2019年的顶级诈骗以及他们如何将您的虚拟安全置于危险之中

我们之前已经讨论过一些欺骗过多人的最大在线骗局 ,但现在是我们更新这些信息的时候了。虽然我们还没有到2019年的中途,但今年的网络安全趋势与我们以前目睹的大部分事情相似。因此,我们将介绍您今年可能遇到的主要类型的在线诈骗,然后我们将举几个例子,最后,我们将告诉您如何发现在线诈骗,以便您可以避免它们未来。

最大的在线诈骗

最大和最远的在线诈骗可能属于网络钓鱼类别。网络钓鱼显然从“钓鱼”这个词中借用了它的名字,这意味着这些骗局背后的罪犯试图从毫无戒心的用户那里获取某种信息。看到每个月报告的电子邮件网络钓鱼诈骗案数量超过60,000次,这些在线诈骗案的数量很可能很快就会减少。

网络钓鱼的有趣之处在于这种类型的在线骗局非常动态。它总是容易受到最新消息和趋势的影响。例如,我们都知道网络钓鱼是冒充身伪的。为了分发勒索软件,将网络钓鱼攻击视为银行是非常常见的。然而,最新的网络钓鱼趋势之一是假冒软件服务,早在2018年,它就占所有报告的在线网络钓鱼攻击的三分之一。换句话说,从网络罪犯收到的网络钓鱼邮件可能看起来像来自Dropbox,Office 365或任何其他信誉良好的服务的通知。

从那里开始,攻击切线很简单:诈骗者试图从不知情的用户那里引出密码和其他重要信息。通过该信息,他们可以轻松访问该服务上的个人(和公司!)帐户,这可能导致大量数据被盗。

如果您知道如何发现在线诈骗,您也可以避免网络钓鱼诈骗。主要规则是始终警惕并警惕带有紧迫感的消息和通知。如果有人试图让你突然做出一些事情,可能会有一些可疑的东西。更不用说你总是可以仔细检查发件人是否看起来合法。

在线商业诈骗

在线诈骗同样影响个人和企业。虽然大多数方面在不同的攻击中都很常见,但有些事情可以区分针对企业的诈骗和针对个人的欺诈。 Thirdside表示,有五种针对企业的主要在线骗局,其中包括谷歌商业列表诈骗,在线目录列表诈骗,花哨的客户列表,保证谷歌排名,以及您的网站是破碎骗局。

虽然诈骗者可以通过电子邮件轻松访问企业,但实际的电话呼叫也很常见。但是,很明显,您绝不会接到谷歌或某个营销公司的电话,说您的网站已关闭,或者您的公司已被选择加入某些商家信息中。如果这些人要求您汇款或提供财务信息,您可以轻松识别骗局. 即使您考虑招聘的某家公司看起来合法,您仍然应该对其进行彻底的背景检查,因为您永远无法知道您可能会遇到谁。

针对老年人的在线诈骗

就像有针对企业的诈骗一样,也有网络骗局针对那里最脆弱的群体之一:老年人。据AgingInPlace称 ,诈骗者不歧视老年人口。他们通常还打算尽可能多地偷钱。几乎每年都有大约30亿美元从美国的退休基金和政府福利中流失。我们都知道很多这些都没有报道。

诈骗老人往往归结为心理原因。这一群社会常常感到孤立和不安全,因此他们可以更容易接近并说服他们放弃金钱或重要信息。每当有人给老人打电话时,每个人都必须听到主食“孙子”的骗局,因为这个孙子已经陷入了严重的麻烦,现在祖父母必须把他救出来。

但随着互联网精明的人口逐渐老化,针对他们的大多数骗局也正在进入网络世界。无论是在约会网站上徘徊的诈骗者,制造复杂网络钓鱼攻击的诈骗者还是社交工程恶作剧 - 他们都知道针对老年人通常会得到回报,因为老年人不太可能报告被骗。为什么?因为当他们意识到自己被骗了,他们会感到尴尬。更不用说大部分老年人都不知道在哪里举报这种骗局。

如何欺骗千禧一代

人们会认为千万难以欺骗千禧一代,因为这是一代触手可及的网络世界。然而,当谈到在音乐会上看到你最喜欢的艺术家时, 千禧一代也很容易受到欺骗 。这就是我们遇到一种非常流行的在线骗局:票务欺诈。

如果你想要获得音乐会门票的额外快速售罄,你可能会尝试其他方法来获得它们。但是,从经销商处购买门票非常危险。不仅因为他们可能以更高的价格出售它,而且这些门票也可能被证明是假的。想象一下,在全国各地旅行(或者更糟糕的是 - 到另一个国家!)参加这场音乐会,却发现你的票是假的!

坦率地说,避免票证欺诈是相当容易的。您只需要从原始供应商处购买它们。从亚马逊或eBay上的经销商处购买门票总是有风险的。但是,票证诈骗并不是唯一能与你一起玩耍的人。还有很多其他骗局试图迫使你放弃你的个人信息或钱。如果你想知道如何发现在线诈骗,你只需要学习一些不该做的事情。

如何避免在线诈骗

首先,你永远不应该把钱汇给你从未见过的人。总是问问自己为什么你应该把钱寄给那个人。其次,请务必避免从未经请求的电子邮件中下载附件。有时电子邮件看起来合法,但请记住,您可以随时仔细检查!

另外,请避免在线共享您的个人信息. 如果有人要求您提供密码,姓名,信用卡详细信息或任何类型的信息;停下来想一想。这可能是一个骗局!保护密码的最佳方法之一是使用密码管理器。因为当您拥有密码管理器时 ,您不再需要担心记住所有重要数据。该工具为您做到了这一点,而且肯定不会因为在线骗局而失败。

最后,不要感到有压力采取行动。当用户急于做他们被告知的事情时,诈骗者通常会获胜,所以你应该在下一步之前停下来思考。特别是当该步骤涉及您的钱或个人数据时。

May 23, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
8 + 4是什么?

Top Scams of 2019 and How They Can Put Your Virtual Security at Risk

We have talked about some of the biggest online scams that tricked multiple people out there before, but it is time we update that information. Although we're not even halfway through 2019 yet, the cybersecurity tendencies this year is similar to most of the things we have witnessed before. So, we're going to go through the main types of online scams that you may encounter this year, then we will give a few examples, and finally, we will tell you how to spot online scams, so that you could avoid them in the future.

The Biggest Online Scams

The biggest and the most farther-reaching online scams arguably fall under the phishing category. Phishing clearly borrows its name from the word “fishing,” and it means that the criminals behind these scams try to fish some sort of information out of the unsuspecting users. And seeing how more than 60,000 email phishing scams are reported every single month, it is very unlikely that the numbers of these online scams would soon decrease.

The interesting thing about phishing is that this type of online scam is very dynamic. It is always susceptible to the latest news and trends. For instance, we all know that phishing is about impersonating something. It is very common to see phishing attacks that pose as banks in order to distribute ransomware. However, one of the latest phishing trends has been impersonating software services, and back in 2018, it made up one-third of all the reported online phishing attacks. In other words, phishing messages received from cyber criminals may look like notifications from Dropbox, Office 365, or any other reputable service.

From there, the attack tangent is simple: the scammers try to lure out passwords and other important information from unsuspecting users. With that information, they can easily access their personal (and corporate!) accounts on that service, which can result in a big data theft.

If you know how to spot an online scam, you can avoid a phishing scam too. The main rule is to ALWAYS be alert and be wary of messages and notifications that come with a sense of urgency. If someone tries to push you into doing something out of the blue, there's probably something fishy about it. Not to mention that you can always double-check if the sender does look legitimate.

Online Business Scams

Online scams affect both individuals and businesses alike. While most of the aspects are common across different attacks, there are certain things that differentiate the scams meant for businesses from those that target individuals. Thirdside says that there are five main online scams that target businesses and those are Google business listing scams, online directory listing scams, fancy client lists, guaranteed Google ranking, and the Your Website is Broken scam.

Although the scammers can easily reach businesses via email, actual phone calls are also very common. However, it is clear that you would never get a phone call from Google or from some marketing company, saying that your website is down or that your company has been chosen to be included in some business listing. You can easily recognize a scam if those people ask you to send money or your financial information. Even if some company you're thinking of hiring looks legitimate, you still should do a thorough background check on it because you can never know who you may encounter.

Online Scams Targeting the Elderly

Just like there are scams that target businesses, there are also online scams that target one of the most vulnerable groups out there: the elderly. According to AgingInPlace, scammers do not discriminate the elderly population. They also usually aim to steal as much money as possible. As much as $3 billion is drained from the retirement funds and government benefits in the U.S. almost every year. And we all know that a lot of these fade out unreported, too.

Scamming the elderly often boils down to psychological reasons. This group of society often feels isolated and insecure, so they can be easier to approach and convince to give away money or important information. Everyone must've heard about the staple “grandson” scam when someone gives an elderly person a call impersonating as a grandson who's gotten into serious trouble, and now the grandparent has to bail him out.

But with the internet-savvy population slowly aging, most of the scams aimed at them are moving into the cyberworld, too. Whether it would be scammers that linger in dating sites, scammers who craft sophisticated phishing attacks or social engineering pranks – they all know that targeting the elderly usually pays off because a senior citizen is less likely to report being scammed. Why? Because they get embarrassed when they realize that they have been scammed. Not to mention that a big chunk of the elderly population doesn't know where to report such scams.

How to Trick a Millennial

One would think that it is rather hard to scam a millennial because this is the generation that has the cyberworld at their fingertips. However, when it comes to seeing your favorite artist in a concert, millennials could be easily duped as well. And this is where we come across a very popular type of online scam: ticket frauds.

When tickets to the concert you want to go to get sold out extra fast, you will probably try other means to get them, too. However, it is very dangerous to purchase tickets from resellers. Not only because they might sell it for a far higher price, but these tickets could prove to be fake, as well. Imagine traveling across the country (or worse – to another country!) to this concert, only to find that your ticket is fake!

Frankly, it is rather easy to avoid ticket frauds. You just need to purchase them from the original vendor. Buying tickets from resellers on Amazon or eBay is always risky. But ticket scams aren't the only ones that play with your feelings. There are tons of other scams out there that try to pressure you into giving away your personal information or your money. And if you want to know how to spot online scams, you just need to learn a few don'ts.

How to Avoid an Online Scam

First, you should never send your money to someone you have never seen. Always ask yourself why you're supposed to send your money to that person. Second, be sure to avoid downloading attachments from unsolicited emails. Sometimes the emails look legitimate, but remember that you can always double-check that!

Also, avoid sharing your personal information online. If someone asks for your password, name, credit card details, or anything of the kind; stop and think. It might be a scam! One of the best ways to protect your passwords is by employing a password manager. Because when you have a password manager, you no longer need to worry about remembering all the important data. The tool does that for you, and it most certainly wouldn't fall for an online scam.

And finally, don't feel pressured to take action. Scammers usually win when users rush to do what they are told, and so you should always stop and think before taking the next step. Especially when that step concerns your money or personal data.

May 13, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 8 + 4 ?