为什么将数据存储在云中并非绝对安全

云计算

名词
使用托管在Internet上的远程服务器网络而非本地服务器或个人计算机来存储,管理和处理数据的实践。

将云用于与数据相关的所有事物的做法正变得越来越普遍,并且不难理解为什么。云是一个非常方便的地方来存储您的信息,在这里,您可以轻松地访问,修改和与合适的人共享信息。作为存储关键备份的额外位置,它也非常宝贵。但是,经验告诉我们,通用云存储服务不应仅是存储重要备份的唯一场所,因为此类服务绝不是绝对可靠的。

按照上面的定义,云计算只是使用别人的服务器来存储您的所有数据。诚然,它可能是一台非常出色的服务器,由非常专业的技术人员进行监督,并由经验丰富的员工提供支持,但是-再次-做到这一点绝对不会出错。

实际上,许多人发现,在通用云平台上存储重要信息可能会出错。云上的数据可能会发生很多不幸的事情-从由于技术困难而在关键时刻无法访问到数据被心怀不满的协作者删除,被恶意软件覆盖和破坏,以及由于数据被盗造成的遭到社交工程攻击或数据泄露的结果。

讲云的危险

  1. 未经授权的篡改。授予对云存储的访问权限很容易-不需要访问权限的人已经设法获得了它。现在,他们可以篡改甚至删除您的所有数据。
  2. 恶意攻击。许多高级恶意软件攻击不仅破坏,加密或窃取受感染设备中的数据,而且故意禁用备份对策,例如卷影副本和可用于恢复受攻击系统的在线数据存储库。
  3. 恶意收购。黑客可能会以多种方式访问您的登录信息-网络钓鱼和其他诈骗变得越来越复杂,更难以发现。此外,数据泄露一直在发生,即使您使用的云服务没有被直接泄露,恶意行为者可以通过另一次泄露获取信息,这最终可能会损害您的所有其他帐户。
  4. 系统错误。尽管通常有故障保护措施可以防止这种情况发生,但是硬件故障也不是不可能的。

这些都是通用云存储每天都可以而且确实发生的事情。充其量,关键时刻的服务不足可能会令人烦恼,但另一方面,由于丢失了这样的重要数据,您的业务可能会陷入困境。

这就是为什么保持专用设备装载所有宝贵数据备份的关键。该设备需要保持可见状态,并且在备份时间以外的任何其他时间都不要连接到Internet或您的主计算机。

自然,离线存储设备也不是完全可靠的,因为它容易受到硬件故障和事故的影响,而且这种情况发生的频率比用户希望的还要高。这就是为什么要进行宝贵的信息备份的原因,建议用户采用一种组合方法-他们既使用现场物理驱动器执行常规备份,又使用专用的云备份解决方案来存储其重要数据-最好采用加密形式。这种多层安全性方法极大地减少了丢失不可替代和宝贵数据的机会。

July 24, 2020

发表评论

Why Storing Your Data in the Cloud Is Not Perfectly Safe

cloud computing

Noun
the practice of using a network of remote servers hosted on the Internet to store, manage, and process data, rather than a local server or a personal computer.

The practice of using the cloud for anything and everything data-related is becoming more prevalent, and it’s not difficult to see why. The cloud is a very convenient place to store your information, a place where it is easily accessible, modifiable, and shareable with whoever you see fit. It is also invaluable as an extra location for storing your crucial backups. However, experience teaches that a general-purpose cloud storage service should not be the only place where you store your important backups, because such services are by no means infallible.

As per the definition above, cloud computing is simply using someone else’s server to store all your data. Granted, it may well be a very nice server, overseen by very professional technicians and supported by experienced staff, but – again – that doesn’t make it infallible.

In fact, there are a lot of things that can go wrong with storing important information on a general-purpose cloud platform, as many people have found out to their chagrin. Many of unfortunate things can happen to your data on the cloud – from not being able to access it at a critical moment due to technical difficulties to it being deleted by disgruntled collaborators, to it getting overridden and destroyed by malware, to it getting stolen due to a social-engineering attack or as a result of a data breach.

Dangers Of Storying Your The Cloud

  1. Unauthorized tampering. It is easy to grant access to cloud storage – and someone that should not have access has managed to gain it. Now they can tamper with, or even delete, all your data.
  2. Malicious Attack. Many advanced malware attacks don’t just destroy, encrypt or steal data from the infected device, but deliberately disable backup countermeasures such as shadow volume copies and online data repositories that could be used to restore the attacked system.
  3. Hostile takeover. Hackers may gain access to your login information in many ways – phishing and other scams are getting increasingly sophisticated and harder to spot. Additionally, data breaches happen all the time, and even if the cloud service you are using doesn’t get breached directly, the information malicious actors can get their hands on via another breach may end up being instrumental in compromising all your other accounts.
  4. System failure. Although there are usually fail-safes to prevent this, hardware failure is also not out of the question.

Those are all things that can and do happen on a daily basis to general-purpose cloud storage. At best, the lack of service at a crucial moment can be vexing, but at the other end of the spectrum – your business can go up in flames due to losing your important data like that.

This is why it is crucial to keep a dedicated device loaded with backups of all your invaluable data. This device needs to be kept on-sight and not connected to the Internet or your main computer at any other time than backup time.

Naturally, an off-line storage device is not full-proof either, as it is susceptible to hardware failure and accidents – and this happens more often than users would like. This is why for invaluable information backups, it is recommended that users take a combined approach – that they use both an onsite physical drive to perform regular backups, and a dedicated cloud backup solution, to store their important data – preferably in an encrypted form. This multi-layered security approach decreases the chances of losing irreplaceable and invaluable data dramatically.

July 24, 2020

Leave a Reply