and the transaction is authorized. If everything is alright, the merchant gets the money from your bank, and you get a statement which tells you how much you've spent. There are minor differences between credit and debit cards, but in simple terms, this is what happens when you're buying things through a POS terminal.

A lot of sensitive data is involved, and there are compliance rules in place that dictate how it should be handled. The POS terminal takes the card's number, the cardholder's name, and the expiration date from the magnetic strip on the back of your card. The rules say that these details must be stored and transmitted in an encrypted state, but in order to complete the authorization process, the POS terminal must decrypt them for a very short period of time while they are in its RAM. This is when POS malware strikes.

It scrapes the plaintext card details from the POS device's Random-Access Memory and sends them to the crooks. That's why, malicious programs of this sort are known as RAM scrapers.

The advantages of POS malware over ATM skimmers

From a cybercriminal's perspective, a POS malware attack has a number of advantages over putting a skimmer on an ATM. The first one is obvious – installing a skimming device on a teller machine requires physical access, which, considering the heavy video surveillance usually found around ATMs, is not what the crooks want. What's more, even the more modern skimmers can't send data remotely which means that after they rig the ATM, the criminals must return in order to retrieve the skimmed card details.

By contrast, compromising a POS terminal and installing malware on it might not be as hard as you think. As we mentioned already, in essence, we're talking about a Windows computer that is connected to the internet. This sort of setup, many people can testify, is not ideal from a security standpoint.

Often, employees use POS systems to do things like checking emails and browsing the internet when they're not processing payments which automatically opens the door for phishing and drive-by download attacks. Even if that's not the case, the local network the POS devices sit on might not be especially secure.

Far too many POS terminals run old versions of Windows and come with a wide variety of security vulnerabilities that hackers can exploit. Poor network configurations and default passwords are not uncommon, either, and of course, there's always the threat of a malicious insider.

POS malware: Evolution and protection

Regulators and financial institutions have been trying to mitigate the risks of POS malware, but sadly, their efforts haven't been especially fruitful. Forcing all the communication through an encrypted channel clearly didn't solve the problem completely, and neither did, by the looks of things, the push to migrate to chip-and-PIN cards. The security of bank cards that rely on a magnetic strip alone has been questionable at best for a while now, and POS malware has been taking advantage of the shortcomings of this particular type of data storage.

The newer chip-and-PIN cards were thought to be immune to POS malware, but attacks discovered last year suggest that this is no longer the case. Fortunately, as of the time of writing, there are no recorded POS malware attacks that have compromised contactless cards, though this type of technology does come with its own set of security challenges.

Sadly, you, as a person that uses a bank card, can do little to protect yourself. There are no obvious indicators to tell you that a POS terminal is infected with malware. The security of the POS system is the merchant's responsibility, and unfortunately, the recently discovered malware attack that affected more than 100 restaurants and compromised in excess of 2 million cards shows that not everyone is doing a very good job.

Banks in most countries will reimburse fraudulent transactions, but in reality, proving that you didn't authorize a particular payment can be a hassle. Keeping a close eye on your bank statement and informing your bank whenever you see something suspicious is the best way to ensure that if your card details do fall into the wrong hands, you will find a relatively quick way out of the mess.

April 10, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 10 + 10 ?