由於登錄嘗試次數不受限制,SoundCloud是憑據填充攻擊的目標

SoundCloud API Vulnerabilities

SoundCloud無疑擁有超過1億7千萬用戶,是世界上最大的音頻流平台之一。據Alexa稱,它是訪問量最高的100個網站,這使其成為Checkmarx安全研究團隊進行良好瀏覽的理想之選。早在11月,Checkmarx的專家就在廣泛使用的在線平台中研究API安全性狀態。可以肯定地說,他們對SoundCloud上的發現並不特別滿意。

Checkmarx的研究人員在SoundCloud的API中發現了幾個安全漏洞,這可能為黑客提供了很多攻擊機會。在大多數情況下,犯罪分子除了破壞SoundCloud的服務外,還可以做更多的事情,但是結合了兩個安全監督,再加上人們不良的密碼習慣,可能會導致大規模的帳戶接管攻擊。

兩個SoundCloud錯誤使憑證填充和暴力攻擊變得容易

憑據填充是危害大量人在線帳戶的最簡單方法之一,考慮到每天都會在互聯網上洩漏的大量被盜密碼,這不足為奇。騙子在有機會時也不會迴避進行更多傳統的暴力攻擊,這就是為什麼當Checkmarx的研究人員開始對SoundCloud的身份驗證系統進行調查時,他們的首要任務之一就是查看流媒體平台的用戶是否防止此類活動。事實證明,事實並非如此。

首先,研究人員意識到他們可以相對輕鬆地枚舉SoundCloud帳戶。他們獲取了一個電子郵件地址,並查詢了幾個API端點(用於簡化登錄和密碼重置過程的端點)。在這兩種情況下,端點的響應都將清楚地表明是否存在具有此電子郵件地址的帳戶,這意味著攻擊者可以使用腳本自動執行大量查詢,並將有效的SoundCloud帳戶列表匯總在一起。然後,他們可以強行闖入。

在調查過程中,Checkmarx的研究人員發現,SoundCloud對單個帳戶執行的失敗登錄嘗試次數沒有限制。有了與有效的SoundCloud配置文件關聯的電子郵件地址列表(正如我們已經建立的,這並不難獲得),黑客可以為每個密碼嘗試所需數量的密碼。憑證填充攻擊可以說更容易。黑客需要做的唯一一件事就是繞過速率限制器,根據Checkmarx的說法,對請求進行少量修改就可以實現。

安全錯誤使SoundCloud容易受到DoS攻擊

這種情況並非牽強附會,而且特別是對於那些重複使用密碼的人而言,帳戶接管的可能性是非常現實的。但是,在將漏洞報告給SoundCloud之前,Checkmarx的專家決定進行更多研究,尋找可能使用戶或服務本身面臨風險的其他缺陷。原來,還有更多問題。

缺乏適當的資源限制意味著,通過處理對SoundCloud API的/ tracks端點的請求,研究人員設法檢索了將近700個音軌ID的列表。在正常使用下,API將僅返回16個音軌ID,這應該使您了解精心製作的請求可能會對SoundCloud的硬件造成多大的壓力。這是等待發生的分佈式拒絕服務(DDoS)攻擊。

資源和速率限制實現中的另一個錯誤可能使攻擊者有機會破壞SoundCloud正在顯示的數據,而舊版本的Nginx Web服務器則放棄了有關運行該服務的系統的信息。 API中的輸入驗證錯誤也意味著,攻擊者在上傳新歌曲時可以在“描述”,“標題”和“流派”字段中輸入長字符串,從理論上講,這為進一步的利用提供了機會。

SoundCloud快速修復了漏洞

Checkmarx的研究人員知道SoundCloud有很多問題需要解決,這就是為什麼他們沒有浪費時間來披露這些問題的原因。該報告於2019年11月11日發送,並且在同一天,該流媒體平台確認已開始調查。在不到一個月的時間內,修復了最嚴重的漏洞,並在一月下旬解決了Checkmarx的所有擔憂。

研究人員在報告中指出,SoundCloud的安全團隊所表現出的專業水平給他們留下了深刻的印象。不幸的是,如今,我們並不經常看到這種情況。

February 13, 2020

發表評論

SoundCloud Was a Target for Credential Stuffing Attacks Due to the Unlimited Number of Login Attempts

SoundCloud API Vulnerabilities

With over 170 million users, SoundCloud is undoubtedly one of the world's largest audio streaming platforms. According to Alexa, it's in the Top 100 most visited websites, which made it a perfect candidate for a good look around by Checkmarx's security research team. Back in November, Checkmarx's experts were researching the state of API security in widely used online platforms. It's safe to say that they weren't particularly happy with what they found at SoundCloud.

Checkmarx's researchers discovered several security vulnerabilities in SoundCloud's API, which could have presented hackers with plenty of attack opportunities. In most scenarios, the criminals would have been able to do little more than disrupt SoundCloud's service, but there was a combination of two security oversights which, coupled with people's bad password habits, could have allowed a large-scale account takeover attack.

Two SoundCloud bugs made credential stuffing and brute-force attacks easy

Credential stuffing is one of the easiest ways of compromising the online accounts of a large number of people, which isn't surprising considering the vast quantities of stolen passwords that get spilled on the internet every day. Crooks also don't shy away from mounting more traditional brute-force attacks when they get the chance, which is why, when Checkmarx's researchers started their investigation into SoundCloud's authentication system, one of their first tasks was to see whether the streaming platform's users were protected against this sort of activities. It turned out that they weren't.

First, the researchers realized that they could enumerate SoundCloud accounts with relative ease. They took an email address and queried a couple of the API's endpoints (the ones facilitating the sign in and password reset processes). In both cases, the endpoints' responses would clearly indicate whether an account with this email address exists, which meant that using a script, an attacker could automatically perform a large number of queries and put together a list of valid SoundCloud accounts. Then, they could brute-force their way in.

During their investigation, Checkmarx's researchers found out that SoundCloud had put no limit on the number of unsuccessful login attempts performed on a single account. Armed with a list of email addresses associated with valid SoundCloud profiles (which, as we already established, is not difficult to obtain), the hackers could try as many passwords as they wanted for each and every one of them. A credential stuffing attack was arguably even easier. The only thing the hackers needed to do was bypass the rate limiter, which, according to Checkmarx, was possible with slight modifications of the requests.

Security errors made SoundCloud vulnerable to DoS attacks

The scenario was not exactly far-fetched, and the possibility of account takeover, especially for people who reuse their passwords, was very real. Before reporting the vulnerability to SoundCloud, however, Checkmarx's experts decided to do some more poking around and look for other flaws that might put users or the service itself at risk. It turned out that there were a few more problems.

A lack of proper resource limiting meant that by manipulating a request to the /tracks endpoint of SoundCloud's API, the researchers managed to retrieve a list of close to 700 track IDs. Under normal use, the API would return just 16 track IDs, which should give you an idea of how much pressure the crafted requests could put on SoundCloud's hardware. It was a Distributed Denial of Service (DDoS) attack waiting to happen.

Another error in the resource- and rate-limiting implementation could have given attackers the chance to corrupt the data SoundCloud was displaying, and an old version of the Nginx web server gave away information on the system the service was running on. An input validation error in the API also meant that an attacker could enter long strings of characters in the Description, Title, and Genre field when uploading a new song, which, theoretically, opened the opportunity for further exploitation.

SoundCloud fixed the vulnerabilities quickly

Checkmarx's researchers knew that SoundCloud had quite a few problems to fix, which is why they wasted no time disclosing the issues. The report was sent on November 11, 2019, and on the very same day, the streaming platform confirmed that it has started investigating. Within less than a month, the most severe of the vulnerabilities were patched, and by late-January, all of Checkmarx's concerns had been addressed.

In their report, the researchers noted that they are impressed with the professionalism shown by SoundCloud's security team. Unfortunately, nowadays, we don't see this as often as we should.

February 13, 2020

Leave a Reply