常春藤大學的學生通過網絡釣魚電子郵件受到虛假工作機會的打擊

您是達特茅斯的學生嗎?您準備好開始與學位相關的職業嗎?如果是的話,您需要尋找可能提供高薪工作的網絡釣魚電子郵件。這些誤導性電子郵件背後的策劃者很可能會攻擊其他常春藤大學或美國其他高等教育機構的學生。例如,今年早些時候,布法羅大學就假冒工作機會警告學生 。實際上, FBI自2017年以來就一直在警告學生有關針對大學生的欺詐性就業騙局。根據聯邦調查局的調查,策劃者被發現在網上發布虛假的招聘廣告,向其受害者發送偽造的支票,欺騙他們存放這些支票。進入他們的個人支票帳戶,然後說服他們從帳戶中提取資金。當然,受害者最終將損失其金錢。

毫無疑問,這種騙局不會吸引那麼多受害者。另一方面,網絡釣魚電子郵件欺詐甚至可能使更警惕和經驗豐富的學生矇騙。毋庸置疑,就業市場競爭非常激烈,可供學生使用的職位數量有限。因此,在沒有參加工作的情況下獲得工作機會的學生可能會太興奮而無法注意到危險信號。話雖這麼說,我們希望大多數學生能夠立即識別該騙局。畢竟,工作機會很少會從天而降,而且每次向您介紹過於真實的工作時,您都需要通過簡單的清單。答–您是否申請了這份工作? B –您是否熟悉寄件人/公司? C –信息/報價有意義嗎? D –優惠是否符合您的資格?如果您對以上任何一個問題的回答均為“ 否” ,則很有可能您已收到網絡釣魚電子郵件。當然,即使您已經申請工作,如果您熟悉公司,報價看起來真實,並且符合您的資格,這並不意味著您已經收到了合法的工作報價。

使用網絡釣魚電子郵件欺騙易受騙學生的策劃者知道他們在做什麼。如果策劃者經驗豐富,則可以以極具說服力的方式創建提供工作的網絡釣魚電子郵件。根據達特茅斯The Dartmouth)報告,自9月以來學生收到的網絡釣魚電子郵件提供了高薪和靈活的工作時間。僅此一項就可以幫助計劃者吸引潛在的受害者。不幸的是,達特茅斯大學的學生的電子郵件地址是公共信息,因此任何人都可以將釣魚郵件發送給在大學學習的任何人。如果學生收到提供工作的網絡釣魚電子郵件,則可能會誘使他們洩露住所的實際地址,全名,電話號碼和其他私人信息。根據檢索到的信息類型,計劃人員可以嘗試執行身份盜用並在網上模擬學生。

如果計劃人員轉而通過文本消息與學生交流,則可以向他們發送鏈接,並且由於移動電話並非始終受到保護,因此計劃人員可能有更好的機會以這種方式提取更加敏感的信息。此外,網絡釣魚電子郵件可能包含文件附件。代表它們的消息可能表示該文件中包含有關提供的職位的更多信息,因此目標打開附件可能不會受到損害。好吧,勒索軟件就是這樣傳播的。勒索軟件是一種在大多數情況下會加密個人文件的惡意軟件,網絡罪犯可以使用該勒索軟件要求贖金,以換取解密器。如果攻擊者設法對講義,論文,作業和其他與學校有關的文件進行加密,則學生可能會感到恐慌,這可能導致他們支付贖金。這種情況可能是災難性的。

幸運的是,達特茅斯實施的強制性兩因素身份驗證使第三方無法劫持學生的帳戶,但這並不意味著無法造成嚴重損失。如果您與這種誤導性工作機會騙局的策劃人進行了互動,則需要追溯您的步驟。您是否打開了附件或鏈接?您是否公開了個人信息?如何利用這些信息對您不利?希望您可以免受策劃者的侵害,即使他們欺騙了您,使他們相信提供工作的虛假網絡釣魚電子郵件。

將來如何識別網絡釣魚電子郵件?

網絡釣魚電子郵件的外觀取決於創建它的人。如果是業餘愛好者,對虛擬方案,語法差,陌生的電子郵件地址,陌生的主題行或不切實際的提議不了解太多(例如,當哲學系學生在生物技術實驗室獲得工作機會時)應該會有所幫助找出騙局。另一方面,如果計劃者經驗豐富,他們可以使用被劫持的電子郵件帳戶,巧妙的主題行,誘人的報價和令人信服的消息。即使在這種情況下,您也會發現危險信號, 本文對此進行了概述。最終,如果至少有一個可疑的細節,則需要考慮面對欺詐的可能性。

潛在的雇主可能會突如其來地與您聯繫,而常春藤盟校的學生更有可能遇到這種情況。儘管如此,大多數學生仍需要聯繫公司並提供自己的應用程序。希望您將來不需要面對工作欺詐,否則您很快就會發現它們。不必特別注意網絡釣魚電子郵件。您還希望備份您的個人文件以保護它們。在您有選擇的時候實施兩因素身份驗證也是一個好主意,因為這樣可以最大程度地減少帳戶被劫持的機會。最後,最重要的是,您必須注意密碼。如果它們不夠強大,網絡犯罪分子可能會猜測,蠻力並破壞它們,然後再將兩個和兩個放在一起。如果您在創建,保護和管理密碼方面需要幫助,請嘗試使用免費的密碼管理工具Cyclonis Password Manager

December 6, 2019

發表評論

Students of an Ivy League University Are Bombarded with Fake Job Offers via Phishing Emails

Are you a Dartmouth student? Are you ready to start a career linked to your degree? If you are, you need to look out for phishing emails that might offer high-paying jobs. It is possible that the schemers behind these misleading emails will attack the students of other Ivy League universities or any other higher education institution in the US. For example, earlier this year, the University of Buffalo warned students about fake job offer scams. In fact, the FBI has been warning students about devious employment scams targeting college students since 2017. According to the Federal Bureau of Investigation, schemers were found to post fake job ads online, send counterfeit checks to their victims, trick them into depositing these checks into their personal checking accounts, and then convince them to withdraw funds from their accounts. Of course, victims would end up losing THEIR money.

Without a doubt, this kind of scam cannot attract that many victims. A phishing email scam, on the other hand, can fool even the more vigilant and experienced students. Needless to say, the job market is very competitive, and the number of positions available to students is limited. Therefore, students who receive a job offer without putting in the work could be too excited to notice the red flags. That being said, we hope that most students will be able to recognize the scam right away. After all, job offers rarely fall from the sky, and any time you are introduced to a too-good-to-be-true offer, you need to go through a simple checklist. A – Did you apply for the job? B – Are you familiar with the sender/company? C – Does the message/offer make sense? D – Does the offer fit your qualifications? If you answer NO to any of these questions, there is a good chance that you have faced a phishing email. Of course, even if you have applied for jobs, if you are familiar with the company, if the offer looks authentic, and if it fits your qualifications, that does not mean that you have received a legitimate job offer.

Schemers who use phishing emails to trick gullible students know what they are doing. If the schemers are experienced, the phishing email offering a job could be created in a highly convincing manner. According to the report by The Dartmouth, the phishing emails that students have been receiving since September offered high pay and flexible hours. That alone could help schemers attract potential victims. The unfortunate thing is that the email addresses of Dartmouth students are public information, and so anyone could send phishing emails to anyone studying at the university. If the student receives a phishing email offering a job, they can be tricked into disclosing physical addresses of residence, full name, phone numbers, and other private information. Depending on what kind of information is retrieved, schemers can try to perform identity theft and impersonate the student online.

If schemers switch to communicating with students via text messages, they could be sent links, and since mobile phones are not always protected, schemers might have better chances of extracting even more sensitive information in this way. Furthermore, phishing emails could contain file attachments. The messages representing them could indicate that more information about the position offered is included in the file, and so the target might see no harm in opening the attachment. Well, that is how ransomware spreads. Ransomware is the kind of malware that, in most cases, encrypts personal files, and cybercriminals can use that to demand a ransom in return for a decryptor. If the attackers managed to encrypt lecture notes, essays, assignments, and other school-related documents, students are likely to panic, and this could lead them to paying the ransom. The situation could be catastrophic.

Luckily, the mandatory two-factor authentication that Dartmouth has implemented makes it impossible for third parties to hijack students’ accounts, but that does not mean that severe damage could not be done. If you have interacted with the schemers behind this misleading job offer scam, you need to trace your steps back. Did you open attached files or links? Did you disclose personal information? How could this information be used against you? Hopefully, you can save yourself against schemers even if they have tricked you into believing the fake phishing email offering a job.

How to recognize phishing emails in the future?

How a phishing email looks depends on who created it. If it was an amateur, who does not know much about virtual scheming, poor grammar, an unfamiliar email address, a strange subject line, or a nonsensical offer (e.g., when a philosophy student receives a job offer at a biotechnology lab) should help figure out the scam. On the other hand, if the schemer is experienced, they can use hijacked email accounts, clever subject lines, attractive offers, and convincing messages. Even in a situation like this, you could find red flags, and they are outlined in this article. At the end of the day, if there is at least one suspicious detail, you need to consider the possibility of facing a scam.

Potential employers might reach out to you out of the blue, and it is more likely to happen to the students of Ivy League schools. Nonetheless, most students need to reach out to companies and offer their own applications. Hopefully, you do not need to face employment scams in the future, or you are quick to recognize them. Being careful about phishing emails is not all that you need to take care of. You also want to backup your personal files to protect them. It is also a good idea to implement two-factor authentication whenever you have the option because that minimizes the chances of having your accounts hijacked. Finally, and most importantly, you have to take care of your passwords. If they are not strong enough, cybercriminals could guess, brute-force, and breach them before you can put two and two together. If you need help creating, protecting, and managing your passwords, try out a free password management tool called Cyclonis Password Manager.

December 6, 2019

Leave a Reply