被盗的Fortnite帐户为网络犯罪分子赚了数百万美元

尽管Epic Games和Apple之间存在最新的紧张关系,但Epic的Fortnite仍然是看似无底洞的金矿。但是,该游戏不仅为蒂姆·斯威尼(Tim Sweeny)和他的公司带来了很多收益,也为网络罪犯创造了很多收益。

这款广受欢迎的游戏拥有数亿活跃账户-追溯到2020年5月的统计数据表明该数字约为3.5亿。但是,这也意味着不良行为者有很多有利可图的依据。窃取帐户最常用的方法是对密码进行简单的暴力破解 ,以及使用泄漏的密码数据库并将泄漏的密码提供给已知帐户,因为跨帐户和平台重复使用密码是非常普遍的情况。不良行为者还拥有非常好的工具,使他们的工作变得更轻松,据报告称,每秒最多可以运行500个帐户检查。

黑客使用代理来避免安全措施

Epic Games通过实施限制每个IP允许的登录尝试次数的方法来进行有限但最终徒劳的努力来限制这些做法,但这仅意味着网络犯罪分子需要使用旋转IP的代理。集成了代理功能的类似工具和密码检查器甚至按月订阅,价格仅为每月15美元。

违规帐户通过某种连锁经营方式进行转售,顶级骗子将其批量出售给“零售商”,然后再将其出售给最终客户。每个帐户的价值主要由原始帐户所有者累积的化妆品和定制项驱动。 Fortnite是一款免费的游戏,通过向其玩家出售定制产品来赚钱。反过来,使用使用真实货币购买的游戏V-Bucks游戏货币购买自定义物品。某些稀有的化妆品可能达到过高的价格,对于不熟悉虚拟游戏市场的任何人来说,这似乎都是荒谬的。例如,一个拥有最稀有的玩家皮肤之一的帐户称为“侦察专家”,其价格最高可达2500美元。

坏演员从《堡垒之夜》中赚了百万

被盗的帐户通过Telegram批量出售,每个批量收集的费用从10,000美元到50,000美元不等。购买它们的各方将其转售给最终买家。这些团体中有许多经营着出售其他服务的各种帐户的域,例如Netflix或HBO。研究表明,仅处理Fortnite帐户的高端卖家每年就能赚到100万美元以上。

Fortnite并不是唯一一个以不良演员为目标的游戏。可以根据帐户内容确定具有不同价值帐户的任何游戏或服务,并将这些帐户在线转售。

September 14, 2020

发表评论

Stolen Fortnite Accounts Are Making Millions for Cybercriminals

Despite the latest tensions between Epic Games and Apple, Epic's Fortnite is still a seemingly bottomless gold mine. However, the game is generating a lot of money not just for Tim Sweeny and his company but also for cyber criminals.

The massively popular game has hundreds of millions of active accounts - statistics dating back to May 2020 peg the number at around 350 million. However, this also means that bad actors have a lot of lucrative ground to work with. The most commonly used way to steal accounts is simple brute forcing of passwords, as well as using leaked password databases and feed the leaked passwords into known accounts, as password reuse across accounts and platforms is a very common occurrence. The bad actors doing this also have very good tools that make the process easier for them, as according to reports, as many as 500 account checks can be run per second.

Hackers Use Proxies to Avoid Security Measures

Epic Games have made a small but ultimately futile effort to limit those practices by enforcing a limit to the number of login attempts allowed per IP, but this just means cyber criminals need to use a proxy that rotates their IP. Similar tools and password checkers that have integrated proxy functionality are even offered as a monthly subscription for as little as $15 per month.

Breached accounts are being resold through a sort of a chain operation, with top-level crooks selling them in bulk to "retailers" of sorts who then sell them to the end customers. The value of each account is driven primarily by the cosmetics and customization items accumulated by the original account owner. Fortnite is a free to play game that makes money by selling customization items to its players. Customization items are, in turn, purchased using the game's V-Bucks in-game currency that is purchased with real money. Certain rare cosmetic items can reach exorbitant prices that may seem ludicrous to anyone who is not familiar with virtual game markets. For example, an account that has one of the rarest player skins called 'Recon Expert' can go for as much as $2,500.

Bad Actors Make a Million a Year From Just Fortnite

The stolen accounts are sold in bulk through Telegram and go from $10,000 up to $50,000 per bulk collection. The parties that buy them re-sell to the end buyers. A lot of those parties run domains that sell all sorts of accounts for other services as well, such as Netflix or HBO. Research shows that the high-end sellers who deal with Fortnite accounts alone can make over $1 million per year.

Fortnite is not the only game where accounts are targeted by bad actors. Any game or service that has accounts of varying value depending on the content of the account can be targeted and the accounts resold online.

September 14, 2020

Leave a Reply