什么是Drive-By下载攻击以及其如何工作?

Drive-By Download Attacks

有时,信息安全行业可能是一个相当陌生的地方,尤其是在术语和定义方面。甚至在我们现在应该非常了解的主题周围也存在许多困惑和争论。所谓的“偷渡式下载”攻击也不例外。

关于什么是什么和什么不是偷渡式下载攻击的困惑

每个人都同意直接下载的实际作用。它会在您不知情或未同意的情况下,在您的计算机上安装有害或完全恶意的应用程序。从令人讨厌的浏览器劫持者到窃取恶意软件和键盘记录程序的信息,几乎所有可疑软件都符合要求。

争论似乎围绕该过程是否自动化进行。有人认为,只有在绝对不需要用户交互的情况下,攻击才能被分类为偷渡式下载。其他人则说,与其他应用程序一起安装或通过可疑广告分发的可疑软件也算作偷渡式下载。

可以公平地说,安全专家不太可能很快就达成共识,这就是为什么我们将向您展示所有可能使用“直接下载”一词的不同情况的原因。

在计算机上走私可疑应用程序

您可能已经听说过下载和使用盗版软件和破解工具的危险。这样做是非法的,但是即使您准备忽略此事实,也应该考虑其他事项。

当您从其官方网站下载应用程序时,实际上是在声明您信任开发人员,该开发人员在大多数情况下是一家声誉良好且值得担心的老牌公司。从洪流跟踪器下载软件时,您会信任使用昵称,头像和语法错误的人。

但是,盗版软件并不是唯一可以将讨厌的内容静默下载到计算机上的东西。有时,应用程序看起来合法,但仍会带来意外感染。一些开发人员尝试以不同程度的成功隐藏其他有效负载。安装程序可能会告诉您有关浏览器工具栏的信息,甚至可能会显示一个复选框,让您选择退出。但是,在其他情况下,计算机上将不会安装任何其他软件的通知。

一击,一声巨响和一击

不,您不是本网站的第10,000位访问者。您还没有赢得$ 1,000,000,如果您单击似乎是使用Windows 98版本的Microsoft Paint设计的弹出窗口,则实际上不会领取任何奖金。您很可能会在PC上下载并安装不需要的内容。

上面的情况现在已经很老了,很少有人会喜欢。可以说,如今的黑幕广告更加成熟和可信。也不仅仅是广告。

它是2019年,除了少数例外,它很安全,您无需安装Adobe Flash即可上网。如果弹出窗口告诉您其他情况,请考虑是否确实需要访问要查看的网站。许多人都有足够的经验来知道这一点,但是即使他们可能也会喜欢听起来更合理的场景,这告诉他们例如他们需要一个新的字体包。

如您所见,在线环境正在演变,骗子别无选择,只能跟上时代的步伐。我们已经确定, 社交工程是他们最强大的武器之一,而且很明显,他们不会在开车经过的下载攻击中回避使用它。

点击并非总是必要的

到目前为止,我们讨论的场景需要代表受害者采取某种形式的行动。尽管它们中的一些非常聪明,但它们全都取决于至少一次鼠标单击。但是,对于某些偷渡式下载攻击,根本不需要这样做。

自动化的过客下载是同类中最具破坏性的攻击。有了它,成功的感染只需要受害者访问受感染网站的受害者,该网站设置了恶意脚本以自动触发下载。这很危险,因为受害者无需单击或批准任何东西,而且他们通常不知道发生了什么事,直到为时已晚。但是,即使它也取决于一两件事。

这种直接下载通常涉及所谓的漏洞利用工具包。漏洞利用工具包是计算机代码的集合,可以利用流行应用程序中的各种安全缺陷。不同的漏洞利用工具包针对不同应用程序中的不同漏洞。当受害者登陆受感染的网站时,恶意代码通常会检查访客的PC上安装了哪种软件,如果发现可以利用的产品,就会启动下载。这一切都迅速而无声地发生。但是,很难实现吗?

获得漏洞利用工具包很容易。其中有些是免费提供的,有些可以在黑客论坛上购买,以换取一些加密货币。显然,为了植入漏洞利用工具包,黑客需要入侵网站,但是由于管理员并不总是非常重视安全性问题,因此执行此操作所需的计算机技能水平并不总是像您可能需要的那样高。认为。

通过漏洞攻击工具包查找容易遭受过路驱动下载攻击的受害者也不难。人们倾向于使用相同的浏览器,插件和应用程序,并且至关重要的是,他们中的许多人认为使所有软件保持最新状态是一种滋扰,实际上并不会带来任何明显的好处。

偷渡式下载的普及以及如何确保安全

必须说,我们最近读到的大多数大型网络攻击都依赖垃圾邮件,而不是偷渡式下载。由于某些原因,漏洞利用工具包并不像以前那样流行,并且用户似乎更加了解他们所点击的广告和所安装的应用程序。但是,确实存在偷渡式下载攻击,您应该知道可以采取什么措施来保护自己。

让我们从计算机上的软件开始。不用说,您不应该安装不需要的应用程序。除了保护您免受各种各样的攻击(包括偷渡式下载)之外,PC上未使用的程序更少会有助于其性能。当您安装软件时,请确保从官方供应商处下载了该软件,并尝试避免误解为在PC上安装应用程序仅需多次单击“下一步”即可。

接下来,您将看到每天看到的广告。我们知道,没有广告,互联网就不会一样。他们帮助我们每天免费使用许多服务。同时,恶意广告助长了许多在线欺诈行为,而且正如我们已经确定的那样,它们可能导致恶意软件感染。不论广告看起来多么诱人,在点击任何广告之前请三思。

最后但并非最不重要的一点是,仔细浏览。没有哪个网站能抵御黑客攻击,但是坚持使用更成熟的在线门户网站和社区可以为您提供更好的安全保障。

February 27, 2019

发表评论

What Is a Drive-By Download Attack and How Does It Work?

Drive-By Download Attacks

The information security industry can be a rather strange place sometimes, especially when it comes to terms and definitions. There is a lot of confusion and debate even around subjects that we should know very well by now. The so-called 'drive-by download' attacks are no exception.

The confusion around what is and what isn't a drive-by download attack

Everybody agrees on what a drive-by download actually does. It installs an unwanted or outright malicious application on your computer without your knowledge or consent. From obnoxious browser hijackers to information stealing malware and keyloggers – pretty much every piece of shady software fits the bill.

The argument seems to revolve around whether or not the process is automated. Some people reckon that an attack can only be classified as a drive-by download if it requires absolutely no user interaction. Others say that shady software that gets installed alongside other applications or is delivered through suspicious ads also counts as a drive-by download.

It's fair to say that security experts are unlikely to reach a consensus any time soon which is why we'll try to show you all different scenarios in which the term "drive-by download" might be used.

Smuggling suspicious apps on your computer

You have probably heard about the dangers of downloading and using pirated software and cracking tools. Doing so is illegal, but even if you are prepared to disregard this fact, you should consider something else.

When you download an application from its official website, you are effectively declaring that you trust the developer which, in most cases, is an established company that has a reputation and a business to worry about. When you're downloading software from a torrent tracker, you're putting your trust in someone who uses a nickname, an avatar, and bad grammar.

Pirated software isn't the only thing that can silently download something nasty to your computer, though. Sometimes, an app might look legitimate and still deliver an unexpected infection. Some developers try to hide the additional payload with varying degrees of success. The installer might tell you about the browser toolbar, and you might even get a checkbox that lets you opt out. In other cases, however, you will not be notified of any additional software getting installed on your computer.

A click, a bang, and a wallop

No, you're not the 10,000th visitor on this website. You haven't won $1,000,000, and if you click on that popup that seems to have been designed with Windows 98's version of Microsoft Paint, you won't actually claim any prizes. In all probability, you'll download and install something you don't want on your PC.

The scenario above is fairly old now, and very few people are likely to fall for it. It is fair to say, however, that today's shady ads are much more sophisticated and believable. It's not just ads, either.

It's 2019, and safe for a few exceptions, you don't need to install Adobe Flash to surf the internet. If a popup tells you otherwise, consider whether you really need to be on the website you're trying to view. Many people are experienced enough to know that, but even they might fall for the slightly more legitimate-sounding scenario which tells them that they need a new font pack for example.

As you can see, the online landscape is evolving, and the crooks have no other choice but to keep up with the times. We've already established that social engineering is one of their most powerful weapons, and it's clear that they won't shy away from using it during a drive-by download attack.

Clicking isn't always necessary

The scenarios we've discussed so far require some form of action on behalf of the victim. As clever as some of them are, they are all dependent on at least one mouse click. With some drive-by download attacks, however, this is simply not needed.

The automated drive-by download is the most devastating attack of its kind. With it, a successful infection requires nothing more than a victim visiting a compromised website where a malicious script is set to trigger the download automatically. It's so dangerous because victims don't need to click or approve anything, and they usually have no idea what's going on until it's too late. Even it is dependent on one or two things, though.

This type of drive-by downloads usually involves the so-called exploit kits. An exploit kit is a collection of computer code that can take advantage of various security shortcomings in popular applications. Different exploit kits target different vulnerabilities in different apps. When a victim lands on a compromised website, the malicious code usually checks what sort of software is installed on the visitor's PC, and if it finds a product it can exploit, it launches the download. It all happens quickly and silently. But is it difficult to pull off?

Getting the exploit kit is the easy part. Some of them are available for free, and some can be bought on hacking forums in exchange for a few crypto coins. Obviously, in order to plant the exploit kit, hackers need to compromise a website, but because administrators don't always take the problem of security very seriously, the level of computer skills required to do this isn't always as high as you might think.

Finding victims that are vulnerable to a drive-by download attack via an exploit kit isn't that difficult, either. People tend to use the same browser, plugins, and apps, and crucially, many of them reckon that keeping all that software up-to-date is a nuisance that doesn't really bring any discernible benefits.

The popularity of drive-by downloads and how to stay safe

It must be said that most of the large-scale cyberattacks we read about these days rely on spam emails rather than drive-by downloads. For some reason, exploit kits aren't as popular as they used to be, and users seem to be much more conscious of the ads they click and the apps they install. Nevertheless, drive-by download attacks do exist, and you should know what you can do to protect yourself.

Let's start with the software on your computer. It should go without saying that you shouldn't install applications you don't need. In addition to protecting you from a fairly wide variety of attacks (including drive-by downloads), having fewer unused programs on your PC will aid its performance. When you do install software, make sure you download it from the official vendor and try to avoid falling for the misconception that installing applications on your PC involves nothing more than clicking "Next" several times.

Next, you have the ads you see every day. The internet as we know it wouldn't be the same without ads. They help keep many of the services we use every day free. At the same time, malicious ads facilitate quite a lot of online fraud, and as we established already, they can lead to malware infections. Think twice before you click on any ad, no matter how enticing it might look.

Last but not least, browse carefully. No website is hacker-proof, but sticking to the more established online portals and communities gives you a better chance of staying safe.

February 27, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 6 + 4 ?