你能相信那些經歷過數據洩露的公司嗎?

Trust Companies THat Have Suffered Data Breaches

個人數據是您可以在現代世界中收集,購買和銷售的最有價值的商品之一。儘管如此,在我們註冊服務時,很少有人會考慮供應商如何處理我們的姓名,電子郵件地址,密碼等。然而,當上述服務遭到破壞時,我們突然有點擔心。

這是一種本能的反應:一個組織的任務是安全地處理人們的數據,它沒有這樣做,現在暴民很生氣。很多人會說這只是世界上最自然的東西,但是如果你在到達干草叉之前停下來並實際考慮一下,你會發現事情比那更複雜。

接受真相:數據洩露是生活中的事實

部分問題源於一種多年來一直在傳播的誤解。缺乏經驗和消息不靈的人認為存在“完美的安全”之類的事情。這個神話適合許多營銷部門的敘述,這就是為什麼用戶不僅相信它存在,他們希望供應商提供它。事實是,這是不可能的。

我們需要保護數十億TB的數據。我們還擁有數十億用戶,其中一些用戶的意圖很差,技能很多,而且有足夠的空閒時間。最後但同樣重要的是,我們擁有的技術不是每天都在發展,而是每一秒都在發展。無論公司投入多少時間和金錢來保護系統,他們都必須接受這樣一個事實:有一天,有人會攻擊它並且可能會破壞它。重要的是他們如何為事件做好準備以及他們如何應對這一事件。

公司必須做好最壞的準備

組織必須接受在某個地方發生數據洩露的非常現實的可能性,但這並不意味著他們不應該為安全而煩惱,因為它無論如何都會被打破。相反,他們必須確保他們已盡其所能阻止黑客獲取人們的數據。然而,與此同時,每個供應商都應該確保如果騙子進入,他們就無法走開那麼多。

這並不像聽起來那麼容易,但每個在線服務提供商都必須涵蓋一些基礎。密碼存儲策略尤為重要。如果密碼以明文形式存儲,那麼就沒有什麼可以阻止黑客破解成千上萬甚至數百萬個帳戶。另一方面,如果密碼被正確地加密和醃製 ,那麼壞人只會擁有一個電子郵件列表,而這些電子郵件本身並沒有多大用處。

這已經是多年來的常識,但儘管如此,我們不時地看到一些在線服務無法正確散列和加密用戶密碼。遺憾的是,沒有簡單的方法可以了解服務提供商在註冊時具有哪種密碼存儲策略。但是,如果已經發生了違規並且您的明文密碼已經暴露,那麼您可以非常肯定供應商嚴重低估了該問題。

違規後的透明度是關鍵

您必須明白,如果服務提供商已完成其作業,則數據洩露不一定是世界末日。即便如此,絕不應該忽視洩漏。更重要的是,您應該仔細研究受攻擊公司在事件發生後所做的事情,以決定您是否繼續與之合作。

並非所有公司都以所需的透明度回應. 例如,在2016年,一名黑客成功竊取了一個包含大約5700萬Uber用戶數據的數據庫。然後,黑客聯繫了乘車共享服務,並詢問它將採取什麼措施。優步的前管理團隊沒有發布詳細說明出現問題的報告,而是致力於預防未來的事件,而是向黑客提供了10萬美元,並且表現得好像沒有發生任何事情。直到一年後,真相終於出現了。

在這個時代,這種在地毯下掃地的行為應該是完全不可接受的,但不幸的是,我們仍然時不時地看到它。一個組織願意隱瞞有關其付費客戶的信息的事實確實說明了運營它的人的企業態度。我們應該指出,優步遠非唯一犯有此罪的公司,我們還應該提到這樣一個事實,即目前正在運營該服務的人們承諾提高透明度。

與遭受數據洩露的公司合作並不一定意味著您將信息置於風險之中。也就是說,保護您的個人數據是一項嚴峻的任務,如果您將其委託給處理違規行為的組織,您可能會低估這個問題。

January 28, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
10 + 5是什麼?

Can You Trust Companies That Have Experienced Data Breaches?

Trust Companies THat Have Suffered Data Breaches

Personal data is one of the most valuable commodities you can collect, buy, and sell in the modern world. Despite this, very few of us spare as much as a thought about how a vendor is handling our names, email addresses, passwords, etc. when we're signing up for a service. When the said service gets breached, however, we are suddenly a bit more concerned.

It's an instinctive reaction: an organization was tasked with handling people's data securely, it failed to do so, and now the mob is angry. Many would say that this is just about the most natural thing in the world, but if you stop and actually put some thought into it before reaching for the pitchforks, you'll see that things are a bit more complex than that.

Accept the truth: data breaches are a fact of life

Part of the problem is rooted in a misconception that has been propagating for years. Inexperienced and ill-informed people think that there is such a thing as "perfect security." This myth fits the narrative of many marketing departments which is why users not only believe it exists, they expect vendors to provide it. The fact of the matter is, this is just not possible.

We have billions of terabytes of data that needs to be protected. We also have billions of users, some of which are armed with bad intentions, lots of skills, and plenty of free time. Last but not least, we have a piece of technology that evolves not every day, but every second. No matter how much time and money companies invest into securing a system, they have to accept the fact that someday, someone will attack it and might be able to break it. What's important is how they prepare themselves for the incident and how they react to it.

Companies must be prepared for the worst

Organizations have to accept the very real possibility of a data breach somewhere down the line, but that doesn't mean that they shouldn't bother with security because it's going to be broken anyway. On the contrary, they must make sure that they have done everything they can to stop the hackers from getting their hands on people's data. At the same time, however, every vendor should ensure that if the crooks do get in, they won't be able to walk away with all that much.

This is not as easy as it sounds, but there are some bases that every single online service provider must cover. The password storage policy is especially important. If passwords are stored in plaintext, there will be nothing to stop hackers from compromising thousands or even millions of accounts. If, on the other hand, the passwords are properly hashed and salted, the bad guys will have little more than a list of emails which, on its own, isn't much use.

This has been common knowledge for years now, but despite this, every now and again, we see that some online services fail to hash and salt users' passwords correctly. Sadly, there's no easy way of knowing what sort of password storage policy a service provider has upon signup. If the breach has already occurred and your plaintext password has been exposed, however, you can be pretty sure that the vendor has grossly underestimated the issue.

Transparency in the wake of a breach is key

You have to understand that if a service provider has done its homework, a data breach isn't necessarily the end of the world. Even so, leaks should never be overlooked. What's more, you should take a closer look at what the attacked company is doing in the aftermath of the incident in order to decide whether you want to continue doing business with it.

Not all companies respond with the required transparency. In 2016, for example, a hacker managed to steal a database containing data on about 57 million Uber users. The hacker then contacted the ride-sharing service and asked it what it's going to do about it. Instead of issuing a report detailing what had gone wrong and working towards preventing future incidents, Uber's former management team gave the hacker $100 thousand and acted as if nothing had happened. It wasn't until a year later that the truth finally came out.

This sort of sweep-under-the-carpet behavior should be completely unacceptable in this day and age, but unfortunately, we still see it every now and again. The fact that an organization is willing to withhold information on something that concerns its paying customers really does say a lot about the corporate attitude of the people running it. We should point out that Uber is far from the only company guilty of this, and we should also mention the fact that the people currently running the service have promised a lot more transparency.

Working with a company that has suffered a data breach doesn't necessarily mean that you are putting your information at risk. That said, the protection of your personal data is a serious task, and if you are entrusting it with an organization that has handled a breach poorly, you might be underestimating the issue.

January 11, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 7 + 8 ?