什么是Google安全密钥以及它如何与您的Android 7.0+手机配合使用?

Google Implements Security Keys In Android 7.0+ Devices

谷歌的安全人员认为他们对双因素身份验证(2FA)或两步验证有一两件事,因为他们喜欢称之为。他们认为最安全的2FA系统是基于通用第二因子(U2F)标准的系统 。去年,他们自豪地宣布,自从实施U2F 2FA系统以来,他们绝对没有成功记录针对Google员工的网络钓鱼攻击。

U2F的问题在于使用它意味着获得单独的USB或NFC(近场通信)令牌,虽然相对便宜但是花钱,但不幸的是,许多人不准备为额外的安全性付钱。更重要的是,如果您丢失了U2F令牌,恢复对您帐户的访问权限可能会很麻烦。

Google试图解决2FA问题

谷歌的安全团队认为他们可以通过在人们已经拥有的东西 - 手机上实施类似于U2F的标准来解决这个问题。上周,这家搜索引擎巨头宣布 ,运行Android 7.0及更高版本的智能手机现在可以像谷歌的两步验证功能一样,被称为“安全密钥”(相当于U2F令牌)。

这个想法非常简单:您尝试通过新设备访问自己的Google帐户,口袋中的Android手机会显示通知。要完成登录过程,您必须解锁手机并确认登录尝试是合法的。这样做的好处是显而易见的。

即使有人拥有您Google帐户的登录凭据,他们也无法闯入。同时,没有可以被网络钓鱼截获的一次性密码。尽管人们喜欢杰伊·布罗德斯基(Jay Brodsky),因为涉嫌“强迫”他使用2FA而向苹果提起诉讼的人仍会抱怨一切都很难,登录过程尽可能地简化。

这听起来像是一个双赢的局面。不幸的是,它并非没有限制。

我们还没到那儿

有一些相当明显的兼容性问题。首先,谷歌是开发这项技术的人,这意味着,至少目前,它只适用于Android设备,仅适用于谷歌浏览器. 使用iPhone,旧Android手机和其他浏览器的数百万人将没有机会利用它。

此外,为了使安全密钥有效,您需要在智能手机和用于登录Google帐户的设备上启用蓝牙。您将很难找到不支持蓝牙的笔记本电脑,但对于台式电脑,情况会略有不同。当然,您可以随时购买蓝牙适配器,但这会带来类似于U2F令牌所面临的问题 - 金钱。

说到这一点,我们已经提到丢失U2F令牌会带来一些问题,我们只能想象具有启用安全密钥的智能手机也是如此。

因此,总的来说,谷歌的新功能并不完美。它比我们已经拥有的更加用户友好和安全,所以如果你有一个相对较新的Android智能手机,你应该考虑在其中启用安全密钥。 Google已在此处添加了有关如何执行操作的说明。

April 22, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
7 + 8是什么?

What Is a Google Security Key and How Does It Work with Your Android 7.0+ Phone?

Google Implements Security Keys In Android 7.0+ Devices

Google's security people reckon that they know a thing or two about Two-Factor Authentication (2FA) or 2-Step Verification, as they like to call it. They think that the most secure 2FA systems are the ones based on a standard known as Universal Second Factor (U2F). Last year, they proudly announced that ever since implementing a U2F 2FA system, they have recorded absolutely no successful phishing attacks against Google employees.

The problem with U2F is that using it means getting a separate USB or NFC (Near-Field Communication) token which, although relatively cheap, costs money, and unfortunately, many people are not prepared to pay money for additional security. What's more, if you lose your U2F token, restoring access to your accounts could be a hassle.

Google tries to solve the 2FA problem

Google's security team reckon that they can go around this problem by implementing a standard similar to U2F into something people already have – their phones. Last week, the search engine giant announced that smartphones running Android 7.0 and higher can now act as what it calls "Security Keys" (the equivalent of U2F tokens) in Google's 2-Step Verification feature.

The idea is pretty simple: you try to access your Google account through a new device, and the Android phone in your pocket displays a notification. In order to complete the sign-in process, you must unlock your phone and confirm that the login attempt is legitimate. The advantages of this are obvious.

Even if someone has the login credentials for your Google account, they can't break into it. At the same time, there are no one-time passwords that can be phished or intercepted. And although people like Jay Brodsky, the person that filed a lawsuit against Apple for allegedly "forcing" him to use 2FA, will still complain about how hard everything is, the login process is as simplified as possible.

It almost sounds like a win-win situation. Unfortunately, it's not without its limitations.

We're not quite there yet

There are a few rather glaring compatibility issues. For one, Google is the one developing the technology which means that, for the time being at least, it's available only on Android devices and works only with Google Chrome. The millions of people using iPhones, older Android phones, and other browsers won't have the chance to take advantage of it.

Furthermore, in order to make the security key work, you need to enable Bluetooth both on the smartphone and on the device you're using to log in to your Google account. You will be hard-pressed to find a laptop that doesn't support Bluetooth, but with desktop PCs, things are a little bit different. Of course, you can always purchase a Bluetooth dongle, but this presents a problem similar to the one we're facing with the U2F tokens – money.

Speaking of which, we already mentioned that losing U2F tokens could present some problems, and we can only imagine that the same goes for smartphones with enabled security keys.

So, on the whole, Google's new feature isn't perfect. It is more user-friendly and secure than what we have already, though, so if you have a relatively recent Android smartphone, you should probably consider enabling the security key in it. Google has added instructions on how to do that here.

April 15, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 2 + 2 ?